The Dackel Tuna

I had to return my new doggy bike basket today.  Once again I was reminded that I don’t have a dog but a Dachshund.  It was a really good plan to begin with though. The weather is tropical, I can easily get to the parks and beaches by bike so why use the car? So after a shopping trip and a thorough comparative test we finally decided on a cool doggy basket for Jarah to put on my bike. (Yes Laika needs to be transported too, but that’s another story…. ) Of course I couldn’t wait to try out my new toy, so I put Jarah her new basket and went on a short bike ride.  Jarah loved it of course, what else would you expect?! She fiercely sat in her little basket, nose up, eyes looking stern, ears flapping, hopping around in her basket like a lunatic, making me lose my balance… for short: it was wonderful.  It really took my bike riding skills to a higher level. Even when Jarah decided to take a Kamikaze dive out of the basket and was dangling from my steering wheel like a freshly caught Tuna, I managed to reach forward to catch her without falling. Right…. So that was the end of that adventure, the basket needs to go.  Luckily I had seen another basket that would probably be more suitable for my little chocolate tornado.  It was a bit smaller, but safer because it had a safety-wire-cover-thingy. Like a bird cage.  I still have to try it out, but Jarah’s reactions are promising. She dove straight in there and started gnawing the edges. “Cool basket mom! It’s made out of sticks!!” …Sigh… To be continued…

Vandaag moest ik mijn nieuwe hondenfietsmand terugbrengen. Wederom ben ik eraan herinnerd dat ik geen hond heb maar een Teckel. Het leek allemaal zo’n goed plan. Het weer is tropisch, ik kan makkelijk op de fiets naar het park of naar het strand, dus waarom zou ik de auto gebruiken?  Dus na een dagje winkelen en grondig warenonderzoek besloten we  om voor Jarah een geestige fietsmand te kopen. ( Ja, Laika moet ook vervoerd worden, maar dat is een ander verhaal..) Natuurlijk kon ik niet wachten om mijn nieuwe speeltje uit te proberen, dus ik stopte Jarah in haar nieuwe mandje en ging een eindje fietsen.  Jarah vond het natuurlijk helemaal  geweldig, dat was te verwachten. Trots zat ze in haar mandje, neus in de lucht, ernstige blik, oren flappend, heen en weer springend in haar mandje zodat ik mijn evenwicht verloor.. kortom: het was fantastisch. Het  bracht mijn fietstalent tot  nieuwe ongekende hoogtes. Zelfs toen Jarah besloot om Kamikaze uit het mandje te duiken en als een versgevangen Tonijn aan mijn stuur bungelde, zag ik nog kans om haar op te vangen zonder te vallen. Goed… Dat was dus het einde van dat avontuur. De fietsmand moet retour. Gelukkig had ik nog een andere mand gezien die waarschijnlijk meer geschikt zou zijn voor mijn kleine chocolade tornado. Hij was wat kleiner, maar veiliger omdat het een draadkooi kap geval erop had zitten. Als een vogelkooi. Ik moet hem nog uitproberen, maar Jarah’s reacties zijn veelbelovend. Ze dook er meteen in en begon tevreden op de randjes te knagen. “Coole mand mam! Hij is gemaakt van stokken!!”…..Zucht… Wordt vervolgd…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

