Snow Angels

Snow is fun! Yeah! What is that magical effect that snow has on both people and animals that makes us all become so frisky? Even miss Jarah, who normally has some serious doubts about anything that is falling down from the sky, has become a true snow-fanatic. Apparently it’s nice and dry. Good. That’s one less drama… Laika also absolutely loves the snow, wintertime is her favorite season. She has such a thick coat it’s almost like a sheepskin, so for her these frosty temperatures are just right. Me on the other hand…I am absolutely freezing… I won’t probably get warm again until August 2011. As I see the dogs walking happily out in the snow on their bare feet, wearing the same coat both inside and outside the house, I am truly wondering what went wrong with the human race. I see Laika rolling in the snow every 10 seconds, Jarah is happily jumping around from bush to bush, while I am literally freezing my butt off and am desperately trying to remember what the hell Bear Grylls (*) said about surviving extreme cold temperatures. I vaguely recall seeing Bear taking all his clothes of and rolling around naked in the snow to get dry after he had just swam across an icy lake…No, that wouldn’t be the one….Swing your arms and get the blood flowing through your fingers…Ah! That’s more like it! So I’m swinging my arms through the air like a mad woman but then Laika gets all exited and tries to bite me. Then Jarah get’s all exited and tries to bite Laika. Shit. Never mind then. I look ridiculous anyway. Luckily it is a very quiet area.. Where is that silver lining called “Global Warming”?Is it just another urban legend? Anyway, we had fun. Ridiculously cold…but fun..

 *)Don’t tell me you’ve never heard of Bear Grylls…from the Discovery Channel ?!

Sneeuw is leuk! Hoera! Wat is toch dat magische effect dat sneeuw heeft op zowel mensen als dieren dat ervoor zorgt dat we allemaal zo vrolijk worden? Zelfs miss Jarah, die normaalgesproken toch zo haar ernstige twijfels heeft over alles dat uit de lucht komt vallen, is een echte sneeuw liefhebster geworden. Blijkbaar is het lekker droog. Mooi. Dat scheelt weer een hoop drama… Laika is ook dol  op sneeuw, de winter is haar beste seizoen. Haar vacht is bijna zo dik als een schapenvacht dus voor haar zijn deze koude temperaturen precies goed. In tegenstelling tot Laika, ben ik helaas totaal niet koubestendig. Ik heb het echt ijskoud. Ik wordt waarschijnlijk pas ergens in augustus 2011 weer warm. Terwijl ik mijn hondjes vrolijk door de sneeuw zie lopen op hun blote voeten terwijl ze dezelfde jas zowel binnen als buiten dragen, vraag ik me toch werkelijk af wat er is misgegaan bij ons mensen ras. Ik zie Laika elke 10 seconden door de sneeuw rollen, Jarah hopst vrolijk van struik naar struik, terwijl ik letterlijk in een ijspegel verander en me onderwijl wanhopig probeer te herinneren wat Bear Grylls (*) in Godsnaam ook al weer  zei over het overleven van extreme koude temperaturen. Ik herinner me vaag dat Bear zijn kleren uittrok en naakt door de sneeuw rolde om zich af te drogen nadat hij een halfbevroren meer was overgezwommen… Nee, dat was ‘m niet… Met je armen zwaaien om het bloed weer door je vingers te laten stromen… Ah! Dat lijkt er meer op! Dus ik zwaai als een woesteling met mijn armen in de rondte, maar Laika wordt er helemaal opgewonden van en probeert me te bijten. Daardoor wordt Jarah weer opgewonden en probeert Laika te bijten. Shit. Laat maar. Ik maak mezelf al weer belachelijk. Gelukkig is het altijd erg rustig waar ik loop… Waar is die gouden belofte die “Global Warming” heet? Weer een broodje aap zeker? Anyway, het was leuk. Belachelijk koud…maar leuk..

*)Ga me nu niet vertellen dat je nog nooit van Bear Grylls gehoord hebt…van de Discovery Channel?!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

