The Mitten Test

The last time we were in the Ardennes I bought a pair of checkered oven mittens. Yes, I agree, it is a rather pathetic souvenir. I could say that we bought them at a local farmers market, handmade by diligent Belgium nuns, but the reality is that we simply bought them at “Zeeman” (*) in the shopping mall in Luxemburg. Only 1,25 euro. I know you’re thinking, do you really need to go to Luxemburg to buy oven mittens? No, of course not, in fact we have three “Zeeman” stores right near where I live. But isn’t it funny how the most ordinary stores suddenly seem so exotic when you find them abroad? They are always “so different”… Anyway, my exotic oven mittens have undergone some extreme tests of course, and I am happy to report that for only 1,25 they not only make good oven mittens, but also keep your Dachshund entertained for days on end. So now, next to my purple Crocs, my shoes, my kitchen towels, and my recipe books, I also find my oven mittens lying around the living room every day.  In fact I think that oven mittens should definitely be part the new and improved Puppy Care Pack…right along with some Crocs… and perhaps a shoe… also maybe some kitchen towels… and a cookbook… 

*)Zeeman is a large textile discounter

Tijdens onze laatste vakantie in de Ardennen heb ik een paar lollige geruite ovenwanten gekocht. Ja, ik weet het, het is een ietwat zielig souvenirtje. Ik zou natuurlijk kunnen zeggen dat we ze op een speciale boerenmarkt gekocht hebben, handgemaakt door vlijtige Ardeense nonnetjes, maar de realiteit is dat we ze doodgewoon bij de Zeeman in Luxemburg hebben gekocht. Slechts 1,25. Nu zul je denken, moet je werkelijk helemaal naar de Zeeman in Luxemburg voor een paar ovenwanten? Welnee, ik heb hier zelfs de keuze uit drie Zeeman winkels in de buurt, maar dat is gewoon niet leuk genoeg. De meest eenvoudige winkels worden in het buitenland gewoon…leuker, zeg maar. Ze zijn daar altijd “net even anders”…  Anyway, mijn lollige ovenwanten zijn uiteraard aan de nodige extreme tests onderworpen en ik kan met tevredenheid vermelden dat je voor slechts 1,25 niet alleen uitstekende ovenwanten hebt, maar dat ook je Teckel voor dagen achtereen geamuseerd is. Het gevolg is dat ik, naast mijn paarse Crocs, mijn schoenen, mijn theedoeken, en mijn recepten, nu ook mijn ovenwanten elke dag midden in de kamer vind. Ik denk zelfs dat ovenwanten een onmisbaar onderdeel zouden moeten zijn van het nieuwe, verbeterde Puppy Pakket… samen met een paar Crocs… misschien een schoen… of theedoeken…en een kookboek…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

