Nessie

This morning I had two ducks on the roof of my shed who couldn’t take their eyes off that peculiar looking creature that was sleeping in the sunshine. As usual we’re quite the neighborhood attraction. Even most dogs now look at Laika as if Nessie herself has surfaced from the deep: “What the hell..???!!! On our daily splash-walk we encountered a woman with a hyperactive hunting dog. They were ploughing tensely through the bushes. “Have you lost something?”, I asked cheerfully… “No, I have hidden a dummy for my dog.”, she answered irritated. I giggled…I always have to laugh at testy people. “O, ok…”, I said, and I watched the dogs from a distance, doing their meet and greet.  “Why is that dog shaven?”, the woman bellowed at me sternly, while looking at Laika as if she were some filthy insect. (O god..I knew I should have asked permission to shave my dog…shit, shit, shit!) “Well,” I explained, “my dog always  has trouble with the warm weather, so we help her, so she can feel better…” The woman looked at me angrily, while the idea of doing something to make your dog feel better lingered in her brain for a second before it was liquidated.. “You are not supposed to do that,”, she said snappy, while looking at me as if I should be executed for my incompetence, “it does not go with the breed”.  It  then suddenly dawned on me that this must be one of those infamous “Hundeklugscheißers“ I keep reading about… How funny! “Well, I think my dog looks just super!” I replied cheerfully, and was happily on my way. I am really not about to defend myself for doing what’s best for my dog. Luckily, most people think Laika’s new look is just great and can fully understand why we shave her. Sweet Laika is of course blissfully unaware of all the controversies. She’s happy, she’s comfy, and she loves it when she’s shaven.  What can be more important than that…

Vanochtend had ik twee eenden op het dak van mijn schuur zitten die hun ogen niet van het rare schepsel af konden houden dat in de zon lag te slapen. Zoals gewoonlijk zijn we weer de bezienswaardigheid van de buurt. Zelfs  de meeste honden kijken naar Laika alsof Nessie uit de diepte is bovengekomen: “What the hell…???!!!”. Tijdens onze dagelijkse zwem-wandeling kwamen we een vrouw tegen met een hyperactieve jachthond. Ze ploegden gespannen door het struikgewas. “Ben je wat kwijt?”, vroeg ik vrolijk.. “Nee, ik heb een dummy voor mijn hond verstopt”, antwoordde ze geïrriteerd . Ik giechelde.. Ik moet altijd zo lachen om kribbige mensen. ”O, ok…” zei ik, en ik keek van een afstandje toe hoe de honden kennismaakten. “Waarom is die hond geschoren?”, bulderde de vrouw streng naar me, terwijl ze naar Laika keek alsof het een smerig insect was. (O god…Ik wist dat ik toestemming had moeten vragen om mijn hond te scheren…shit, shit, shit!) “Wel,”legde ik uit, “mijn hond heeft altijd veel last van de warmte, dus we helpen haar, zodat ze zich goed voelt..”De vrouw keek me boos aan terwijl het idee om iets voor je hond te doen zodat hij zich beter voelt even in haar hersens bleef hangen voordat het geliquideerd werd… “Dat hoor je niet te doen”, zei ze kribbig, terwijl ze naar me keek alsof ik zou moeten worden afgeschoten voor mijn ondeskundigheid, “het hoort niet bij het ras”. Toen drong het opeens tot me door dat dit zo’n beruchte “Hundeklugscheißer“ moest zijn waar ik regelmatig over lees…Wat grappig! “Nou, ik vind dat mijn hond er geweldig uit ziet!” antwoordde ik opgewekt, en vervolgde vrolijk mijn weg. Ik ben echt niet van plan om mezelf te gaan verdedigen omdat ik iets goeds doe voor mijn hond. Gelukkig vinden de meest mensen Laika’s nieuwe look helemaal geweldig, en kunnen prima begrijpen  waarom we haar scheren. Lieve Laika is zich natuurlijk totaal onbewust van de hele controverse. Ze is gelukkig, ze voelt zich goed, en ze vindt het heerlijk om geschoren te zijn. Wat kan er nou belangrijker zijn dan dat..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nessie

  1. Cora says:

    Yes, I can confirm this lady is a prime example for a Hundeklugscheißer (honden klookschieter?): They always know everything better than you and are eager to tell you so in an annoyed voice. They probably also have the cure for cancer, whatdoyouknow.

    • Nope..sorry.. honden klookschieter is not a Dutch word ;-)  It might become one now, you never know… We re-invent our language every decade or so…

      I was kind of hoping that the “scheißer” part would come from the word “scheiße”, so it would mean something like “a person who shits dog knowledge”.. Too bad..   A “Klugscheißer” is a “smart ass” yes? So in Dutch it would be a “wijsneus” (naseweis) or a “betweter” (besserwisser).
      Not as much fun as the scheiße one though🙂

  2. Cora says:

    But that’s exactly it! “A person who shits dog knowledge” or “whose advise is as much worth as shit”. “Hundeklugscheißer” did not exist until I made it up, I’m planning to get it into the Duden dictionary in 2030😉

Leave a Comment

