Lost !

I had the most interesting walk the other day. As I was chatting to a friend on my mobile phone, I suddenly see Laika running away from me with a panicked look on her face. “ SHIT! Hang on a sec!“, I yell into my phone, while jumpstarting myself into a ferocious sprint,”I need to run after my dog!” You see, when Laika thinks she has lost me, she totally panics and starts running around like a headless chicken. Even when I’m standing right next to her she won’t see me. She suddenly just panics and runs off, totally deaf for my screams. To get her attention, I have to wave my arms around like a lunatic until she catches my eye and follows me again. It’s really quite nerve-racking. So I’m running along, waving my arms around like a mad woman until..Yes! She saw me! Great! So I turn around to look for Jarah… Gone. Shit! Why did I get a tiny brown dog!? They are impossible to see between the trees and bushes. “Hang on a sec!” I yell into my friend’s ear, “I lost my other dog!”. In my best “where-are-you-my-little-darling-come-to-mommy” squeaky voice I call Jarah. A tiny head pops up in the distance. Ah! There she is..“Are you ok?”, my friend askes when I return on the phone, “What was that weird sound?”, “Yeah…”I say, “That was a bird you heard. Probably duck or something…” (make mental note: my voice carries..) From the corner of my eye I see a horse and rider coming my way. Ok. Time to pay attention.” I’ll have to call you back,”, I say to my friend, who by now is probably thinking I’ve gone mad, “a horse is coming my way.” Meanwhile, Jarah has also spotted the horse. You can almost hear her thinking: “ YeeHaa!! Let’s go!!” I’m too late to stop her, so she’s off. Luckily the horse was not impressed by this little brown shrimp who thinks it’s funny to chase everything that moves. Still, no time to relax, because we turn the corner and see two runners and a biker. Yippee, what fun! Is there another unusually large moon, or something?? What’s going on? First Laika runs off, and now horses, runners, and bikers?! In the end the two runners were really polite when Jarah threw herself in front of their feet, and I managed to warn the biker just in time he had a Dachshund in front of his wheels, so everything ended well. However, the cows in the pasture had never seen a floppy eared Dachshund hopping fanatically on the other side of their fence before, and came galloping after us. That felt a bit weird..but over all, it was quite an invigorating walk for all of us. After these interesting moments, it was time to go home. As I was nearing the car, I turned around to check on the dogs but only Laika was there. Shit. Where is Jarah… O god, I bet she went back to track down a hare or something. She could be anywhere! “Come on!” I yell at Laika, “Let’s go back!” And I start running. I look back to see if Laika is following, but she’s just sitting there, right where I left her. Her face is like ”Running?! Are you crazy? The car is THIS way!” “Stay there! Sit! Wait”, I yell at Laika, hoping that she at least understood one of these commands, and I run back to look for Jarah. I’m running, and calling… Nothing… I slightly panic.. Eventually I turn around to see if Laika is still waiting for me. No, of course not. She’s running after me, and running next to her is … Jarah … Shit. So while I was running around all worried, and screaming like a lunatic, Jarah was was probably running after me the whole time like: “I’m coming, I’m coming! Where are you going??!” Great. Well that must have looked intelligent.. I’m slowly turning my walks into a one woman freak show. If anybody saw me: It was the moon…or something….

Ik had van de week een interessante wandeling. Terwijl ik met een vriendin kletste op mijn mobiel, zie ik Laika opeens in paniek van me wegrennen. “SHIT! Blijf hangen!” schreeuw ik in mijn telefoon, terwijl ik mezelf opstart in een woeste sprint, “Ik moet even achter mijn hond aan!” Als Laika namelijk denkt dat ze me kwijt is, raakt ze helemaal in paniek en begint als een kip zonder kop in de rondte te rennen. Zelfs al ik vlak naast haar sta ziet ze me niet. Ze raakt gewoon plotseling in paniek en rent weg, totaal doof voor mijn roepen. Om haar aandacht te trekken moet ik wild met mijn armen zwaaien, totdat ze me ziet en weer achter me aan loopt. Het is echt zenuwslopend. Dus ik ren wild zwaaiend met mijn armen achter haar aan, totdat…Ja! Ze heeft me gezien! Geweldig! Ik draai me om om te kijken waar Jarah is… Verdwenen.. Shit! Waarom heb ik zo’n kleine bruine hond genomen!? Je ziet ze amper tussen de bomen en de bosjes. “Blijf hangen!” schreeuw ik in het oor van mijn vriendin, “Ik ben mijn andere hond kwijt!” In mijn mooiste ”waar-ben-je-kleine-lieveling-kom-maar-bij-mama” piepstem roep ik Jarah. In de verte komt een klein koppie komt omhoog. Ah! Daar is ze.. “Is alles OK? ”vraagt mijn vriendin zodra ik weer aan de telefoon kom, “Wat was dat gekke geluid?”. “Ja…” zeg ik, “Dat was een vogel die je hoorde. Waarschijnlijk een eend of zo…” (onthouden: ik heb een dragende stem) Vanuit mijn ooghoeken zie ik een paard met ruiter mijn kant op komen. Ok. Tijd om op te letten. “Ik moet je terugbellen,” zeg ik tegen mijn vriendin, die inmiddels waarschijnlijk denkt dat ik volslagen gek ben geworden,”er komt een paard mijn kant op.” Ondertussen heeft Jarah ook het paard gespot. Je kunt haar bijna horen denken: “YeeHaa!! Let’s go!!” Ik ben al te laat om haar nog tegen te houden, en weg is ze. Gelukkig was het paard niet echt onder de indruk van zo’n kleine bruine garnaal die het grappig vind om alles wat beweegt op te jagen. Maar goed, geen tijd om te ontspannen, want we gaan de hoek om en zien twee hardlopers en een biker. Joepie, wat leuk! Wat is er toch aan de hand? Eerst Laika die wegrent, en nu paarden, hardlopers, en bikers?! Is er weer zo’n ongebruikelijke grote volle maan of zoiets?? Uiteindelijk vonden de hardlopers het helemaal niet zo erg dat Jarah zich voor hun voeten wierp, en kon ik de biker net op tijd waarschuwen dat er een Teckel voor zijn wielen lag, dus alles is goed afgelopen. De koeien in de wei hadden echter nog nooit eerder een orenflappende Teckel fanatiek voor hun hek zien springen, en kwamen achter ons aanrennen. Dat was iets minder… maar over het algemeen was het een verfrissende wandeling voor ons allemaal. Na alle interessante momenten was het tijd om naar huis te gaan. Toen ik bijna bij de auto was draaide ik me om om te kijken waar de honden waren, maar alleen Laika liep achter me. Shit. Waar is Jarah… O god, die is natuurlijk teruggegaan om een haas op te sporen of zoiets. Ze kan echt overal zijn! “Kom op!” schreeuw ik naar Laika, “We gaan terug!”, en ik zet het op een lopen. Ik kijk achter me om te kijken of Laika achter me aankomt, maar ze zit daar maar, gewoon waar ik haar heb achtergelaten. Ze heeft een blik van “Hollen?! Ben je gek geworden? De auto is DEZE kant op!” “Blijf daar! Zit! Wachten!”, schreeuw ik naar Laika, hopende dat ze in ieder geval één van die drie commando’s begrepen heeft, en ik ren terug om Jarah te zoeken. Ik ren en ik roep…Niets… I raak een lichtelijk in paniek… Uiteindelijk draai ik me om om te kijken of Laika nog steeds op me wacht. Nee, natuurlijk niet. Ze is achter me aan aan het rennen, en naast haar rent …Jarah… Shit. Dus terwijl ik hier dodelijk ongerust al roepend als een bezetene in de rondte rende, rende Jarah waarschijnlijk al die tijd al achter me aan als: “Ik kom al, ik kom al! Waar ga je naartoe??!!” Fijn. Nou, dat zal er intelligent uit hebben gezien… Mijn wandelingen veranderen langzaam in een soort buurtspektakel. Als iemand me heeft gezien: Het was de maan… of zoiets…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Lost !

  1. Cora says:

    One Woman Freakshow? Nah. Seems like an example out of a doggie book “How to make yourself interesting for your dog”. Totally normal and socially acceptable behaviour😉

Leave a Comment

