Project Eggshell…

In my infinite wisdom I had decided to make some of Dr.Pitcairn’s calcium powder for my dogs. Made out of eggshells. Just so their bones wouldn’t instantly crumble to bits on those days that I perhaps deprive my little critters of that vital mineral. As you can see, I can be very relaxed about these things. Luckily I had some eggs that were passed their expiration date, so the animals got a yummy treat, and I got a plate full of delicious eggshells. The book said to dry the eggshells in the oven for ten minutes at 300˚F to remove some kind of oil coating. Oil coating? What oil coating? I gave my eggshells a suspicious look. “Do these eggshells look like they have an oil coating?” I asked the husband rhetorically, “And do you know how much 300˚Fahrenheit is in Celsius ? I think I’ll just dry them in the oven just in case. It will make them nice and crunchy. Easy to crush right?” The husband -who had watched my little eggshell project with growing astonishment, and was looking at me as if I’d gone completely insane- replied: “300˚F is probably a little under 150˚C. But don’t you have anything better to do?” Better to do?! Tsss! Now what can be more important than preventing your animals from instantly crumbling to bits I ask you?! Pff! So I pre-heated my oven at a 150˚C and placed my plate filled with eggshells in there so they could dry for a couple of minutes. Just like the book said. Ten minutes later, nothing had happened. Shit. The eggshells were even still wet on the inside. Totally useless! This calls for a radical re-think of the whole eggshell drying concept. Luckily I have infallible natural instincts about these things. They told me we needed to boost the temperature by at least a 100˚C. So I set my oven to a singeing 250˚C. That would dry the suckers so fast, they won’t know what hit them. About 20 minutes later, a funky smell came drifting through the living room. Shit! My eggshells!!! The smell was just horrendous… The eggshells were looking scorched, and the heat had caused the glazing of my plate to crackle. Great. My totally cool Creepy Crawly plates clearly are NOT oven-proof. But not to worry, I was sure I could rescue some of the eggshells. At least they now were nice and dry. So I put them in my traditional Indonesian pestle -bought during my two day “from now on I’m only cooking Indonesian” phase- and started grinding. Now that wasn’t as easy as I thought. The book said to grind the eggshells into a fine powder. Fine powder?! Are you kidding me?! What am I? A Cyborg?! “This stuff is just impossible to grind” I grumbled annoyed to my husband, while desperately attempting to crush the tiny eggshell bits into the desired perfect powder. After slaving away for a while I finally gave up and threw my depressing heap of gravel in the bin. “Well, that was a total waste of time huh?”, I said more to myself than to the husband -who by now had totally given up on trying to make sense of what I’m doing- “Perhaps I should just have ordered the stuff on-line.” I muttered… Because yes, dear friends: You can actually buy calcium powder. In a jar. Nice and simple. Perfectly pulverized by a Cyborg. So after this fascinating eggshell project, my advice would be: Buy your calcium powder in a store. I can highly recommend it. In the end, it’s easier, a lot cheaper, and a lot less smelly… 

In mijn oneindige wijsheid had ik besloten om Dr. Pitcairn’s calcium poeder te maken voor mijn honden. Gemaakt van eierschalen. Gewoon zodat hun botten niet à la minuut verpulveren op de dagen dat ik ze misschien onthoudt van dat vitale mineraaltje. Zoals je ziet kan ik heel relaxed omgaan met dat soort dingen. Gelukkig had ik wat eieren die over de houdbaarheids-datum waren, dus de dieren kregen een lekkere traktatie en ik had een bord vol met zalige eierschalen. Volgens het boek moesten de eierschalen tien minuten drogen in de oven op 300˚F om een olielaagje te verwijderen. Olielaagje? Wat voor olielaagje? Wantrouwend bekeek ik mijn eierschalen. “Zien deze eierschalen er uit alsof ze een olielaagje hebben?”  vroeg ik retorisch aan de echtgenoot, “En weet jij hoe heet 300˚Fahrenheit is in Celsius? Ik denk dat ik ze toch maar even in de oven laat drogen, gewoon voor de zekerheid. Het zal ze sowieso lekker knapperig maken. Makkelijk te vermalen niet?” De echtgenoot -die mijn eierschaalproject met groeiende verbazing had aanschouwd, en me aankeek alsof ik totaal geschift was geworden- antwoordde: “300˚F is waarschijnlijk iets onder de 150˚C. Maar heb je nu echt niets beters te doen?” Niets beters te doen?! Tsss! Wat kan er nu belangrijker zijn dan te voorkomen dat de botten van je dieren acuut verpulveren vraag ik je?! Pff! Dus ik verwarmde mijn oven voor op 150˚C en zette mijn bord eierschalen erin zodat ze een paar minuten konden drogen. Precies volgens het boekje. Tien minuten later, niks gebeurd. Shit. De eierschalen waren zelfs nog nat van binnen. Dit vroeg om een radicale verandering van het algehele eieren droog concept. Gelukkig heb ik een feilloos instinct met dit soort dingen. Het zei me dat ik de oven een flinke boost moest hebben van op zijn minst 100˚C, en dus zette ik mijn oven op een verschroeiende 250˚C. Dat zou ze leren, de rakkers. Ongeveer 20 minuten later kwam een doordringende stank mijn woonkamer in drijven. Shit! Mijn eierschalen!!! De stank was echt afschuwelijk… De eierschalen zagen er verschroeid uit, en door de hitte was het glazuur van mijn bord gebarsten. Fijn. Mijn coole Creepy Crawly borden zijn blijkbaar NIET oven-bestendig. Maar geen zorgen, ik wist zeker dat ik nog een aantal eierschalen kon redden. Ze waren nu in ieder geval lekker droog. En dus deed ik ze in mijn traditionele Indonesische vijzel -gekocht tijdens mijn twee dagen durende “ik ga voortaan alleen nog maar Indonesisch koken” fase- en begon de eierschalen te vermalen. Dat ging nog niet zo eenvoudig als ik dacht! Volgens het boek moest je de eierschalen vermalen tot een fijn poeder. Fijn poeder?! Are you kidding?! Wat ben ik? Een Cyborg?! “Dit spul is gewoon onmogelijk te vermalen”, gromde ik geïrriteerd tegen de echtgenoot, terwijl ik verwoed over de eierschalen maalde om het beoogde volmaakte fijne poeder te creëren. Na een tijdje zwoegen gaf ik het uiteindelijk maar op, en gooide ik mijn deprimerend hoopje gruis maar gewoon in de prullenbak. “Nou, dat was een behoorlijke tijdverspilling  hè?“, zei ik meer tegen mezelf dan tegen de echtgenoot -die het ondertussen had opgegeven om te proberen om de logica van wat ik aan het doen was in te zien- “Misschien had ik dat spul gewoon via het internet moeten kopen.” mompelde ik… Want ja lieve vrienden, echt waar: je kunt calcium poeder gewoon kopen. In een pot. Heel eenvoudig. Kant en klaar verpulverd door een Cyborg. Dus na dit fascinerende eierschaal-experiment, zou mijn advies zijn: Koop je calciumpoeder gewoon lekker in de winkel. Ik kan het van harte aanbevelen. Het is veel goedkoper, een stuk eenvoudiger, en het stinkt echt een stuk minder.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project Eggshell…

  1. handvolldackel says:

    Yesyesyes! I totally did that, too! I chopped them finely with my Japanese knife, then put the egshells in the mixer to get the “powder”. I got some kind of gruel, Klaus got a new sense of wonder and Dende mightily disapproved. Politely said, the stuff looked exactly the same way out like in. So I’m buying the stuff, too. In case of crumbling. You never know.

Leave a Comment

