Splash, Run, Chase !

The Summer is nearly over so we really enjoy every sunny day we get.  The area where we walk is very wet because of the rainfall over the past few weeks, but the dogs love it. Jarah has become quite fond of splashing, and Laika loves the water and does not let a minor problem like an infected foot keep her from jumping into every muddy ditch she can find. ( I can’t wait to get stuck sitting on the floor again with my bucket of soda water while I watch a tiny Dachshund destroy my  house) Today we had an extra bonus: a biker! Jarah loves bikers (and runners, and cars, and birds, and cats..actually anything that moves..) so the hunt was on. Full throttle behind the biker who was totally oblivious to the fact that there was a tiny determined Dachshund chasing him and thus was also riding his bike top speed. I thought, o well, how far can she go..she will stop in a minute won’t she? But I see the brown dot get smaller and smaller in the distance…Shit. She’s not stopping…Ok. How long can she keep this up…not so long, can she..? Shit, she’s almost gone… Ok let’s give her a shout to come back… I slowly see the choco dot grow bigger and gain floppy ears. A very happy Dachshund comes running back like crazy. “Wow! That was fun mom! I still need some training but I’m sure I can catch him next time!”. Pfff… Nerves of steel you must have with this one…

Enjoy the pictures!

De zomer is bijna voorbij dus we genieten dubbel van de laatste mooie dagen. Het gebied waar wij lopen staat behoorlijk onder water vanwege de enorme regenval de afgelopen weken maar dat maakt het voor de honden dubbel zo leuk. Jarah is inmiddels een echte waterrat geworden, en Laika is dol op water en laat zich niet weerhouden door een ontstoken voet. (Ik kijk al weer uit naar het moment dat ik weer vastgekluisterd op de grond zit met een emmertje soda terwijl ik met een lichte kramp in mijn maag toekijk hoe een teckel mijn huis vernielt.) Vandaag hadden we een extra bonus in het bos: een fietser! Jarah is dol op fietsers (en hardlopers, en auto’s, en vogels, en katten…eigenlijk alles dat beweegt..) dus de jacht werd al snel ingezet. Vol gas achter de fietser aan die zich totaal niet bewust was van het feit dat er een klein vastberaden Teckeltje achter zijn wiel liep en dus ook op top snelheid verder fietste. Ach, dacht ik, hoe ver kan ze gaan…ze zal zo wel stoppen toch? Maar ik zie het bruine stipje steeds kleiner en kleiner worden… Shit. Die stopt niet…Ok. Hoe lang kan ze dit volhouden…niet zo lang toch..?? Shit, ze is bijna weg… Ok, even flink hard schreeuwen dat ze hier moet komen..Heel langzaam zie ik het choco stipje steeds groter worden en flapperende oren krijgen. Een dolblije Teckel komt als een gek terugrennen. “Wauw! Dat was leuk mam! Ik moet nog wel wat meer oefenen maar ik weet zeker dat ik hem de volgende keer te pakken krijg!” Pfff….Stalen zenuwen moet je hebben met deze…

 Veel plezier met de foto’s!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

