The dangers of wearing a Birki in the morning..

I don’t know how things are elsewhere, but over here the Birkenstock sandal has become tremendously popular. It seems to have completely shaken off its woolly image and if you’re not wearing them you’re just not cool. Shit. Time to get me some Birki’s. After trying on eight pairs in eight different shoe-stores (we wouldn’t want to look like a loony) I was finally convinced that the over-all cool look would eventually make up for the excruciating pain between my toes. The only thing that was holding me back, was that I had to pay 60 euro’s for my discomfort. Time for a web search! Luckily I quickly found a pair of original brand-new Birki’s for only 25 euro. Now that’s more like it! So, I now have a cheap pair of brand-new Birki’s that hurt like hell but blend in perfectly with the current fashion trend. I just wear them as little as possible. Not only because of the excruciating pain they cause, but it also turns out that a Birki just doesn’t offer enough protection against a Dachshund with a preference for attacking feet. Wearing a Birki in the morning would be just like dangling your feet into a shark filled tank. O well. This way they stay nice and new. I could always sell them on right? You might think that it’s just gross to sell your used shoes, but much to my amazement there is a vivid market out there for disgusting, second hand Birkenstocks. Yuck! Who in their right mind would buy those?! It really got me thinking though…  On our last visit to Belgium I’ve treated myself to a pair of fantastic, bright pink, Hello Kitty Crocs. A true collector’s item, with glitters and a cheerful Kitty. They even bring me in astonished looks from passers-by when I forget to replace them with my sneakers. Could I possibly put my old, but delightful, purple Crocs up for sale on the internet marketplace? They even come with original Dachshund bite marks and a half eaten decorative dragon, which makes them look totally ruined cool unique.  If people pay money for a filthy old Birkenstock, who knows what I might get for my delightful old Crocs.… I’ll just call them “Vintage” and might even make a huge profit! 

Ik weet niet hoe het elders is, maar hier is de Birkenstock sandaal enorm populair geworden. Het lijkt erop dat het zijn  wollige imago volledig heeft afgeschud en als je ze niet hebt ben je gewoon niet cool. Shit. Tijd om een setje Birki’s aan te schaffen. Na acht paar aangepast te  hebben in acht verschillende winkels (je wilt tenslotte niet dat mensen je raar  vinden) was ik er uiteindelijk van overtuigd dat de coole look de ondragelijke pijn tussen mijn tenen meer dan goed zou maken. Het enige dat me nog tegenhield was dat ik 60 euro moest betalen voor mijn ongemak. Tijd voor een speurtocht over het internet! Gelukkig vond ik al snel een setje originele hagelnieuwe Birki’s voor 25 euro. Kijk, dat lijkt er meer op. Inmiddels heb ik dus voor weinig een paar hagelnieuwe Birki’s die vreselijk zeer doen, maar perfect passen in het huidige modebeeld. Ik draag ze gewoon zo min mogelijk. Niet alleen omdat ze zeer doen, maar ik ben er inmiddels ook achter dat een Birki niet genoeg bescherming biedt tegen een Teckel met een voorliefde voor het aanvallen van voeten. ’s Ochtends een Birki dragen zou net zo riskant zijn als met je voeten in een bad met haaien bungelen. Nou ja, zo blijven ze lekker nieuw. Bovendien kan ik ze altijd nog doorverkopen toch? Ja, je zou denken dat het gewoon goor is om gebruikte schoenen te verkopen, maar tot mijn verbazing is er een levendige handel in smerige tweedehands Birkenstocks. Yuch! Wie koopt nu zo iets?! Het zette me echter wel aan het denken.. De laatste keer dat we in België waren heb ik mezelf op een setje fantastische felroze Hello Kitty Crocs getrakteerd. Echt een collectors item, met glitters en een vrolijke Kitty. Ze leveren me zelfs verbijsterde blikken op van voorbijgangers als ik vergeten ben om ze te vervangen door mijn gympjes. Zou ik nu mijn oude, maar mieterse, paarse Crocs te koop aan kunnen bieden op Marktplaats? Ze hebben zelfs originele Teckel tandafdrukken en een half opgegeten decoratie draakje, zodat ze er totaal verwoest stoer uniek uitzien. Als een smerige oude Birkenstock nog geld kan opleveren, wie weet wat ik dan nog voor mijn oude Crocs kan vangen… Ik noem ze gewoon “Vintage” en misschien maak ik zelfs wel winst!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The dangers of wearing a Birki in the morning..

  1. handvolldackel says:

    Every morning? I’m getting exhausted just by watching Miss Tornado🙂

  2. handvolldackel says:

    … and the husband was very nostalgic because of the song, he loved “Golden Earring” when he was 16. So he says “Good choice!”🙂

Leave a Comment

