Mission Hedgehog

It’s nearly midnight and I’m still working on my blog. Jarah is getting her second wind and is running in- and out of the garden like a lunatic, bringing in snails and worms. Suddenly I hear : “Wif, wif, wif, rrrrr…rrrwif !”. Sigh … now what? I look outside and see that it’s raining. Now this is interesting. Why is a Dachshund voluntarily outside in the rain? Let’s check it out. Outside it is pitch-black and I really can’t see what she’s barking at. I decided to just take a picture in the dark so I could see what was there. When I looked back on the screen to see what I had just photographed, I saw a beautiful curled up hedgehog! Wow! How cute! Ok, photo opportunity. Check! First put Jarah inside and lock the cat flap. Now the hedgehog can relax and so can I. Put some Bozita on a dish in the garden near the gardenlights and wait. Meanwhile, it is still raining so I’m getting nice and soaked. Jarah is sitting in front of the window anxiously following my every move while I crawl through my garden, scanning every bush for my hedgehog photo opp. I responded to every sound by quickly taking some random shots it that direction and was happy as a child when I saw I got some really good ones. Looking back it must have been an interesting sight for my neighbours to see a drenched person in the middle of the night, flashing her camera pointed at the mud. “Poor thing, she finally lost it. I saw it coming…ever since she got that Dachshund she’s never been her old self again…sad really..”. Who cares! I am on a mission!! The hedgehog was definitely on the move, so I decided to wait inside for a few minutes. After a while I went back outside to check my Bozita dish. Super! There she was! It worked! I got a chance to take some really lovely pictures and I am really, really happy I finally got the opportunity to see a hedgehog up close. Very happy to share these pictures with you, I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Het is bijna middennacht en ik zit nog aan mijn blog te werken. Jarah is na een verfrissend dutje weer helemaal fit en rent als een idioot door het kattenluik heen en weer met wormpjes en slakken. Plotseling hoor ik : “Wif, wif, wif, rrrrr…rrrwif !”. Zucht… wat nu weer? Ik kijk naar buiten en zie dat het regent. Kijk, dat is interessant. Waarom is een teckel vrijwillig buiten als het regent? Even checken dus. Buiten is het aardedonker en omdat ik niet kan zien waar ze naar blaft besluit ik een foto in het donker te nemen zodat ik kan zien wat er zit. Op het kleine schermpje van de camera verschijnt het beeld van wat ik net niet kon zien, een prachtige opgerolde egel! Wauw! Wat schattig! Ok, dit is de kans om een foto te nemen! Eerst Jarah naar binnen en het kattenluik op slot. Nu kan de egel ontspannen en ik ook. Wat Bozita in een schaaltje bij de tuinlampjes neergezet en afwachten. Ondertussen regent het lekker door dus ik begin aardig doorweekt te raken. Jarah zit voor het raam gespannen te kijken naar wat ik aan het doen ben, terwijl ik loerend onder elk struikje door mijn tuin kruip. Bij elk geluidje neem ik gewoon op goed geluk wat foto’s in het donker om vervolgens zo blij te zijn als een kind als er een paar tussen zitten die echt goed gelukt zijn. Achteraf gezien moet het voor de buren een interessant gezicht zijn geweest om een doorweekt persoon midden in de nacht door de tuin te zien kruipen terwijl ze enthousiast foto’s neemt van de modder. “Arm kind, ze is eindelijk gek geworden. Ik zag het al aankomen..sinds ze die Teckel heeft is ze zichzelf niet meer…zielig eigenlijk…”. Kan me niet schelen! Ik ben op een missie!! De egel was in beweging dus ik besloot om een paar minuten binnen te wachten. Na een tijdje ging ik terug naar buiten om mijn schaaltje Bozita te checken. Super! Daar zit ze! Het heeft gewerkt! Ik kreeg de kans om een paar coole foto’s te maken en ik ben enorm blij dat ik eindelijk een egel van heel dichtbij te zien kreeg. Met plezier laat ik jullie mijn foto’s zien, ik hoop dat jullie ze net zo leuk vinden als ik!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

