The Delicious Dackel

 

My German pen-pal, who just happens to be the owner of Jarah’s brother Dendemann, made us some cool Dachshund cookies last Christmas. It immediately stimulated my Dachshund fever. I needed a Dachshund shaped cookie cutter! I frantically searched the internet but I could not find the right one.  My German pen-pal immediately understood my panic and offered to send me one. I was so happy! I immediately told my husband all about why it wasn’t silly at all to ask my pen-pal to send me a cookie cutter so that I would pay probably four times the retail price in shipping costs. It all made perfect sense. As he listened to me rambling on about a cookie cutter, he interrupted me and said: “Yeah… so you’re going to bake cookies…?” I explained to him that I needed to get that cookie cutter because it was a Dachshund cookie cutter. He interrupted me again and said: “Yeah…. so you’re going to bake cookies…!?” Sigh. So I explained that there was no way I could ever buy a Dachshund shaped cookie cutter here, and sure, I saw a similar one on the web, but it was just a tiny bit different, and if I had to order it, I would have to pay shipping anyway, but then I would have the wrong cookie cutter, so I might as well get the right one shipped from Germany. “Yeah”, he said.” So. You’re going to bake cookies.” My God!!!! That is SO not the point. The point is that IF I wanted to bake cookies I would have the OPTION to make them Dachshund shaped. Besides  I bake cookies ALL the time. Ok, I can’t remember the last time, but I’m sure they were delicious. Jeez! So I asked my German pen-pal if she would please send me the cookie cutter and I would pay for it. She said not to worry about that, it was her gift to me. Cool! So when my cool shiny Dachshund shaped cookie cutter arrived I just had to try it out of course. If only to prove my husband is totally wrong. So I baked 41 tiny Dackels. They are so cute! I have even outdone myself and made some original chocolate Dachsies, because what can be better than a chocolate Dackel. Delicious!

Want to make your own Dackels? *CLICK*

Mijn Duitse penvriendin, die toevallig de eigenaresse is van Jarah’s broertje Dendemann, had met Kerst voor ons wat Teckelkoekjes gemaakt. Het stimuleerde  onmiddellijk mijn Teckelkoorts.  Ik moest gewoon een Teckel koekjes uitsteker hebben! Ik heb als een waanzinnige het internet doorzocht maar ik kon  nergens de goede vinden. Mijn Duitse penvriendin begreep onmiddellijk mijn paniek en bood aan om me er één te sturen. Ik was zo blij! Ik vertelde mijn echtgenoot onmiddellijk waarom het helemaal niet raar was om mijn penvriendin  te vragen om een koekjes uitsteker  naar me op te sturen zodat ik waarschijnlijk vier keer de verkoopprijs aan verzendkosten zou betalen. Het was allemaal volkomen logisch. Terwijl hij mijn gebazel over koekjes uitstekers aanhoorde, onderbrak hij mij en zei: “Ja… dus je gaat koekjes bakken…?” Ik legde uit dat ik die koekjes uitsteker moest hebben omdat het de vorm van een Teckel heeft. Hij onderbrak me wederom en zei: “Ja…. dus je gaat koekjes bakken…!?” Zucht. Dus ik legde uit dat ik met geen mogelijkheid hier ooit een Teckelvormige koekjes uitsteker zou kunnen vinden, en ja, ik had een soortgelijke op het web gevonden, maar die was net even anders, en als ik die dan had moeten bestellen, zou ik evengoed verzendkosten moeten betalen, maar dan zou ik de verkeerde koekjes uitsteker hebben, dus ik kan dan net zo goed de goede uit Duitsland laten versturen. “Ja”zei hij. “Dus jij gaat koekjes bakken.” Mijn God!!! Daar gaat het toch niet om! Het punt is, dat ALS ik koekjes zou willen bakken, ik de MOGELIJKHEID heb om ze in de vorm van een Teckel te maken. Trouwens, ik maak zo vaak koekjes. Ok, ik kan me de laatste keer niet herinneren, maar ik weet zeker dat ze heerlijk waren. Jeez! Dus ik heb mijn Duitse penvriendin gevraagd om de koekjes uitsteker naar me toe te sturen en dan zou ik haar terug betalen. Ze zei dat ik me daar geen zorgen over hoefde te maken, het was een kadootje. Cool! Dus toen mijn coole glimmende Teckel koekjes uitsteker arriveerde, moest ik hem natuurlijk uitproberen. Al was het alleen maar om te bewijzen dat mijn echtgenoot  het totaal verkeerd heeft.  Dus heb ik 41 kleine Teckels gebakken. Ze zijn zo schattig! Ik heb mezelf zelfs overtroffen en een paar originele chocolade Teckels gemaakt.  Er gaat tenslotte niets boven een chocolade Teckel! Zalig!

Zelf ook Teckels maken? *CLICK* 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Delicious Dackel

  1. Penvriendin says:

    You’re welcome🙂 I’m glad you like the cookie cutter so much! And the cookies look really precious. And tasty. Hmmm.

Leave a Comment

