Houdini

Today I had the ambitious plan to take both dogs to the market to buy some flowers. We had a little rain, but what else is new?! So, armed with my umbrella (because who likes to get wet😉 ) and juggling two dogs on a leash I walked out the door. Strangely enough one of the dogs refused to go outside. You see, Jarah loves the water, except when it is falling from the sky. So, the drama unfolds… Shivering, shaking, squealing, pulling herself back inside the house. “Nonsense!”, I said, “The weather is fine, let’s go! ” And walked on  fiercely underneath my umbrella, staying nice and dry. We managed to take a few steps, but then Jarah simply refused to go any further. I too can play that game, so I refused to go back with her and waited with my back turned to her, holding on to the leash tightly, expecting victory of course. And YES! There it was! My leash went soft and I could walk on smoothly. A bit too smoothly actually…. So I looked back and saw a sad empty harness dangling at the and of my leash and could just see the tip of Jarah’s tail flip around the corner on its way back towards the house. Shit.. She wrestled herself out of her harness! Who knew that was possible?! Good, well, change of planns..Back inside the house to put the harness back on (first had to drag Jarah out of her little box where she was hiding from me), no flowers today, only one dog on a leash and go! Laika is looking quite bored by now…”Are we coming or going? Who cares about the stupid rain!” I carried a shivering and shaking Jarah until we got to the field nearby and then put her down. After a while she actually saw the fun of it all and ran across the field like crazy, getting herself nice and messy. Much better! When we got back it was all drama again of course, the “I am wet and need to get dry NOW or else I will die!” drama. My goodness…Where is my monster puppy? Hurricane Jarah? Dragon(fly) slayer? Pffff…

Ik dacht leuk wat bloemen op de markt te gaan halen. Hondjes mee, gezellig! Ok, het regent een beetje, maar daar laat ik me niet door weerhouden. Gewapend met mijn paraplu (want je wil toch niet natregenen) en twee honden aan de riem liep ik de deur uit. Vreemd genoeg bleef er één hond achter in de gang en weigerde naar buiten te komen .. Zie je, Jarah vind water leuk maar het moet alleen niet uit de hemel komen vallen. Drama dus! Piepen, gillen, rillen, trekken aan de riem om bij de deur weg te komen. “Stel je niet aan”, zei ik, terwijl ik vastberaden naar buiten liep en lekker droog bleef onder mijn paraplu, “Kom op we gaan naar buiten, hopla! Het is prima weer!”. Ik wist nog net bij ons het pad naar de voordeur af te komen, maar toen vond Jarah het mooi geweest en weigerde pertinent om ook nog maar één stap verder te zetten. Nou prima! Dat kan ik ook. Dus ik bleef gewoon met mijn rug naar haar toe met een strakke lijn staan wachten tot ze verder liep. Dat win ik wel dacht ik, wat moet ze anders? En ja hoor! Opeens werd de lijn slap en kon ik verder lopen! Ha! Dacht ik! Mooi! Maar de lijn werd wel heel erg slap.. Toen ik me omdraaide zag ik een heel treurig leeg tuigje aan het einde van mijn lijntje hangen en zag ik nog net het puntje van Jarah’s staartje de hoek om vliegen, op weg naar huis. Shit.. Ze had zich gewoon achterwaarts uit het tuigje geworsteld. Geen idee dat dat kon.. Goed, nieuw plan: Iedereen weer naar binnen, dan maar geen bloemen vandaag, tuigje weer omdoen (nadat ik Jarah eerst uit haar koffertje had gesleept waar ze zich had verstopt), riem er aan , Laika los ( Die begrijpt er niets van en heeft echt zo iets van “Ja, wat wil je nou, gaan we nou wel of niet weg? Wat maakt dat beetje regen nou uit??”), en gaan! Ik heb Jarah in mijn armen genomen, die zat te rillen alsof ze vermoord zou worden, ben naar het veld gelopen en heb haar daar neergezet. Gelukkig zag ze na een tijdje de lol er wel van in en was ze als vanouds druk aan het rennen en springen over het veld terwijl ze zichzelf heerlijk smerig maakte. Dat zien we graag! Eenmaal weer thuis was het weer drama natuurlijk, want o help we zijn nat en dat is echt vreselijk. Jeetje wat een toestand! Waar is mijn puppy monster gebleven? Mijn kleine stoere dappere tornado die alles verwoest in haar pad?? Verdwenen….helemaal weg…ligt nu bij te komen onder een lapje..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Houdini

  1. dackelsucht says:

    wonders if she should have told Jarahs family about the absolute hatred of dachshunds and rain (which is of course subject to environment, give them something to chase, rain is non-existant).

    But nah!!! So much fun to see how new Dachshund owners find out about that speciality of the breed. Water… is not equal to water…

    Soon — another Dachshund owner might be seen, wet and soggy, holding the umbrella over the dachshund ;)))

Leave a Comment

