About Cosmic Laws and Doggy Coats…

Traditionally I always get sick during weekends and on holidays. That’s because I hardly ever get sick, so that when I do get sick, I need to visit a substitute physician and pay double the usual rate. It’s a Cosmic law. The same goes for my animals. Always sick on weekends. So when we left for Belgium on a Friday at the beginning of this month, Jarah developed a cough. In the car. Halfway to Belgium. How on earth she managed to do that is truly beyond me, but she was coughing so hard, it was as if we had a heavy smoker sitting in the back of the car. Great. Now it just so happens, that while packing it ran through my mind to bring one of the fleece doggy coats I had made last year, but of course, I didn’t. Lesson number one: Never listen to your instincts, they don’t make any sense.  So there we were, in cold, wet weather, with a Dachsie that looked like an advertisement for cough syrup. Luckily she really did not seem to feel too bad, and was happy and playful, but still. I had no intention of risking some funky lung disease, not to mention a visit to some shady French speaking vet. And so it happened that Jarah got a special coat. Yes, special. I can say it’s special because that’s how it felt when I paid nearly 40 euro’s  for a coat so tiny I could hardly fit my foot in, knowing that I had a perfectly fine doggy coat lying in my attic that had only cost me 10 euro’s to make last year. So a special coat it is. It has a zipper. It might even be gold. So there! Anyway, after two trips to Luxemburg and a thorough coat fitting session, Jarah had a special coat. Much to my surprise, she loved it. Ran through the woods like a loony, splashing through streams, discovering how she could now do so much more without getting all wet and dirty, it was wonderful. Brought tears to my eyes. What brought tears to my husband’s eyes, was that I fairly quickly concluded that we would need a second coat. That was also quite wonderful. You see, Jarah had managed to get her coat so dirty, it had to get completely rinsed out after our walk. Since I don’t have use of a dryer in Belgium, and letting Jarah wear a wet coat is sort of totally useless, a second coat really was the best option. It was either that or buy a dryer. So two special coats for the princess. Sure, why not. Anything for our little Piranha. The rest is history of course: Jarah was fine within two days, the weather changed from cold and wet, to lovely and sunny, and I now have two special doggy coats lying uselessly in my attic. Funny things, those Cosmic laws..

Ik word meestal ziek tijdens het weekenden of vakanties. Dat is omdat ik bijna nooit ziek ben, dus als ik dan eens een keer ziek word moet ik naar een vervangende arts om vervolgens dubbel tarief te betalen. Het is een Kosmische wet. Hetzelfde geldt voor mijn dieren. Vaste prik: ziek in het weekend. Dus toen we aan het begin van deze maand op een vrijdag op weg naar de Ardennen waren, ontwikkelde Jarah een nare hoest. In de auto. Halverwege de rit. Hoe ze het voor elkaar krijgt is mij echt een raadsel, maar ze hoestte zo hard, het was alsof we een stevige roker achterin de auto hadden zitten. Top. Daar zitten we nou net op te wachten. Nu wil het geval dat ik tijdens het inpakken nog de inval kreeg om één van de fleece hondenjasjes mee te nemen die ik vorig jaar gemaakt had. Heb ik uiteraard niet gedaan. Les één: Luister nooit naar je instincten, ze zijn totaal onlogisch. Dus daar zaten we dan, in koud, nat weer, met een Teckel die eruit zag als een reclame voor hoestsiroop. Gelukkig leek ze zich niet al te slecht te voelen, en was ze vrolijk en speels, maar toch. Ik was toch niet van plan om één of andere smerige longziekte te riskeren, en al helemaal niet een bezoekje aan één of andere louche Franssprekende dierenarts. En dus kreeg Jarah een speciale jas. Ja, speciaal. Ik mag zeggen dat ie speciaal is, want zo voelde het precies toen ik bijna 40 euro aftikte voor een jasje dat zo klein is dat mijn voet er nauwelijks inpast, wetende dat ik thuis een prima hondenjasje op zolder had liggen dat me slechts 10 euro had gekost om zelf te maken. Dus het is een speciaal jasje. Hij heeft een rits. Misschien is ie zelfs wel van goud. Dus ha! Maar goed, na twee uitstapjes naar Luxemburg en een grondige passessie, had Jarah een speciale jas. Tot mijn verbazing vond ze het nog heerlijk ook. Rende door de bossen als een wilde, plonsde door stroompjes, ontdekte hoe ze nu zoveel meer kon doen zonder helemaal nat en smerig te worden, het was geweldig. De tranen sprongen in mijn ogen. Bij mijn echtgenoot sprongen ook de tranen in zijn ogen toen ik vrij snel tot de conclusie kwam dat we een tweede jasje nodig zouden hebben. Ook dat was geweldig. Jarah had haar jasje namelijk zo smerig gemaakt dat het meteen na de wandeling helemaal uitgespoeld moest worden. Omdat ik geen droger heb in België, en Jarah in een nat jasje laten lopen natuurlijk onzinnig is, was een tweede jasje de beste keus. Het was of dat, of een droger kopen. Dus, de prinses heeft nu twee speciale jasjes. Tuurlijk, waarom ook niet. Alles voor onze kleine Piranha. De rest is uiteraard geschiedenis: Jarah was binnen twee dagen weer beter, het weer veranderde van koud en nat, naar prachtig zonnig, en ik heb nu twee speciale hondenjasjes nutteloos op zolder liggen. Grappige dingen zijn het, die Kosmische wetten..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to About Cosmic Laws and Doggy Coats…

  1. I’m still marveling how she fits on that chair with the pink blanket … the landscape is truly beautiful and so serene.

  2. Chair? Blanket? Landscape? And what? … Not a word about my 80 euro’s worth of doggy coats?? Who pestered me for a picture over the last two weeks????
    One of them has a golden zipper you know….

  3. Oh, come on, they are very pretty, that goes without saying🙂 Close up on the golden zipper, please.

Leave a Comment

