Mr Snail

Much to my surprise, I found a snail wandering around Jarah’s furry basket today. Ok, I probably should mention that the snail was sort of …ehm.. chewed on, and it probably did not get there voluntarily, but the critter seemed to be fit and was happily slithering around in its’ new synthetic landscape. So I’m thinking … snails…Did I not see some commercial about the wonders of snail cream a few years ago? Back then I always had a picture in my mind of poor little snails getting scrunched and pressed for their precious slime, but as always, I was wrong about that. I just had quick a look on the web and the snail cream people tell me that the “snail extract” is carefully “harvested” from happy snails who lead a fulfilling life in a cozy environment with lots of other happy snail friends. How reassuring! Should I perhaps send the little critter to this snail-paradise to rehabilitate from his encounter with my chocolate Piranha? Nah… something tells me he’s better off in my garden. Besides, given the current delivery speed, it would take my friends at TNT postal services 280 days to cover the distance between Amsterdam and Chile. The snail would probably get there faster if I just gave it a road map. Anyway, not to worry! Mr, Snail was set free, and is now happily gnawing his way through my carefully trimmed hedges. Just like Jarah…what fun!

Tot mijn verbazing vond ik vandaag een slak in Jarah’s pluchen mandje. Ok, ik moet er misschien bij vermelden dat er op de slak een soortement van ..ehm… geknaagd was, en dat het waarschijnlijk niet vrijwillig in het mandje terecht was gekomen, maar het diertje zag er fit uit en glibberde tevreden door zijn nieuwe synthetische landschap. Dus ik denk…slakken… heb ik een paar jaar geleden niet een reclame gezien over de wonderen van slakkencrème? Destijds had ik altijd een beeld in mijn hoofd van arme slakjes die eerst vermalen en vervolgens uitgeperst werden voor hun kostbare slijm, maar zoals gewoonlijk had ik dat weer helemaal verkeerd. I heb even snel op het web gekeken, en de slakkencrème mensen vertellen me dat het “slakkenextract” voorzichtig wordt “geoogst” van vrolijke slakken die een gelukkig leven leiden in een gezellige omgeving met heel veel andere gelukkige slakkenvriendjes. Hoe geruststellend! Moet ik misschien dit kleine diertje naar het slakkenparadijs sturen om te herstellen van zijn ontmoeting met mijn chocolade Piranha? Mwah… Iets zegt me dat ie in mijn tuin beter af is. Trouwens, volgens de huidige aflevertijd, zouden mijn vrienden bij TNT post er 280 dagen over doen om de afstand tussen Amsterdam en Chili te overbruggen. De slak zou er waarschijnlijk sneller zijn als ik het gewoon een routekaart gaf. Anyway, geen zorgen! Mr. Slak is vrijgelaten, en knaagt zich nu tevreden een weg door mijn zorgvuldig gesnoeide heggetjes. Net als Jarah…gezellig!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Mr Snail

  1. The ear flap! Dende does that, too. Of course, I only ever get Mr. Stick and no Mr. Snail. Mr. Stick is usually about as long as I am and abandoned all alone in the park.
    (And … snail cream?! Really? I’ll stick with my wrinkles and my cream with rose oil, thank you very much.)

Leave a Comment

