We Looooove Children !

Lately we have been playing a brand new game. It’s fun, it’s exiting, and it’s very rewarding.  It’s called: ”Playing with children, whether they want to or not”. All you need is a Dachshund and a child. The best thing about this game is that you never know how the child is going to react. Some children loooooove cute little Dachshund. They cuddle and pet little Dachshund, and say ”O mommy can I have one, pleeease?!”, and others act like they see a deadly monster and scream bloody murder. So now Jarah, who is very positive by nature, thinks that every child loooooves her. Even if they don’t want to have anything to do with her, she goes out of her way to prove them wrong by jumping excitedly against their legs and happily wagging her tail as if to say “See?  I’m friendly! I’m cute! You loooove me!”. It has driven many children into the ugly cry, totally freaked out by this tiny little dog. For Jarah this is all very exciting stuff of course. She just thinks it’s very funny, and now she wants to go up to every child she sees, just to prove her point. So, the other day we came home from our daily splash-walk and we arrived right at the moment the school next to our house was having their play-time outside. Clever old me thought for sure Jarah did not see those kids from the car, and figured that if I parked the car behind a van she wouldn’t be able to see them when we would get out of the car, so she wouldn’t even know they’re there. I truly don’t know how I come up with these theories. You would think that I have learned a thing or two about Dachshunds by now. So anyway, I opened the car, Jarah jumped out, did not hesitate for one second and took off at the speed of light. Of course she had spotted the schoolyard filled with children. She made a run for it and there was nothing I could do to stop her. Shit. I just knew what was going to happen… O God this is going to be bad… I could already hear the kids yelling from afar. I think all records for decibels were broken. I quickly let Laika out of the car and sprinted after Jarah. What I saw next exceeded all my expectations. Just imagine a schoolyard filled with about 40 or 50 little children, all about five or six years old, freaking out because a tiny Dachshund wants to join the fun. In the middle of all this chaos was Jarah, racing happily across the schoolyard and jumping up against the legs of all the children. I was completely chanceless, there was nothing I could do but stand there and watch. I just could not help but laugh, it was just so ridiculous. Jarah was running around like crazy and the children were all screaming and running around in a panic. After a few minutes of running around Jarah was starting to look a bit freaked out by all this commotion. This was perhaps a little bit more than she had bargained for and nobody wanted to play. Finally she was cornered near the gate by a group of girls who thought she was “so cute”, and were yelling “OOOOOH SHE’S SOOOOO CUTE” so loud, that Jarah was completely overwhelmed and just lay there, belly up. I quickly took my chance to rescue her, and just as I reached down between the gates to lift her out of the schoolyard, the children started yelling even louder than before. Right into my ears of course. Shit. Now what?! When I looked around to see what the hell was wrong now, I saw Laika standing behind me. Her face was like one big question mark, like: URP ?? She had silently followed me to see what’s up. Really, the children were now yelling so loud, it was like a lion had escaped the zoo. Could things get any more ridiculous?! Fortunately, by now I had Jarah in my arms, who by the way was very thankful to be carried out of the nut-zone, so we could all make our way home. Slightly deafened, but happy we survived. Yes..we looooove children…😉

De laatste tijd spelen we een splinternieuw spel. Het is leuk, het is spannend, en het is erg belonend. Het heet “Spelen met kinderen of ze nu willen of niet” Het enige dat je nodig hebt is een Teckel en een kind. Het leuke van dit spel is dat je nooit weet hoe het kind gaat reageren. Sommige kinderen vinden Teckel zooooo liiiiiiiiief en willen Teckel knuffelen en aaien en zeggen “O mammie, mag ik er ook zo één?”, en anderen doen alsof ze een monster hebben gezien en gillen moord en brand. Dus Jarah, die van nature erg positief is ingesteld, gaat er nu van uit dat elk kind haar liiiiief vindt. Zelfs als een kind niets met haar te maken wil hebben doet ze haar uiterste best om het tegendeel te bewijzen. Ze springt gewoon blij tegen ze op, terwijl ze vrolijk met haar staartje kwispelt alsof ze wil zeggen “Zie je hoe aardig ik ben! Ik ben leuk! Je vind me liiiiiief!”. Het heeft al menig kind aan het janken gekregen, volledig in paniek vanwege dit kleine vriendelijke Teckeltje. Voor Jarah is dit allemaal ontzettend spannend natuurlijk. Zij vindt het allemaal erg grappig en nu wil ze per se naar elk kind toe die ze ziet, gewoon om ze ervan te overtuigen hoe leuk ze is. Dus van de week kwamen we thuis van onze dagelijkse wandeling in het bos, en we arriveerden precies op het moment dat de school naast ons huis speelkwartier had. Heel intelligent ging ik er van uit dat Jarah die kinderen vast niet gezien had vanuit de auto, en ik dacht als ik nu naast dit busje parkeer, dan ziet ze die kinderen niet als we uitstappen en dan weet ze ook niet dat ze er zijn. Ik snap soms gewoon zelf niet hoe ik aan die theorieën kom. Ik bedoel, je zou toch denken dat ik inmiddels wel het één en ander geleerd heb over Teckels. Maar goed, ik doe dus de auto open, Jarah springt eruit, aarzelt geen moment en gaat er als een speer vandoor. Natuurlijk had ze het schoolplein vol met kinderen wel gezien. Ze ging er volledig voor en ik was te laat om haar nog tegen te houden. Shit. Ik wist meteen al wat er zou gebeuren…O God, dit gaat niet goed komen…Ik kon de kinderen al horen gillen. Ik denk dat alle records voor decibels gebroken zijn.  Dus ik haal snel Laika uit de auto en trek een sprint achter Jarah aan. Wat ik vervolgens zag overtrof al mijn verwachtingen. Stel je voor: een schoolplein vol met 40 of 50 kleine kinderen, allemaal rond de vijf of zes jaar oud, volledig in paniek omdat een klein Teckeltje mee wil spelen. Midden in deze chaos was Jarah vrolijk over het schoolplein heen en weer aan het racen en enthousiast tegen de benen van alle kinderen op aan het springen. Ik was volledig kansloos, ik kon niets anders doen dan toekijken. Ik moest er gewoon om lachen, het was echt te belachelijk. Jarah rende als een idioot in de rondte en de kinderen vlogen in paniek gillend alle kanten op. Na een paar minuten rondrennen begon Jarah zich toch een beetje onzeker te voelen vanwege al die commotie. Dit was misschien toch niet helemaal zoals ze het verwacht had en niemand wilde met haar spelen. Uiteindelijk werd ze door een groepje meisjes in een hoek bij het hek gedreven. Ze vonden haar zooo liiiief en waren zo hard aan het gillen “OOOOOOOH WAT IS ZE LIIIIIIIIIIEF”, dat Jarah uiteindelijk volledig verdoofd op de grond lag, buik omhoog. Ik greep snel mijn kans om haar te redden, en precies op het moment dat ik door het hek naar haar reikte om haar van het schoolplein af te halen, begonnen de kinderen weer keihard te gillen. Precies in mijn oren natuurlijk. Shit. Wat nu weer?! Toen ik opkeek om te zien wat er nu in Godsnaam weer aan de hand was zag ik Laika achter me staan. Haar gezicht één groot vraagteken: URP ?? Ze was stilletjes achter me aan gelopen om te kijken wat er aan de hand was. Werkelijk, die kinderen gilden zo hard, het was alsof een leeuw uit de dierentuin ontsnapt was. Kon het allemaal nog belachelijker?! Gelukkig had ik inmiddels Jarah in mijn armen, die overigens erg dankbaar was dat ik haar uit dat gekkenhuis had weggehaald, dus we konden allemaal weer veilig naar huis. Een lichtelijk doof, maar blij dat we het hebben overleefd. Ja…wij zijn dol op kinderen…😉

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

