“Is that a Puppy ?!”

It’s now been 50 days since Laika has been shaven for her summer look. That means
that I have gotten the question if Laika is a puppy at least 200 times. Not that I’m getting annoyed or anything. Or mind repeating myself over and over again. No, of course not. I remain perfectly Zen about things. Ok, I might have sort of snapped at a person once, but that was because it was really early in the morning and a woman cooed at me “Ooooh! Is that a puppy?!!” I just can’t handle cheerful people in the morning. I swear if I had a gun I would have shot her. Other than that minor incident and that little voice inside my head that’s screaming “Are you kidding me?! A puppy?! What are you? BLIND??”, I’m quite capable to compose myself and remain all smiles. Even when I get the same questions five to six times a day, not that I’m counting of course. “People mean well” is my mantra. At first al these puppy questions were rather confusing to me. I was so used to Jarah getting all the attention, that I would continuously answer that she is indeed a puppy. Subsequently people would take a closer look at Laika and then look at me as if I were an idiot. “How old is she then?” and I would proudly say: “One”, and then that would lead to a whole new set of confusions. Nowadays I just keep quiet for as long as possible and let the people jabber on as they are trying to figure out what’s the deal with this exotic creature. “Oooh look! A puppy! Is it a puppy? No?…It’s not a puppy?…She’s old! Is she old? Yes! Look at her tail! Oooh! She’s shaven! Is she shaven? Beautiful! But she looks just like a puppy!” It’s like a game of hot and cold where I just smile and nod to the correct conclusions. The good thing is that lately the puppy questions seem to be getting less . I think it’s because we’ve probably met everybody from around here by now, so they all know. We are now entering the next phase, where we meet all the people that we have met before all over again. They all tell me how young she looks. You know…just like a puppy?

Het is nu 50 dagen geleden dat Laika geschoren is voor haar “Summer Look”. Dat betekent dat de vraag of Laika een puppy is, me minstens 200 keer is gesteld. Niet dat ik het irritant vind worden of zo. Of dat ik het erg vind om mezelf steeds weer te herhalen. Welnee, natuurlijk niet. Ik blijf er gewoon helemaal Zen onder. Ok, misschien ben ik een keertje uitgevallen tegen iemand, maar dat was omdat het heel vroeg in de ochtend was en een vrouw naar me kirde “Oooooh is dat een puppy?!!” Ik kan er gewoon niet tegen als mensen zo vrolijk zijn ’s ochtends. Ik zweer het je, als ik een geweer had gehad had ik haar afgeschoten. Dus behalve dat kleine incidentje en dat stemmetje in mijn hoofd dat schreeuwt “Meen je dat nou?! Een puppy?! Ben je BLIND of zo??”, ben ik prima in staat om mezelf te beheersen. Zelfs als ik vijf tot zes keer per dag dezelfde vragen krijg, niet dat ik het bijhoud of zo. ”Mensen bedoelen het goed” is mijn mantra. In het begin vond ik al die puppyvragen een beetje verwarrend. Ik was zo gewend dat Jarah alle aandacht kreeg, dat ik steeds antwoordde dat het inderdaad een puppy is. Vervolgens bekeken de mensen Laika nog eens van dichtbij en keken me daarna aan alsof ik een idioot ben. “Hoe oud is ze dan? en dan antwoordde ik trots ”Eén”, wat vervolgens weer leidde tot een hele nieuwe serie misverstanden. Tegenwoordig blijf ik gewoon zo lang mogelijk stil en laat de mensen maar een beetje kletsen terwijl ze proberen uit te vogelen wat voor een exotisch dier ze voor zich hebben. “Oooh kijk! Een puppy! Is het een puppy? Nee? … Is het geen puppy?… Ze is oud! Is ze oud? Jaaa! Moet je die start zien! Oooh! Ze is geschoren! Is ze geschoren? Prachtig! Het is echt net een pup!” Het is alsof we een spelletje warm-koud doen, waarbij ik glimlach en knik bij de juiste conclusies. Gelukkig lijken de puppyvragen de laatste tijd wat af te nemen. Waarschijnlijk omdat we inmiddels iedereen uit de regio zijn tegengekomen, dus iedereen weet het ondertussen. We komen nu in de volgende fase, waarin we iedereen die we al zijn tegengekomen weer opnieuw ontmoeten. Ze vertellen me allemaal hoe jong Laika er uit ziet. Je weet wel… net als een puppy?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Is that a Puppy ?!”

  1. handvolldackel says:

    Ah, yes, the nod-and-smile. It is very Zen. I do that, too, especially in the mornings when I leave the house without my Lara-Croft style pistols.

    Laika looks perfectly prosh on the pictures and does a perfect head-tilt🙂 So cute!

    (I was only caught off-guard once, when someone asked me if Dende was a Rauhaardackel.
    “What are you? Blind?? Does he look wire-haired to you?!”)

    • Yes, Laika is perfect at posing. I usually say “cookie” and that makes her tilt her head🙂

      I get the Dachshund questions as well: “Is that a Dachshund? Aaaah yes.. Ruwhaar yes? No?!..And aren’t there like ‘three sizes’…?”😉

Leave a Comment

