Surprise!

It’s early in the morning, alarm clock Jarah wakes me up by turning tornado. Its raining….Blèh… I take the dogs out, one walks, one has to be carried because Dachshunds melt in the rain. When we come back I dry off the dogs, feed the animals, tidy the house, meanwhile Jarah turns full force Tornado… Sigh.. What else is new… I go upstairs to do my laundry and hear Jarah steal my Crocs as usual. Back downstairs I start looking for my missing Crocs and out of the corner of my eye I see something move on top of  the back of my sofa. “Hi mom! Surprise! Look how high I am, this is fun!”. Shit. WHY is there a Dachshund frolicking on the back of my sofa ?! Or more importantly, HOW did she get there?! She can’t jump high enough yet… or can she? What are all those toys doing up there?! How long was I gone for? A week??! But the mystery unravels… Jarah dragged her huge, fluffy Hedgehog through the room and used it as a stepping-stone in order to get on the couch. Apparently she’s planning to stay for a while because she took some of her favorite toys with her. “I’m ok mom, really. Look, you can dig between the pillows as well, how cool ! You just carry on and I will just relax here for a while, maybe chew on some leather edges…this is really nice…very comfy”! Great. Another wonderful Dachshund accomplishment. Just the one that I’ve been waiting for… 

Het is vroeg in de ochtend, wekker Jarah gaat met een hoop kabaal af in de gang. Het regent…gatver…Ik laat de honden uit, de één loopt, de ander moet gedragen worden want Teckels smelten in de regen. Eenmaal teruggekomen droog ik de honden af, geef de dieren eten , even opruimen, ondertussen heeft Jarah weer een woeste bui…Zucht…Niks nieuws dus..  Ik loop even naar boven om de was te doen en terwijl ik naar boven loop hoor ik Jarah zoals gewoonlijk mijn Crocs uit de gang stelen. Eenmaal weer terug beneden ga ik op zoek naar mijn verdwenen Crocs en vanuit mijn ooghoek zie ik bovenop de bank iets bewegen. “Hoi Mam! Verrassing! Kijk eens hoe hoog ik ben, dit is leuk!” Shit. WAAROM dartelt er een Teckel over de rugleuning mijn bank?! Hoe heeft ze dat gedaan? Ze kan nog niet zo hoog springen…toch? Wat doen al die speeltjes op de bank?! Hoe lang ben ik weggeweest? Een week??! Maar het mysterie verklaart zich… Jarah heeft haar grote egel door de kamer gesleept en het gebruikt als opstapje om op de bank te komen. Blijkbaar is ze van plan om een tijdje te blijven want ze heeft ook wat speeltjes met zich mee genomen. “Alles is goed hoor mam, echt waar. Kijk, je kan hier ook leuk tussen de kussens graven! Ga jij maar lekker door met waar je mee bezig bent en dan ga ik hier gewoon even lekker liggen, een beetje ontspannen kauwen op de leren randjes… Ik lig hier echt zalig!” Fijn. De Teckel heeft weer iets nieuws bereikt. Dat was nou precies waar we op zaten te wachten…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

