Bugs !

A few weeks ago I got some dull e-mail from an acquaintance. It was a forwarded warning about some computer virus thingy named Spyware. Totally bored I looked at the example of the virus they were talking about, but I soon got distracted by Jarah, who had discovered where we keep the toilet paper (200 double layered, ultra absorbent velvet sheets, all happily shredded and scattered around in my living room). Besides, I was wondering why the hell my Dackel cookies had not arrived in Germany yet. It wouldn’t be the first time that customs intercepted my mail you know. When I was seven years old I had sent an envelope filled with sugar cubes to my favorite pony in England. It took more than six weeks to arrive, because customs had opened the envelope and had sent my poor sugar cubes to a lab for further investigation. It probably got me blacklisted in Europe, and now my Dackel cookies were paying the price. So anyway, I really hadn’t  thought about that silly Spyware thingy until I opened an attachment that was stuck to a phony UPS e-mail. Ok, opening a dubious attachment was probably “A bit stupid”, as our princess Maxima would so eloquently say, but  the effect was really quite spectacular.  My computer screen turned blue with red warnings  on it, shouting at me that I have Spyware on my computer that needed to be removed right now. Shit. Now where did I see this before? O, yeah…that boring e-mail. Great. I wish I had paid more attention to it.. All I could remember is that it’s not good… Shit.. Luckily I have an extra laptop, so  while my husband was spending his scarce free time trying to rescue important data from my computer, I could search the web for information about Spyware. I found out that this virus is apparently not only found in e-mail attachments, but also in free software. “You see?!” I said reproachfully to my husband, “You really shouldn’t download any software from the internet.” He kindly reminded me that it was in fact I who had opened a dubious attachment, causing the computer to crash. Grmpf..! That is so not the point. In the end we decided just to format the computer completely in order to kill the bug. I can also proudly report that my cookies were finally delivered in Germany. In the end it took our wonderful TNT postal services two weeks to cover the distance between Amsterdam and Hamburg. Two weeks! Even if I had walked those 600 kilometers I would probably have been faster. So you see; TNT delayed…UPS-Spyware bug… after my sugar cubes things have never been the same again.

Een paar weken geleden kreeg ik een vreselijk saai mailtje van een kennis. Het was een doorgestuurde waarschuwing over één of ander computer virus-achtig iets genaamd Spyware. Verveeld keek ik naar het voorbeeld van het virus waar ze het over hadden, maar al snel werd ik afgeleid door Jarah die ontdekt had waar  het toiletpapier ligt (200 dubbel-laags ultra-absorberende fluwelen velletjes, allemaal vrolijk versnipperd en verspreidt door de woonkamer). Bovendien voeg ik me af  waarom in godsnaam mijn Teckel koekjes nog steeds niet waren aangekomen in Duitsland.  Het zou namelijk niet de eerste keer zijn dat de douane mijn post onderschept. Toen ik zeven jaar was heb ik een enveloppe gevuld met suikerklontjes naar mijn lievelingspony in Engeland gestuurd. Ze hebben er meer dan zes weken over gedaan om aan te komen omdat  de douane mijn enveloppe had opengemaakt en mijn arme suikerklontjes had doorgestuurd naar een lab voor nader onderzoek. Het zou me niets verbazen als ik sindsdien op alle zwarte lijsten sta binnen Europa, en mijn Teckelkoekjes zijn natuurlijk weer de dupe. Maar goed, ik had dus niet meer aan dat gekke Spyware virus gedacht totdat ik een bijlage opende die bij een vals UPS mailtje zat. Ok, het openen van een dubieuze bijlage  is misschien “Een beetje dom”, zoals onze prinses Maxima zo sjiek zou zeggen, maar het effect was echt heel spectaculair. Mijn computerscherm werd helemaal blauw met rode waarschuwingen erop, die naar me schreeuwden dat ik Spyware op mijn computer heb dat onmiddellijk verwijderd moet worden. Shit. Waar heb ik dit eerder gezien? O ja… die saaie mail. Fijn. Ik wou dat ik hem wat beter had gelezen.. Het enige dat ik me kan herinneren is dat het niet goed is… Shit… Gelukkig heb ik een extra laptop, dus terwijl mijn echtgenoot zijn schaarse vrije uurtjes besteedde met het redden van belangrijke gegevens op mijn computer, kon ik op het internet zoeken naar informatie over Spyware. Ik kwam erachter dat dit virus-achtige programma blijkbaar niet alleen in e-mail bijlagen kan zitten, het zit ook in gratis software. “Zie je?!” zei ik verwijtend tegen mijn echtgenoot, “Je moet ook geen software van het internet downloaden.” Fijntjes herinnerde hij me eraan, dat ik in feite degene was die de foute bijlage had geopend waardoor de computer was gecrashed. Grmpf…! Dat is het punt natuurlijk helemaal niet. Uiteindelijk hebben we besloten om de computer maar helemaal te formatteren om zo het programmaatje helemaal te vermoorden. Inmiddels kan ik ook met trots vermelden dat  mijn Teckelkoekjes eindelijk bezorgt zijn in Duitsland. Uiteindelijk heeft onze fantastische TNT post er twee weken over gedaan om de afstand tussen  Amsterdam  en Hamburg te overbruggen. Twee weken! Zelfs als ik die 600 km was gaan lopen was ik waarschijnlijk sneller geweest. Dus je ziet het; TNT vertraagt…UPS-Spyware virus… na die suikerklontjes is het nooit meer goed gekomen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

