The Promise of Global Warming…

No, no, no!! I was promised Global Warming! A globe that is warming is not supposed to have temperatures below zero and a blizzard! Why couldn’t we just have moseyed into the spring season with mild temperatures of around 15 degrees!? Sigh. And now I’m cold. Freezing to be precise. It’s been freezing cold the whole week, and this morning it even started snowing. Jarah was all excited, so I thought, what the hell, we’ll just go to the park. When I opened my car door to allow the dogs inside the car, I caused an avalanche of snow to fall onto my car seat. Shit. Now the inside of my car looks like a snow globe. At least until it’s thawing, after that I’ll probably be able to grow mushrooms. Anyway, while I attempted to remove the pile of snow from my seat, the friendly whirly snowflakes suddenly turned into a full force blizzard, which meant that there was now an interesting mixture of snow and hail been blown straight into my car. Great. This was totally useless. “Stupid country, stupid snow, crappy weather”, I muttered pissed.  I gave the snow an annoyed look (which made it instantly double its volume), and took my two astonished dogs back out of the car. New plan: we’ll just walk to the park that’s near our house. That will be much more relaxing. Of course I could have also just waited for the blizzard to calm down, but that would have been a sensible thing to do. Of all the things we’re known for, sensibility is definitely not one of them. So off we went. Yay! Jarah immediately spotted some kids experimenting on thin ice, and happily swirled herself towards them to say hi. Yikes! I could just picture Jarah being stuck underneath the ice, and me digging my way through the ice layer like a desperate Polar Bear in order to rescue my dog from drowning. Luckily Jarah is as light as a feather, and after she was done saying hi and chasing some birds, she happily swirled herself back on solid ground. Really, that dog is costing me at least 10 years of my life. And so we continued our relaxed walk. I was freezing my butt off, tears were running from my eyes, my hair was frozen, and I swear I saw a Yeti. Laika made at least a dozen snow angels, and Jarah made sure all the water birds had their daily exercise. It was super. Of course by now the blizzard has stopped. In fact it stopped about 15 minutes after we returned at home.  For a while it even looked like it was  thawing.  But I’m not getting my hopes up. Apparently that Global Warming thingy is very, very complicated stuff.

Nee, nee, nee!! Mij is het broeikaseffect beloofd! Een aarde die broeit hoort geen temperaturen beneden nul te hebben en een sneeuwstorm! Waarom konden we nou niet gewoon het lenteseizoen binnenslenteren, met milde temperaturen van rond de 15 graden?! Zucht. En nu heb ik het koud. IJskoud om precies te zijn. Het is de hele week al ijskoud en vanochtend begon het zelfs te sneeuwen. Jarah was enthousiast, dus ik dacht, waarom ook niet, we gaan gewoon naar het park. Toen ik mijn portier open deed om de honden in de auto te laten, veroorzaakte ik een kleine lawine waardoor er een enorme berg sneeuw op mijn stoel belandde. Shit. Nu ziet de binnenkant van mijn auto eruit als een sneeuwbol. In ieder geval totdat het gaat dooien, daarna kan ik waarschijnlijk champignons kweken. Maar goed, terwijl ik de sneeuw van de bestuurdersstoel af probeerde te kloppen veranderden de lieflijk dwarrellende sneeuwvlokjes in een ware sneeuwstorm. Dat betekende dat er nu een interessante mix van sneeuw en hagel rechtstreeks mijn auto binnen werd geblazen. Fijn. Dit was totaal nutteloos. “Stom land, stomme sneeuw, pokkeweer” mompelde ik pissig. Ik gaf de sneeuw een geïrriteerde blik (waardoor het zijn volume direct verdubbelde), en haalde mijn twee verwonderde honden terug uit de auto. Nieuw plan: we gaan gewoon naar het park dat vlakbij mijn huis ligt. Dat is veel meer relaxt. Natuurlijk had ik ook gewoon kunnen wachten totdat de sneeuwstorm voorbij was, maar dat zou verstandig zijn geweest. We staan om veel dingen bekend, maar verstandigheid hoort daar beslist niet bij.  En dus vertrokken we. Hoera! Jarah zag meteen een paar kinderen die op het dunne ijs aan het experimenteren waren, en zwierde zichzelf vrolijk hun kant op om even gedag te zeggen. Yikes! Ik zag het al helemaal voor me hoe Jarah onder het ijs vast zou zitten, en ik die dan als een wanhopige IJsbeer door het ijs heen moest hakken om mijn hondje te redden van verdrinking. Gelukkig is Jarah zo licht als een veertje, en nadat ze klaar was met begroeten en vogels jagen, zwierde ze zichzelf weer vrolijk terug op het vaste land. Echt, die hond kost me 10 jaar van mijn leven. En dus vervolgden we onze ontspannen wandeling. Ik was al snel compleet bevroren. Tranen biggelden over mijn wangen, mijn haar was bevroren, en ik zweer dat ik een yeti heb gezien. Laika heeft minstens een dozijn sneeuwengelen gemaakt, en Jarah heeft ervoor gezorgd dat de watervogels hun dagelijkse beweging hebben gehad. Het was super.  Natuurlijk is de sneeuwstorm inmiddels gestopt. Eigenlijk stopte het al ongeveer een kwartiertje nadat we thuis waren gekomen. Even leek het er zelfs even op dat het ging dooien. Maar ik durf nergens meer op te hopen. Blijkbaar is dat Broeikaseffect gedoe echt enorm ingewikkeld.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Promise of Global Warming…

  1. handvolldackel says:

    I’m all for global warming, too – for me, the cherry trees could start blossoming right after Christmas to saunter in a long spring with only light rains until June. For now, it’s the Siberian winter come over to play and I look like a Yeti.

Leave a Comment

