Tooth Fairy

I had to search the web today. I was looking for the English word for “kies”, which apparently is “molar”. I was going to tell you this fascinating story about how I found one of Jarah’s molars in the back garden, but the info I had found on the web was somewhat confusing… You see, the web is full of wisdom, and during my search I had read in an article that puppy’s in fact don’t have any molars…. Apparently, they don’t need them… How annoying! Of course they have molars, I’m looking at one aren’t I?! …. Stupid….. So now I am obliged to find out what’s the deal here. I don’t want to look like the ignorant Dutch chick (blond!) who said she found a molar, when in fact my puppy doesn’t have any… Shit…So, after reading up on my doggy teeth I am very proud to announce that in this case the English language is more complicated than Dutch when it comes to teeth. They have all these exotic names for what we simple refer to as a “kies”. So in all accuracy: I found one of Jarah’s premolars in my back garden. Even though we had just created chaos by trimming our hedges I had litteraly found a needle in a haystack, I found a tiny premolar. What a super word. Now don’t tell me it’s just a pebble!! It is a premolar and I’m sticking to that!

Ik moest vandaag iets opzoeken op het internet. Ik zocht naar het Engelse woord voor “kies”, wat blijkbaar “molar” is. Ik was van plan om een fascinerend verhaal te vertellen over hoe we één van Jarah’s kiezen in de tuin hadden gevonden, maar de info op het web was wat verwarrend. Het internet staat natuurlijk vol wijsheid, en gedurende mijn zoektocht las ik in een (Engels) artikel dat een puppy helemaal geen kiezen (“molars”) heeft….Blijkbaar hebben ze ze niet nodig….Wat irritant! Natuurlijk hebben ze kiezen, ik heb er toch één in mijn hand of niet soms?! ….Stom… Dus toen was ik natuurlijk verplicht om uit te zoeken hoe dat nu zat. Ik wil natuurlijk niet als een dom blondje beweren dat ik een kies in de tuin heb gevonden terwijl mijn pup niet eens kiezen heeft…Shit…Dus na me weer helemaal ingelezen te hebben over hondentanden kan ik met trots aankondigen dat in dit geval de Engelse taal ingewikkelder is dan het Nederlands als het op tanden aan komt. Zij gebruiken allerlei exotische woorden voor iets wat wij gewoon simpelweg een “kies” noemen. Een molar, een premolar…  Mysterie opgelost. Ik kan met een gerust hart verklaren dat ik een kies van Jarah in de tuin heb gevonden, ondanks alle puinhoop van het snoeiwerk vond ik lettelijk een naald in een hooiberg… En nu niet zeggen dat het gewoon een steentje is!! Het is een kies en daar blijf ik bij!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

