The Zhu-Zhu Pet Adventure

The shop attendant at the toy store gave me such an odd look when I told her I was buying a Zhu-Zhu hamster for my dog. “Well, I’ve never heard that before,”, she said, “we do have cheaper ones you know…”. Cheaper ones?! Tsk, tsk, tsk! As if some inferior flimsy hamster can withstand the fury of my Chocolate Piranha. No,no,no!  We need the original Zhu-Zhu hamster. The ones with the warning not to put them in your hair. We like living on the edge. Looking into the eyes of danger, etc.. So I bought this adorable yellow Zhu-Zhu hamster named  Nugget, and couldn’t wait to get home to show it to Jarah. Once I got home I happily cooed at Jarah to come see quickly what mummy  bought, but Jarah took one suspicious look at the yellow hamster and decided:  “No thank you”. Pff! Ungrateful little rat… Just wait till I figure out how to get that hamster to move, and then we’ll see what happens. Total destruction would not be inconceivable. The Zhu-Zhu manual was incredibly helpful. It was written in Turkish, Greek, Spanish, Portuguese, French, and Italian, so if I ever travel to either one of these counties I’ll know exactly how to order a hamster. Anyway, after a few clumsy attempts I finally got some movement out of my Zhu-Zhu hamster. “Look-at-èm-go!” it squeaked and then it’s off..  “YIKES”  is the look on Jarah’s face. Yikes?! Yikes?! What yikes??! Jarah is scared?! Surely this can’t be happening.. Is this the same Dachshund who murdered five vibrating mice, and a vibrating turtle?! The Dachshund who chases horses for fun? Jarah The Dragon Slayer? Miss Piranha Teeth? Surely I’m in the wrong universe! … But no. Miss Jarah was totally freaked out by the toy hamster. Because it squeaks. Yes. It squeaks. Which, apparently, is just terrible. In total disbelief I watched my fierce little Dachsie turn into a wining, squealing, little wimp. Suspiciously I took a closer look at my adorable little yellow hamster..hmm.. I really couldn’t find anything scary about it. Enthusiastically I shoved it back into Jarah’s face. “Look Jarah! Hamster!” I cooed in my happy voice, “It’s fun! See?”, but al I got was a shivering, wining Dachshund. Even Laika started howling, and she’s half deaf. Great. I’ve ruined the emotional balance of my dogs with a Zhu-Zhu hamster. How terribly depressing. Not only that, as a result of this cheerful little experiment, Jarah now turns into a shivering, wining pile of misery at every bleep she hears. Do you know how many stuff bleeps these days? Well, I can tell you: I do. Great idea, getting a Zhu-Zhu hamster. I can highly recommend it to everybody. Should anyone be up for the challenge: It just so happens that I have this adorable yellow hamster on offer. Low mileage, well maintained, belonged to an old lady… Buyers anyone?

De verkoopster in de speelgoedwinkel keek me zo raar aan toen ik haar vertelde dat ik een Zhu-Zhu hamster voor mijn hond ging kopen. “Nou, dat heb ik nou nog nooit gehoord,”, zei ze, “we hebben ook goedkopere hamsters hoor…..”. Goedkopere hamsters?! Tsk, tsk, tsk! Alsof één of ander inferieur schillenhamstertje is opgewassen tegen de furie van mijn Chocolade Piranha. Nee, nee, nee! Wij willen de originele Zhu-Zhu hamster. Die met de waarschuwing erop dat je ze niet in je haar moet doen. Wij houden er wel van een beetje gevaar. Dus ik kocht een snoezig geel Zhu-Zhu hamstertje genaamd Nugget. Ik kon niet  wachten om hem aan Jarah te laten zien. Eenmaal thuisgekomen riep ik vrolijk kirrend naar Jarah om toch snel eens te komen kijken wat mammie gekocht heeft, maar Jarah wierp één blik op mijn gele hamster en besloot: “Nee dank je”. Pff! Kleine ondankbare rat… Wacht maar tot ik heb uitgevonden hoe die hamster kan bewegen, en dan zullen we wel eens zien wat er gebeurd. Totale vernietiging is niet ondenkbaar. De Zhu-Zhu gebruiksaanwijzing was echt onwijs handig. Hij was geschreven in het Turks, Grieks, Spaans, Frans, en Italiaans, dus als ik ooit in één van die landen kom weet ik precies hoe ik een hamster moet bestellen. Na wat onhandige pogingen kreeg ik mijn Zhu-Zhu hamster eindelijk in beweging. “Look-at-em-go!” piepte het, en weg was ie… YIKES”  is de blik op Jarah’s gezicht. Yikes?! Yikes?! Wat yikes??! Jarah bang?! Dat zal toch niet gebeuren.. Is dit dezelfde Teckel die vijf vibrerende muizen en een vibrerende schildpad heeft vermoord?! De Teckel die voor haar plezier achter paarden aanjaagt? Jarah The Dragon Slayer? Miss Piranha Teeth? Ben ik in een verkeerd universum  terecht gekomen?! … Maar nee. Miss Jarah was totaal in paniek vanwege een  speelgoedhamster. Omdat het piept. Jawel. Het piept. En dat is blijkbaar gewoon vreselijk. Vol ongeloof zag ik mijn dappere Teckel veranderen in een jankend, piepend hoopje ellende. Argwanend bekeek ik mijn snoezige gele hamster nog eens goed van dichtbij ..hmm.. ik kon er toch echt niks engs aan ontdekken. Enthousiast hield ik het ding weer bij Jarah voor haar neus. “Kijk Jarah! Hamster!” kirde ik vrolijk, “Het is leuk! Kijk!”, met als enig resultaat een piepende, bevende Teckel. Zelfs Laika begon ervan te janken en die is nog wel half doof. Fijn. Ik heb de emotionele balans van mijn honden verstoord met een Zhu-Zhu hamster. Wat enorm deprimerend. Bovendien heeft mijn gezellige experiment als gevolg dat Jarah nu in een piepend en bevend hoopje ellende veranderd zodra ze ook maar één piepje hoort. Weet je wel hoeveel dingen er tegenwoordig een piepje hebben? Nou, ik inmiddels wel kan ik je vertellen. Leuk hoor zo’n hamster. Ik kan het echt iedereen aanraden. Mocht iemand zin hebben in een uitdaging: Laat ik nou nog een snoezig geel hamstertje in de aanbieding hebben voor de liefhebber! Weinig gelopen, altijd binnen gestaan, van een oud vrouwtje geweest.. Wie biedt?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Zhu-Zhu Pet Adventure

  1. handvolldackel says:

    I’ve filmed Dendes reaction to the video😉
    http://handvolldackel.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/dende-in-gefahr/
    It’s the second time we watched it, so the first time was way funnier, then he started whining a tiny little bit and I thought … no, I don’t want to risk the emotional balance of my dog, so I put him off my lap down to the floor. Safe from the evil Zhu Zhu pets.

Leave a Comment

