Babel Fish for Dachshunds…

“The people at number 54 have two children, a beautiful wooden floor, and a lovely kitchen”, reported  my husband. No, although he is a man of many talents, he does not have the gift of clear vision. It’s just been one of those days where Jarah whirled herself  into yet another house in my neighborhood. Two children were about to leave their house, freaked out when Jarah raced towards them to say hi, and ran back into the house in a panic with Jarah enthusiastically following them. It was quite spectacular. Strangely enough, nobody ever seems to get angry when Jarah barges into their home and starts running around on their couch. I guess if you do it with flair it’s really no biggie. The other day it was my turn to  have a memorable moment with our chocolate loony. For some reason  I opened the garden gate, and Jarah raced out to go say hi to any life form out there . Shit. So off I went in search for my little chocolate tornado. The gate to one of my back neighbor’s garden stood open and I followed the sound of commotion. Children, yay! I quickly walked in and there was the little monster running around like a lunatic. Me: “Hi, hello, sorry, sorry, Jarah get out, MOVE IT!” and tried to usher the little rat out of there. Jarah:” Hi mom! You’re coming to play? It’s SUPER COOL! Look they have cookies!”, and steals a finger biscuit from the hands of one of the children.  Great, now that wasn’t embarrassing at all. So I pick up Jarah, who is still chewing on the half eaten finger biscuit, and in a reflex I take the biscuit out of her mouth. Shit. Now what do I do with it… Dilemma. Surely I can’t give the soggy thing back to the child, that would be gross. It would be rude to give it back to the mother, and I sure a s hell wasn’t about to give the biscuit back to Jarah. So there I was, with a fidgety Dachshund in my arms and a soggy biscuit in my hand that had nowhere to go. Shit. Trying to hold on to what last dignity I had left, I tried to look as nonchalant as possible with that revolting biscuit in my hand.  No success. Children notice everything. “She can have my biscuit, I don’t mind” a little boy said. “No, She may not have your biscuit” I replied, “I’ll just ehmm..hold on to the biscuit for a while..”. Great. That sounded  intelligent. Now I get stuck with a repulsive biscuit that was sucked on by both a child and a dog and now there was no way I could throw the thing into the bushes unnoticed. Super. Time to get the hell out of here. I managed to fold my face into a child friendly smile;  “Ok! Well that was fun huh?!  Time to leave now! Yes, we’re leaving, say bye, bye Jarah, see you next time! Bye..bye..bye, bye Jarah”  Pfff.. we made it. I quickly tossed the soggy biscuit into some bushes and gave Jarah a reproachful look. “Lunatic”, I said, “How could you embarrass me like that?!”.  Of course there is really no point in speaking to a Dachshund like that. They live in their own pink universe and have a special filter that only allows them hear what is convenient for them. It’s a Babel Fish for  Dachshunds.  So in return the Dachsie gave me a happy look, as if to say: “I know. That was so much fun! I was totally cute. They love me you know! Plus: They gave me cookies!”

 

De mensen op nr. 54 hebben twee kinderen, een mooie houten vloer, en een leuke keuken”, vertelde mijn echtgenoot. Nee, hoewel hij een man is van vele talenten, is hij niet bedeeld met de gave van helderziendheid. Het was gewoon weer zo’n dag waarop Jarah zichzelf weer eens bij het zoveelste huis in de buurt naar binnen  zwierde. Twee kinderen stonden op het punt om naar buiten te gaan, raakten volledig in de stress toen Jarah op ze af kwam racen om gedag te zeggen en renden in paniek terug het huis in met een enthousiaste Jarah achter zich aan. Het was behoorlijk spectaculair. Vreemd genoeg worden mensen nooit boos als Jarah hun huis binnenstormt en over hun bankstel heen begint te rennen. Als je het maar met flair doet maakt niemand er een probleem van. Van de week was het mijn beurt om een gedenkwaardig moment te hebben met onze choco mafkees. Ik deed om wat voor reden dan ook mijn tuinhek open, en Jarah racete naar buiten om alles wat leeft gedag te zeggen. Shit. Dus ik op zoek naar mijn kleine chocolade tornado. Het hek naar de tuin van één van mijn achterburen stond open en ik volgde het geluid van commotie. Kinderen, yay! Ik liep snel naar binnen en daar was het kleine monster als een idioot in de rondte aan het rennen. Ik: “Hi, hallo, sorry, sorry, Jarah ga weg daar,  OPSCHIETEN!” en ik probeerde de kleine rat naar buiten te loodsen. Jarah: “Hoi mam! Kom je spelen? Het is SUPERLEUK! Kijk ze hebben koekjes!”, en steelt een lange vinger uit de handen van één van de kinderen. Fijn, dat was gelukkig helemaal niet gênant. Dus ik til Jarah op, die nog steeds op het half opgegeten koekje kauwt, en in een reflex haal ik het koekje uit haar mond. Shit. Nu zit ik met dat koekje. Dilemma. Ik kan dat koekje natuurlijk niet aan dat kind teruggeven, dat zou goor zijn. Het zou onbeleefd zijn om het terug aan de moeder te geven, en ik piekerde er niet over om het koekje aan Jarah terug te geven. Dus daar stond ik dan, met een friemelende Teckel op mijn arm en een zompig koekje in mijn hand die geen kant op kon. Shit. In een laatste poging om mijn waardigheid te bewaren probeerde ik er  zo nonchalant mogelijk uit te zien met dat smerige koekje in mijn hand. Geen succes. Kinderen zien alles. “Ze mag mijn koekje best hebben hoor, ik vind het niet erg”, zei een klein jongetje. “Nee, ze mag je koekje niet hebben”,  antwoordde ik, “Ik ehmm.. hou het koekje gewoon even een tijdje vast..”Fijn. Dat klonk intelligent. Nu zit ik vast aan een smerig biscuitje waar zowel een hond als een kind op gezogen hebben en de kans dat ik het ongemerkt in de bosjes kan gooien is compleet verkeken. Super. Tijd om te vertrekken. Het lukte me om mijn gezicht in een kindvriendelijke glimlach te vouwen; “Ok! Nou dat was leuk! Tijd om weg te gaan! Ja, we gaan weg, zeg maar dag, dag Jarah, tot de volgende keer! Dag..doei..dag, dag Jarah” Pfff…We hebben het gered. Ik gooide snel het kleffe biscuitje in de struiken en gaf Jarah een verwijtende blik. “Mafkees”, zei ik, “Hoe kun je me nu weer zo voor schut zetten?!”. Natuurlijk heeft het totaal geen zin om zo tegen een Teckel te praten. Ze leven in hun eigen roze universum en hebben een speciaal filter waardoor ze alleen datgene horen wat ze het beste uitkomt. Het is een Babel Fish voor Teckels. In ruil kreeg ik van de Tak dus een vrolijke blik, alsof ze wilde zeggen: “Ik weet het. Ik vond het ook hartstikke gaaf! Ik was gewoon onwijs leuk. Ze houden van me. Plus: Ze gaven me koekjes!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Babel Fish for Dachshunds…

  1. handvolldackel says:

    I still remember Amigo, the neighbours little yorkie-terrier-something tiny mop dog, I don’t remember if I told you already about him but that’s me getting old. Anyway! Amigo used to run into every house/apartment he could, so often, when we opened the door, Amigo would run into our apartment and flip on his back in a “cuddle me! cuddle me!” pose. Amigo is probably one of the reasons we have a dog now, so see it this way: Jarahs house visits are as an Embassador of Dackelness. She shows everyone how nice it would be if they had a dachshund.
    And of course, Dende also has mastered the “Winding around the chair leg pose”.

  2. I’m definitely NOT telling Jarah she is an Embassador for Dackelness though😉

  3. handvolldackel says:

    Especially since it should be Ambassador … pardon. But nooo, don’t tell her, that would only encourage her😉

  4. I think it was a Freudian slip and our minds were with “embarassing”🙂
    I think Embassador about covers it though…. What a great new word! *applause*🙂🙂

  5. handvolldackel says:

    Yep, that was it, nothing to do with me being tired and all😉 It’s a great word, indeed.

  6. Doris says:

    Great story🙂. I found your blog in the dackelsucht blog. Sorry, my english is not that good. My husband is half netherland, but i don´t speak it at all. Just a few words, because we live nearby netherland. Jarah is so cute. We had two dachshunds in my youth. Now i stop, because i start laughing over my bad english.

Leave a Comment

