The House Specials

I feed my animals fresh, raw, natural foods like chicken, meat, fish, veggies and whatever leftovers we have. Jarah has added some special delicacies to her menu. In the evening she roams through the garden looking for some crispy snail snacks, and during the day she nibbles on the occasional ant, fly, or bee.  I really don’t see why everything nearly dead or half eaten has to be brought inside my house, but like a cat she takes her “prey” inside to either be “buried” behind the sofa for later or immediately eaten after proudly showing off her catch. A few days ago she was lucky enough to catch a huge dragonfly, took it inside and ate it. Thank goodness she killed the creature very quickly and saved me from having to catch the creepy thing myself. Although the cats have brought many creepy crawlies inside the house over the past twenty years or so, I never get used to it. Especially frogs…they just freak me out! So now it looks like I have a whole new species to worry about: insects… Lovely..

Ik voer mijn dieren vers. Dat wil zeggen; vlees, kip , vis, groente, etc en dat allemaal rauw. Jarah vind dat ze haar dieet best wel wat exclusiever mag maken en vult haar maaltijden graag aan met bijvoorbeeld een knapperig slakje, een worm, een miertje, een vlieg, of een bij. Van de week heeft ze zelfs een enorme libel gevangen. Op zich heel knap natuurlijk, maar Jarah is de laatste tijd van mening dat ze elke prooi gewoon even mee naar binnen moet nemen, dat is gewoon leuker. Ik vind het zelf wat minder…Van onze katten heb ik in de afgelopen twintig jaar al heel wat cadeautjes gekregen in de vorm van vogeltjes, muizen, kikkers etc. en de keren dat ik gillend op de bank ben gesprongen zijn al niet meer te tellen. Ik zit dus niet te wachten op enorme insecten in mijn huis. Maar ja, het is een jagertje hè…een hond met kattengedrag. Het ziet er dus naar uit dat een nieuwe diersoort de komende vijftien jaar mijn huis gaat bevolken: insecten. Gezellig..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

