Do not Disturb !

Just when you finally get used to a tornado puppy clinging to your vacuum cleaner or floor mop, things start to change. We now have a daily ritual that has become quite the opposite from what it was before. Jarah has recently decided she wants to sleep when I vacuum. Yes, you read correctly: SLEEP. Mylady needs to rest and how dare I disturb her. The drama starts when I take all the pillows, blankets and baskets into the garden to air, and Jarah decides she wants to sleep on that particular pillow I want to take away. “Oi! I was sleeping here! No, don’t take that basket. MY basket. Where are you going with my Laika’s bed? What are you doing with my stuff, crazy lady?!” By now I’m used to all the theatrics, so I just continue to carry everything into the garden, whether it has an annoyed looking Dachshund attached to it or not. Jarah on the other hand, is also not very impressed with my tactics and simply retaliates by dragging anything she can reach onto the floor and then quickly pretends to sleep on top of it. You don’t come between a Dachshund and her sleep, let’s be clear about that!

Net als je eindelijk gewend bent om een tornado puppy aan je stofzuiger of dweil te hebben hangen, beginnen er dingen te veranderen. We hebben nu een ochtend ritueel dat totaal tegenovergesteld is van wat het eerst was. Jarah heeft namelijk kortgeleden besloten dat ze wil slapen als ik stofzuig. Ja, je leest het goed: SLAPEN. Madame heeft haar rust nodig en hoe haal ik het in mijn hoofd om haar te storen. Het drama begint al als ik alle kussens, dekens en mandjes in de tuin leg om even te luchten, en Jarah besluit dat ze precies op dàt kussentje moet liggen dat ik weg haal. “Hee! Ik was hier aan het slapen! Nee, niet dat mandje weghalen. MIJN mandje. Waar ga je naartoe met mijn Laika’s kleed? Wat doe je met mijn spulletjes, ben je gek geworden?!” Omdat ik ondertussen wel wat theater gewend ben ga ik gewoon door met alle spullen in de tuin te leggen, of er nu een geïrriteerd kijkende Teckel aan vast zit of niet. Aan de andere kant is Jarah ook niet echt onder de indruk van mijn tactiek, en pakt me gewoon terug door alles waar ze maar bij kan op de grond te trekken, er snel erop te gaan liggen en net te doen alsof ze slaapt. Je komt gewoon niet tussen een teckel en haar slaapje, laten we daar duidelijk over zijn!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

