Sponge Barf

When I was at my local pet shop to buy some birdie’s (dead and frozen by the kilo), the boy behind the counter asked me what kind of animal I feed these to. He clearly had some high expectations so I told him all about my two cats, the dog, and the Dachshund. He looked so disappointed. He clearly did not recognize that in fact the exotic was standing right before him. Not many people feed their animals raw foods you know. I guess you could say I am a huge fan of feeding fresh, raw food. I have been feeding like this for over a decade. Back in those days when you would Google the word BARF,  the machine would answer with results about vomit. Nowadays you get over six million results about raw food. So from a seasoned dog food expert like me, you would expect some high quality advice, maybe an exotic recipe that no one has thought of before, or at least some feeding tips. So I’m including some pictures of nature in its purest form. It could easily go on an advert for a natural doggy treat. Is it chicken, turkey, beef, lamb? No, it is in fact a pink sponge cloth that Jarah stole from a cleaning bucket. Filled with …ehm..vitamin… K..? Essential .. ehm .. oils ..?      O yeah, and lots, lots of fiber!

Toen ik bij mijn dierenwinkel was om kippetjes te kopen (dood en per kilo ingevroren), vroeg de jongen achter de toonbank aan wat voor soort dier ik ze voer. Hij had duidelijk hoge verwachtingen dus ik vertelde hem alles over mijn twee katten, de hond, en de Teckel. Hij keek zo teleurgesteld. Hij had duidelijk niet in de gaten dat in feite de exoot vlak voor hem stond. Niet veel mensen voeren vers weet je.  Je zou kunnen zeggen dat ik een groot voorstander ben van vers voeren. Ik voer al meer dan tien jaar op deze wijze. Als je toentertijd het woord BARF Googelde gaf de machine nog zoekresultaten over kots. Tegenwoordig krijg je meer dan zes miljoen resultaten over versvoeren. Dus van een doorgewinterde hondenvoerexpert als ik zou je wat goed advies verwachten, misschien een recept waar nog niemand aan gedacht heeft, of op zijn minst wat voer tips. Dus ik geef jullie hierbij wat foto’s van de natuur in zijn zuiverste vorm. Het zou zo een reclame kunnen zijn voor een natuurlijk hondenstickje. Is het kip, kalkoen, rund, lam? Nee, het is in feite een roze vaatdoekje dat Jarah uit een emmer heeft gestolen. Vol met… ehm…vitamine… K ..? Essentiële… ehm.. oliën ..? O ja, en heel, heel veel vezels!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Sponge Barf

  1. Cora says:

    Yep, Dende does that, too. He’s convinced we hide the best doggy toys in the bathroom cleaning supply closet.

Leave a Comment

