Multi Tasking

Dachshunds are hunters. I know it, you know it, and now the lady who was running in the park this morning knows it too. Even though I got that reproachful look, I must admire the way she stayed on her feet when Jarah threw herself in front of her.  She really was pretty well-balanced. Another fun, daily hunting game is “the killing of the IKEA  hedgehog”, or as I like to call it : vacuuming. This game actually starts off fairly calm with me vacuuming while I keep Jarah out of my way by throwing squeaky toys into the garden, but as soon as she realizes it’s just a decoy, she anchors her teeth firmly into my purple Crocs and tries to stop me from walking. So with a growling puppy attached to my feet I plough my way through the living room while vacuuming every furry basket and throwing them out into the garden to air. By the time I end up at the IKEA hedgehog, Jarah is all fired up and ready to kill, and so am I. From here on it just gets ridiculous with me trying to vacuum the hedgehog while Jarah is attacking it like a lunatic with that wild look in her eyes. To give you an idea of what I am going through every morning I took some pictures while I was vacuuming. Not an easy task I can tell you… I recently read that humans apparently are incapable of Multitasking. “Women claim they can do it”, stated the article. Only a man could have written that. “The human brain is incapable of Multitasking.” Ridiculous. I totally disagree.  The writer of that article has clearly never owned a Dachshund…

Teckels zijn jagers. Ik weet het, jij weet het, en nu weet de dame die vanochtend in het park aan het hardlopen was het ook. Ook al kreeg ik een verwijtende blik moet ik toch zeggen dat ik bewondering heb voor de manier waarop ze overeind bleef ondanks dat Jarah zich voor haar voeten gooide.  Ze was echt goed in balans. Een ander amusant dagelijks jaagspelletje is “het vermoorden van de IKEA egel”, oftewel: stofzuigen. Dit spel begint eigenlijk redelijk rustig, met mij aan de stofzuiger terwijl ik Jarah uit de weg houdt door piepbeestjes de tuin in te gooien. Zodra ze echter in de gaten heeft dat het slechts een afleiding is, verankert haar tanden stevig in mijn paarse Crocs en probeert me uit alle macht tegen te houden. Ik ploeg me vervolgens dus moeizaam door de kamer met een grommende puppy aan mijn voet terwijl ik ondertussen alle fluffy mandjes stofzuig en naar buiten gooi om te luchten. Tegen de tijd dat ik de IKEA egel bereikt heb is Jarah helemaal woest en klaar om te vermoorden, en ik ook. De situatie wordt al snel weer belachelijk als ik de egel probeer te stofzuigen terwijl Jarah als een bezetene bovenop die egel aan het duiken is met een wilde blik in haar ogen. Om jullie een idee te geven van wat ik iedere ochtend doormaak heb ik tijdens het stofzuigen wat foto’s gemaakt. Dat was niet eenvoudig kan ik je vertellen.. Ik las kortgeleden dat de mens blijkbaar helemaal niet in staat is tot Multitasken. “Vrouwen beweren het te kunnen” stond er. Dat kan alleen een man geschreven hebben. “Het menselijk brein is niet in staat tot Multitasken”. Belachelijk. Ik ben het daar totaal niet mee eens. De schrijver van dat artikel heeft duidelijk nog nooit een Teckel gehad…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

