“Speedy”

This picture of Laika was taken in 2006. It falls under the category: “It seemed like a good idea at the time”. Back in 2006 Laika had been getting some blisters on her feet,  so I decided to look for something to protect her feet during long walks. After a thorough web search I decided to buy a full set of four hip Ruffwear doggy shoes. All excited about my fantastic solution, we immediately had a test walk as soon as the shoes were delivered. We were completely astonished about the effect. Those shoes had miraculously transformed our sluggish, feet dragging dog, into a rapid, fierce walking dog! It was totally amazing. I can still  remember thinking that her feet must have hurt  terribly all these years, and then that must have been the reason why she was always walking so terribly slow. Poor thing. And we always accused her of being lazy! From then on we decided to help Laika as much as we could, and it was just heartwarming to see her moving so agile. We even called her  “Speedy”. But then after a few days I found a small wound on Laika’s foot. Weird… surely that wasn’t there before… she must have chewed on her feet or something… How lucky that I had bought those shoes to protect her feet, so it wouldn’t interfere with her walking. Just look at her go..  But then on one of our walks I suddenly realized she was perhaps moving her feet rather fast…  A bit too fast perhaps? Almost like walking on hot coals….? Shit! There must be something wrong with those shoes! Scheiße would my German pen pal say! As it turned out, the shoes were just a tiny bit too small, causing one of her nails to press deeply into her foot when she walked. That’s what must have caused the wound! That’s why she was walking so damn fast! Not because we had helped her, no because  she was trying to get away from the pain in her feet! That’s why she’s so frozen in the pictures. I thought it was just because it was all new to her. She just needed to get used to the feeling. The sweetheart. She’ll thank me later.. I know..I really shouldn’t laugh…  I’m deeply ashamed. Bad, bad dog owner!

Deze foto van Laika is genomen in 2006. Het valt onder de categorie: “Het leek destijds een goed idee”. In 2006 had Laika wat last gehad van blaren op haar voeten, en dus besloot ik om iets te vinden om haar voeten te beschermen tijdens lange
wandelingen. Na een grondige zoektocht
op het internet besloot ik een volledig setje van vier Ruffwear hondenschoentjes
te kopen. Helemaal enthousiast over mijn fantastische oplossing gingen we meteen een testwandeling maken zodra de schoenen waren afgeleverd. We waren totaal  verbijsterd over het effect. De schoenen hadden onze slome, sloffende hond, op miraculeuze wijze getransformeerd in een vlotte, felle hond! Het was echt fenomenaal. Ik weet nog goed dat ik toen dacht, dat haar voeten echt vreselijk veel pijn gedaan moeten hebben al die jaren, en dat dat de rede moet zijn geweest dat ze altijd zo vreselijk langzaam liep. Arm ding. En wij haar maar beschuldigen dat ze lui was! Sindsdien besloten we om Laika zo veel mogelijk te helpen, en het was gewoon hartverwarmend om te zien hoe bewegelijk ze werd. We noemden haar zelfs “Speedy”. Maar na een paar dagen vond ik een wondje op Laika’s voet. Vreemd… die had er absoluut niet eerder gezeten… ze zal wel weer op haar poot hebben gekloven of zo iets.. Wat een mazzel dat ik die schoenen had gekocht om haar voeten te beschermen zodat ze er met lopen geen last van zou hebben. Kijk haar eens lekker stappen.. Maar tijdens één van onze wandelingen realiseerde ik me opeens dat ze haar voeten wel erg snel  bewoog… Een beetje tè snel misschien? Bijna alsof ze op hete kolen loopt….? Shit! Er moet iets  is zijn met die schoenen
! Scheiße zou mijn Duitse pen pal zeggen! Achteraf bleek dat de schoenen een ietsje te klein waren waardoor één van haar nagels diep in haar voet werd gedrukt als ze liep. Dat had natuurlijk die wond veroorzaakt! Daarom liep ze zo verdomd snel! Niet omdat we haar hadden geholpen, nee ze probeerde weg te komen van de pijn in haar voeten. Vandaar dat ze ook  zo  versteend op de foto’s staat.  Dat is gewoon vanwege de nieuwigheid dacht ik toen nog. Ze moet gewoon nog even aan het gevoel wennen. De lieverd. Later zal ze me dankbaar zijn… Ik weet het.. ik zou er eigenlijk niet om moeten lachen. Ik schaam me diep.. Foei! Slechte hondeneigenaar!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Speedy”

  1. handvolldackel says:

    Treacherous little things, they are like real shoes – they look so cute, but they hurt so bad … poor Laika!

Leave a Comment

