The Headless Chicken

We were walking the dogs yesterday, when Jarah suddenly came running by with a bird’s leg in her mouth. “O Yeah”, my husband says, “that would be from that rooster.” Rooster? What Rooster??

Me: “You mean that dead bird of prey I saw lying next to the footpath the other day?”

He: “No, it was a rooster.”

Me: “Don’t be silly! Was the head still on when you saw it then? Because all I saw were two wings. I think it was a bird of prey.”

He: “No, there was no head, but it was a rooster.”

Me: “But how do you know that? And weren’t the feathers a sort of speckled? And just look at that leg; it’s black and it’s ringed, they don’t do that with chickens do they? I really think it’s a bird of prey.”

He: “You think everything is a bird of prey. The other day we found a dead bird and then you also thought it was a bird of prey. That bird had a beak THIS big.”

Me: “Ok, that might have been some other bird, but what’s a rooster doing here then? They don’t keep chickens anywhere around here, do they? I’ve never seen any chickens around here.”

He: “Sure they have chickens. You can hear them clucking when we walk past that fence.”

Me: “That  is ridiculous, I’ve never heard a chicken cluck around here! Surely that’s not a rooster’s leg? How did it get here?”

He: ”Perhaps a fox caught it…”

Me: “A fox??!! (in what fairytale are we anyway) I don’t believe any of this, I’ll just Google it when we get back home”

He: “Yeah, well naturally I’m no expert. Perhaps it’s a bird of prey after all, it could be…” 

Me: “No, I’ll just look it up, it could have been  a rooster…”

-Meanwhile Jarah is contently nibbling on her bird’s leg, thinking: “Chicken…Bird of prey… I don’t know, but  it tastes delicious!” –

Once we got home I gave Google a search for my “chicken with black legs”. Between various culinary recipes for chicken legs and chickens with black meat, I found a website with information about the leg colors of chickens( Yes, there actually is such a website. There’s a whole chicken world out there I knew nothing about.. .).  A chicken can indeed have black legs, and it also seems that they get ringed. Shit. I looks like my exotic bird of prey turns out to be a chicken… So far for my ornithological  knowledge… So, if anyone is missing a chicken: We found it!

We waren gisteren met de honden aan het wandelen toen Jarah opeens met een vogelpoot in haar bek liep te rennen. “O, ja” zegt mijn echtgenoot, “die is van die haan.” Haan? Welke haan??

 Ik: “Je bedoelt die dooie roofvogel die van de week naast het pad lag?”

Hij: “Nee dat was een haan.”

 Ik: “Nee joh! Zat bij jou de kop er nog op dan? Want ik zag alleen twee vleugels. Volgens mij was het een roofvogel”

Hij: “Nee, er zat geen kop meer op, maar het was een haan”

Ik: “Maar hoe weet je dat nou? En de veren waren toch een soort wildkleur? En kijk nou naar die poot; die is zwart en hij is geringd, dat doen ze toch niet met kippen? Volgens mij is het echt een roofvogel.”

Hij: “Jij ziet overal roofvogels. Van de week vonden we een dooie vogel en toen dacht je ook al dat het een roofvogel was. Dat beest had ZO’N snavel”

Ik: “Ok, misschien was dat een andere vogel, maar wat doet een haan hier dan? Ze hebben hier toch nergens kippen? Ik heb hier nog nooit een kip gezien.”

 Hij:”Jawel, je kan de kippetjes zachtjes horen tokken als je langs het hek loopt.”

Ik: “Dat is belachelijk, ik heb hier nog nooit een kip horen tokken! Dat is toch geen hanenpoot? Hoe komt een haan hier dan?

Hij: “Misschien gevangen door een vos…”

Ik: “Een vos??!! (in welk sprookje zitten we eigenlijk) Ik geloof er niets van, ik ga thuis wel even Google-en”

Hij: “Ja, ik ben natuurlijk ook geen kenner. Misschien is het toch een roofvogel, dat zou kunnen…”  

Ik: “Nee, ik zoek het wel op, het zou een haan kunnen zijn….”

-Jarah ligt ondertussen tevreden op het pootje te knabbelen, en denkt:  ” Kip.. Roofvogel.. ik weet het niet, maar hij smaakt prima!”-

Eenmaal thuisgekomen heb ik een Google search op de “kip met zwarte poten” losgelaten. Tussen de vele culinaire recepten voor kippenpoten en kippen met zwart vlees, vond ik een website met info over pootkleuren bij kippen (Echt waar, die website bestaat. Er is een hele kippenwereld waar ik niets vanaf wist..). Blijkbaar kan een kip inderdaad zwarte of blauwe poten hebben, en ze schijnen ook nog eens geringd  te worden. Shit. Het ziet er naar uit dat mijn exotische roofvogel uiteindelijk gewoon een kip blijkt te zijn…. Tot zover dus mijn ornithologische kennis…  Dus, als iemand een kip mist: Wij hebben hem gevonden!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

