The weather predicting Oracle

I never understood the purpose of weather predictions. In my logic it’s much easier to just look outside to see what the weather is like, but my husband keeps telling me I  take this complex matter much too lightly. Last weekend we went to the Ardennes. Before we left home, my husband had memorized all the Belgium weather reports, and predicted that Saturday would be a perfect day for a 14 km hike. Chances of rain: 2%. “I think it’s going to rain…”I said, while looking uncertainly at the dark sky. “No”, my husband replied confidently, “it will definitely stay dry today, it said so in the forecasts.” “But did you see that black sky?” I asked, “I’m sure it’s going to rain. You did bring the rain coats though didn’t you?” “Yeah,”, my husband replied, ”I left them in the car because we won’t be needing them. A chance of 2% is close to nothing.” Long story short: An hour later we were trotting back to the car in the pouring rain. During the next couple of days, the weather predicting oracle kept on blabbing about  percentages, and as a result I was carrying along two rain coats for two days, all for nothing. Blissfully unaware of weather reports (which is a good thing, because if Jarah were to team up with my husband we would never get a foot out the door, even with a 2% chance of rain) the dogs had a wonderful time. They splashed around in the small streams and ran through the forests, but the true highlight was when the noble  Dachshund tore-up two hiking maps. That was just hilariously funny. On Monday it was time to go home. “The road back home will be completely free of traffic-jams.”, my husband predicted cheerfully. He had of course been consulting one of those smart-ass websites. In reality we of course did get some traffic-jams, but you really need to look at that from another angle, or so I’m told. A traffic-jam is only worth mentioning if it’s longer than 4 km, and the traffic-jam at Maastricht doesn’t count because it’s just a really long wait before a traffic-light. So it just goes to show that it’s not all as easily as it seems. I don’t get it.. But hey, what do I know😉

Ik heb nooit veel begrepen van het nut van weersvoorspellingen. In mijn logica kun je ook gewoon naar buiten kijken om te zien wat voor weer het is, maar mijn echtgenoot vertelt mij dat ik veel te licht denk over deze complexe materie. Afgelopen weekend  zijn we  naar de Ardennen geweest. Mijn echtgenoot had vooraf de Belgische weersvoorspellingen uit zijn hoofd geleerd, en voorspelde dat zaterdag de perfecte dag zou zijn voor een 14 km lange wandeling. Kans op regen: 2%. “Ik denk dat het gaat regenen…” zei ik, terwijl ik bedenkelijk naar de donkere lucht keek. “Nee,” reageerde mijn echtgenoot zelfverzekerd, “het blijft vandaag absoluut droog, dat stond in de weersvoorspellingen.” “Maar heb je die zwarte lucht gezien?” vroeg ik, “Ik weet zeker dat het gaat regenen. Je hebt toch wel de regenjassen meegenomen?” “Ja“ antwoordde hij, ”die liggen nog in de auto want die hebben we niet nodig. Een kans van 2% is bijna niks.” Om een lang verhaal kort te maken: Een uurtje later gingen we in een hoosbui op een drafje terug naar de auto. Ook de dagen daarna bleef het weersvoorspellende orakel percentages babbelen, met als gevolg dat ik twee dagen voor niets met twee regenjassen liep te sjouwen. Zich heerlijk onbewust van weersvoorspellingen (wat maar goed is ook, want als Jarah zich bij mijn echtgenoot zou aansluiten zouden we nooit meer de deur uit komen, zelfs niet met een 2% kans op regen) hebben de honden zich heerlijk vermaakt. Ze hebben in de riviertjes geplonsd en door de bossen gerend, maar het absolute hoogtepunt was toen de edele Teckel twee wandelkaarten had verscheurd. Dat was gewoon onwijs leuk. Maandag was het tijd om weer naar huis te gaan. “De terugweg is geheel filevrij.” voorspelde mijn echtgenoot opgewekt. Hij had natuurlijk weer zo’n bijdehante website geraadpleegd. In werkelijkheid hebben we natuurlijk wel weer wat files gehad, maar zo moet je dat niet zien is mij verteld. Een file is pas het vermelden waard als ie langer is dan 4 km, en de file bij Maastricht telt niet, want daar sta je gewoon heel lang voor het stoplicht. Zo zie je maar weer dat het allemaal niet zo eenvoudig is als het lijkt. Begrijpen doe ik het niet.. Maar hey, wat weet ik er nou van😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The weather predicting Oracle

  1. handvolldackel says:

    Tore up? I’m sure she only edited out the boring parts of the hiking maps😉

Leave a Comment

