The YouTube Adventure

Last April I gave my husband a Handycam for his birthday so that I could make some doggy video’s to post on my blog. It was a win-win situation. All excited about my new project I made myself a member of the YouTube family, and after watching several tutorials about how to embed the video’s onto my blog I was ready to broadcast. Great! We had returned from the Ardennes with hours of unedited footage, so surely I would have enough material  to knit some cute video’s. I installed myself behind my computer and was ready to edit. “Error” said an angry looking Windows pop-up. Shit. Now what?! What the hell is a “Codec”?! Why can’t things just be simple for a change… And so began a two month period of freaking out about stupid computers, stupid video cameras, Sony, Microsoft, Apple, and IT people in general, while my husband spent his free time adjusting my computer so that it would be able to read the video images. I’m sure he was quite pleased with his present. So anyway,  it took some time and some major computer catastrophes, but  I’m now finally able to edit my video material. My spiffy new software works great! As a test I had a try-out with some of last year’s  puppy video’s. I spent a whole day downloading music and editing, and after that I managed to get the stuff successfully broadcasted on YouTube. I was even able to get everything onto my  Jarah as a Puppy page, so over all it was quite an accomplishment for a Computer Dino like myself. Terribly proud I sent everyone an exited e-mail notification to get the word out, but then it happened… I got a reply from my German pen-pal:  The video’s were blocked in Germany… Shit! Apparently it had something to do with the music I had added to my video’s. Copyrights and stuff like that. But the music made my video’s so funny! I had spent hours looking for that one piece of music that would compliment my sleeping puppy video, and now my video was blocked all over the world! How terribly frustrating! It left me with no choice but to switch my audio. What’s the point of downloading video’s if they then get blocked in some countries?!! I mean, we wouldn’t want the people of Andorra to miss out on a Jarah video, now would we? Luckily YouTube has a music library with songs you can switch with. The music is free from copyrights, and after a few hours of sifting through some awful music I could fully understand why. It was really quite depressing, but what can you do.. So from now on the world can enjoy live images from my little chocolate tornado, and if you’re lucky it will have  a James Bond theme song  in the backround.  Yay!! And so we go back in time. Not only with the Jarah as a puppy video’s, but also back to last April, when the Wookie was still furry and Jarah was…wel..as she always is..happy!

Afgelopen april heb ik mijn echtgenoot een Handycam voor zijn verjaardag gegeven zodat ik video’s van de honden kon maken om op mijn blog te plaatsen. Het was een win-win situatie. Opgetogen over mijn nieuwe project maakte ik mezelf lid van de YouTube familie, en na heb bekijken van   instructievideo’s over het insluiten van video’s op mijn blog was ik klaar om uit te zenden. Top! We waren  met uren onbewerkt beeldmateriaal uit de Ardennen teruggekomen, dus daar zou ik zeker een paar lollige filmpjes van kunnen breien. Ik installeerde mezelf achter mijn computer en was klaar om te bewerken. “Error” zei een boos uitziende Windows pop-up. Shit. Wat nu weer?! Wat is in godsnaam een “Codec”?! Waarom kunnen dingen nou nooit eens eenvoudig zijn voor de verandering… En dus begon er een twee maanden durende periode van flippen over stomme computers, stomme videocamera’s, Sony, Microsoft, en IT mensen in het algemeen, terwijl mijn echtgenoot in zijn vrije tijd mijn computer zover probeerde te krijgen dat het de videobeeldjes kon lezen. Ik weet zeker dat hij ontzettend  blij was met zijn cadeau. Maar goed, het heeft wat tijd en computer catastrofes gekost, maar ik kan nu eindelijk mijn beeldmateriaal bewerken.  Mijn hippe nieuwe software werkt fantastisch! Als test heb ik een try-out gedaan met wat puppy video’s van vorig jaar. Ik ben een hele dag bezig geweest met het downloaden van muziek en het bewerken van de beelden, en het is me gelukt om alles op YouTube te zetten. Ik heb zelfs de video’s op mijn Jarah as a Puppy  pagina weten te krijgen, en dat is toch knappe prestatie voor een Computer Dino zoals ik. Geweldig trots heb ik iedereen per e-mail ingelicht, maar toen gebeurde het… Ik kreeg een antwoord van mijn Duitse pen-pal: De video’s waren geblokkeerd in Duitsland…Shit! Blijkbaar had het iets te maken met de muziek die ik aan mijn video’s had toegevoegd. Copyrights en zo. Maar de muziek maakte mijn video’s juist zo grappig! Het had me uren gekost om juist dat ene nummer op te zoeken die mijn slapende puppy video zou complimenteren, en nu was mijn video over de hele wereld geblokkeerd! Hoe frustrerend! Wat heeft het voor zin om video’s te downloaden als ze vervolgens in sommige landen geblokkeerd worden?!! Ik had geen andere keus dan mijn audio te switchen. We zouden tenslotte niet willen dat de mensen in Andorra een Jarah video moeten missen, of wel soms? Gelukkig heeft YouTube een muziekbibliotheek met liedjes waar je mee kunt ruilen. De muziek is vrij van copyrights, en na een paar uur door de meest afschuwelijke muziek gebladerd te hebben begrijp ik wel waarom. Het was echt vreselijk deprimerend, maar ja, wat moet je anders… Dus vanaf nu kan de wereld meegenieten van live beelden van mijn kleine chocolade tornado, en als je mazzel hebt heeft het een James Bond titelsong op de achtergrond. Yay!!  En dus gaan we terug in de tijd. Niet alleen met de “Jarah as a puppy” video’s, maar ook terug naar april van dit jaar, toen de Wookie nog vacht had en Jarah… nou ja.. die was zoals  ze altijd is.. Vrolijk!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The YouTube Adventure

  1. Cora says:

    I’ll probably never get over it how cute it is how similiar-yet-different they are🙂 It’s just too cute. The hiding behind a tree, slight shifting of the head, then slowly, slowly lifting the paw. And don’t they have the funniest run? Bounce, bounce, flying ears, bounce, change direction, bounce, run! And of course the sleeping position.

  2. Cora says:

    That would be nice, no?
    I’ll give it a try, but I only have a normal camera, so it will be all Blair Witch like shaky and blurry.

  3. Cora says:

    No, not when he’s fresh out of the water, he looks like a little zombie then😉 I wonder if the music of “Jaws” is copyright-free …

    • Yeah, "Thriller" might be the one to go for then, but I'm quite sure it's blocked in Andorra. You might get lucky with the Jaws theme though, or perhaps you can compose your own music? How's your singing voice?

Leave a Comment

