Dackel Mail !

As a thank you for sending me the coolest cookie cutter in the world, I had decided to send my German pen-pal a sample of my Delicious Dackels®. For that I needed a flat box that would fit through the mail box. Of course I didn’t have a flat box, but I thought perhaps I could buy one at the post office. I needed to buy some stamps anyway. Earlier that day, Jarah had thoroughly enjoyed herself by digging a huge hole in my garden to see what’s up in Australia, so I was feeling lucky. “No, sorry.”, said the lady at the counter. “No flat boxes, but you do get this envelope with information about “The great Tit” (it’s a bird) with your stamps. Wow. Thanks I guess.. But the lady dove beneath  her counter and came up with another gift. First I thought it was a garden scoop, so I thought “How the hell does she know I have several holes to fill in my garden?!”,  but then I looked closer and saw that it more resembled a pooper scooper. Defensively I thought, “Well sure, there are some idiotic new rules in our neighborhood about picking up doggy poop, but this is really ridiculous. Mind your own business!” But then I realized that I did not even have a dog with me, so how could she know. (Make mental note : Not everything is about the dogs.) “Would you like a complimentary pie server with your stamps? ”, the lady asked with a polite smile. At that moment I really started doubting myself. Have I finally lost grip on reality, or do I just need to get out of the house more? Ok, don’t panic, stay calm. “Ehm, no thank you”, I     replied, “ I‘m fine thanks.” Don’t ask questions, get out. I quickly took my stamps and left. Still, I had no flat box for my cookies. Shit. Perhaps I can just buy something IN a flat box and then just use the box for shipping. Great idea! So I had a look in a household supply store and found the perfect solution. A small flat box of Melita coffee  filters. Perfect! Besides, you always need coffee filters, so it’s really a win-win situation. Ok, I don’t drink coffee, and the only coffee we ever make is for guests, but a healthy supply of coffee filters is always handy. On my way home I bought some cute Daffodils. The guy in the flower store offered me a complimentary ticket to win tickets to a rock concert, but after the birds and the birds and pie server nothing seemed strange anymore. I calmly declined and was quickly on my way. The Melita box was just perfect! All I needed to do was to print out the recipe and the address label, and everything would be ready for shipping. I started the printer and it immediately started printing. Printing what!?? I did not give any orders yet. Why does that take so long?! Annoyed I try to stop the printer. “ERROR” says the machine happily. Shit. I quickly press some random buttons, but then it fanatically starts printing again. Shit. Double annoyed I try to stop the printer from my computer. Where is that bloody thing. Shit, shit, shit! I need to rush to get my letter posted on time! Hysterically I call my husband, he sounds happy.  Me: “Yeah, WHERE do I find that STUPID printer on my computer, it’s printing something and it’s not stopping. I need it to stop NOW! “ “O, yeah”, he replies relaxed, “Those would be the tax papers I filled out last weekend. The printing program got stuck you know…” Super. Finally, I managed to stop the printer. I made it spit out my recipe and address labels, quickly stuck it on the envelope and sprinted to the mailbox. Wow, I made it! Great! Mission accomplished! The Dackels are on their  way to Germany. When I tidied up the paper mess I had made, I also found the coffee filters. Hmm. They actually look a bit small … see if they fit in the machine … No. Shit. O, well they almost fit… I’ll just put them on the shelf with…. ehm… the rest of the coffee filters. Ehm.. two hundred coffee filters to be precise….  Great. Coffee anyone?

Als dank voor de meest schattige koekjes uitsteker van de wereld had ik besloten om mijn Duitse pen-pal wat Teckelkoekjes toe te sturen. Daar had ik een plat doosje voor nodig die door de brievenbus zou passen. Natuurlijk heb ik geen platte doosjes in huis, maar ik dacht dat ik die misschien op het postkantoor zou kunnen kopen. Ik moest daar toch naartoe voor postzegels. Eerder die dag had Jarah zichzelf uitstekend vermaakt door een enorm gat in mijn tuin te graven om te kijken of er in Australië nog iets leuks te doen is, dus ik voelde dat dit wel eens een geluksdag zou kunnen worden. “Nee helaas”, zei de dame achter de balie. “Geen platte dozen, maar u krijgt wel deze enveloppe met informatie over Koolmeesjes bij uw postzegels.” Wauw. Ok. Ehm, bedankt..? Maar de dame dook onder haar toonbank en kwam met nog een kado naar boven. Eerst dacht ik dat het een tuinschepje was, dus ik dacht ”Hoe weet zij in godsnaam dat ik meerdere gaten te vullen heb in mijn tuin?!, maar toen ik iets beter keek leek het meer op een poepschepje. Gepikeerd dacht ik, “ Nou ja! Ik weet dat we hier in de buurt die idiote nieuwe regels hebben over het oprapen van hondenpoep, maar dit is echt belachelijk. Waar bemoei je je mee!” Maar toen realiseerde ik me dat ik niet eens een hond bij me had, dus hoe kon ze het weten.  (Onthouden: Niet alles gaat over de honden.) “Wilt u een gratis taartschep bij uw postzegels? “, vroeg de dame met een beleefde glimlach. Op dat moment begon ik echt aan mezelf te twijfelen. Heb ik eindelijk de grip op de realiteit verloren of moet ik gewoon wat vaker het huis uit? Ok, geen paniek, kalm blijven. “Ehm, nee hoor”, antwoordde ik, “dat hoeft niet, bedankt.” Geen vragen stellen, zorg dat je weg komt. Ik pakte snel mijn postzegels en haastte me weg. Maar nu had ik nog steeds geen doosje voor mijn koekjes. Shit. Misschien kan ik iets kopen dat IN een plat doosje zit en dan alleen het doosje gebruiken voor verzenden. Goed plan. Bij de Blokker vond ik de perfecte oplossing. Een klein doosje Melita koffiefilters. Perfect! Bovendien heb je altijd koffiefilters nodig, dus het is eigenlijke een win-win situatie. Ok, zelf drink ik geen koffie, en de enige koffie die we ooit maken is voor visite, maar een gezonde voorraad koffiefilters is nooit weg. Op weg naar huis kocht ik nog wat schattige Narcissen. De jongen in de bloemenwinkel bood me een gratis ticket aan waarmee ik tickets naar een rockconcert kon winnen, maar na de koolmezen en de taartschep stond ik nergens meer van te kijken. Ik heb kalm bedankt en ben snel naar huis gegaan. Het Melita doosje was perfect! Ik hoefde alleen nog het recept en de adreslabels uit te printen en alles was klaar voor verzenden. Ik doe de printer aan en die begint onmiddellijk te printen. Hoezo printen !?? Ik heb nog helemaal geen opdracht gegeven. Waarom duurt het zo lang?! Geïrriteerd probeer ik de printer te stoppen. “ERROR” zegt de machine  vrolijk. Shit. Vlug druk ik op goed geluk wat willekeurige knoppen in. Probleem verholpen, maar nu begint hij weer fanatiek te printen. Shit. Dubbel geïrriteerd probeer ik de printer via mijn computer te laten stoppen. Waar is dat klote ding. Shit, shit, shit! Ik moet opschieten om mijn pakje op tijd te posten! Hysterisch bel ik mijn echtgenoot, hij klinkt blij. Ik: “Ja, WAAR kan ik die STOMME printer vinden op de computer, hij is iets aan het printen en hij stopt niet meer. Hij moet NU stoppen!” “O ja”, antwoordt hij relaxed, “Dat zijn de belastingpapieren die ik afgelopen weekend heb ingevuld. De printer was vastgelopen weet je…” Super. Uiteindelijk is het me gelukt om de printer te stoppen. Ik heb het apparaat mijn recept en adreslabels uit laten spugen, heb alles snel op de enveloppe geplakt, en ben als een speer naar de brievenbus gesprint. Wow, ik heb het gehaald! Top! Missie geslaagd! De Teckels zijn onderweg naar Duitsland. Bij het opruimen van de papiertroep kwam ik even later de koffiefilters tegen. Hmmmm. Ze zien er eigenlijk best klein uit … eens kijken of ze wel passen … Nee.  Shit. Nou ja, ze passen bijna… Ik leg ze gewoon op de plank bij… ehm.. de rest van de koffiefilters. Ehm… Tweehonderd koffiefilters om precies te zijn…. Geweldig. Iemand nog koffie?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dackel Mail !

  1. Cora says:

    Sounds like the perfect day🙂
    (What do you mean not everything is about the dogs? Don’t get it.) After having laughed so much I’m looking forward to my cookies even more!

  2. Cora says:

    They’re here! They’re here! And they still smell good and are very tasty🙂 Thank you! Of course we ate them despite the warning😉

  3. Cora says:

    Don’t panic! Despite your warning not to eat them because they may be too old🙂 They were very delicious nevertheless!

Leave a Comment

