Tinkerbell got a new bag! Loves it!

“Have a great vacation! Don’t forget the doggy coats!” Yes, yes, yes, I know.. No matter how many lists I make, we always forget to pack something. Over the past years we’ve forgotten all sorts of things: cutlery,  tea towels, bath towels, food, shampoo, you name it, we’ve forgotten it. We’ve even forgotten the dog once, but that was when we went to pick him up at the in-laws after returning from a holiday in Greece. We had a lovely visit, packed all the doggy stuff in the car, and then drove off while leaving the dog behind on the pavement. Surely this time things would be totally different. For starters I had remembered to pack the doggy coats, and Miss Jarah kept total supervision over the whole packing process. She made sure we packed the correct toys and furry baskets, and when all was finally done she rolled herself up on top of our luggage as if to say: “Please don’t forget me?!”. Yeah, right. Like we would ever forget the dog *cough*. All in all, it really seemed like this time we were fully equipped and ready to go. Ok, it later turned out that we had forgotten the pillows and the under-sheets, but after so many years these kind of minor details really aren’t upsetting anymore. You just smile profoundly, buy a new set, and pretend it never happened. I even think that in a couple of years we probably won’t have to pack at all anymore. I’ll simply have an extra set of everything we need stacked up in my attic and ready to go. Anyway, during our search for new pillows and under-sheets I also found the most delicious doggy bag. Not that I needed one of course, as my husband Ebenezer Scrooge so helpfully pointed out, but the bag was just so deliciously cute I just couldn’t resist. In fact, I consider it meant to be. As soon as we got home Jarah and I enthusiastically explored the numerous possibilities of our cool new bag. I think it’s safe to conclude that the bag makes us look extremely sophisticated. We are ready to explore the world. Places to go, people to see.. It’s going to be amazing. Until then, the bag is neatly stored in my attic. Right next to our collection of doggy coats and our two other doggy bags. My husband says I’m slowly turning into Paris Hilton. I’m surprised it took him so long to notice. I’ve been calling Jarah Tinkerbell for months😉

“Fijne vakantie! Vergeet de hondenjasjes niet!” Ja, ja, ja, ik weet het.. Ongeacht hoeveel lijstjes ik maak, we vergeten altijd wel iets in te pakken. Gedurende de afgelopen jaren zijn we van alles vergeten: bestek, theedoeken, badhanddoeken, shampoo, noem alles wat je maar kunt bedenken en wij zijn het wel een keer vergeten. We zijn zelfs een keer de hond vergeten, maar dat was toen we hem gingen ophalen bij mijn schoonouders nadat we teruggekomen waren van een vakantie in Griekenland. We waren gezellig op bezoek geweest, gooiden alle hondenspullen in de auto, en reden vervolgens weg terwijl de hond nog op de stoep zat. Maar deze keer zou alles op zeker anders gaan. Om te beginnen had ik er al aan gedacht om de hondenjasjes mee te nemen, en Miss Jarah hield totale supervisie over het hele inpakproces. Ze controleerde of we alle juiste mandjes en speeltjes wel hadden ingepakt, en toen we klaar waren ging ze opgerold bovenop de bagage liggen alsof ze wilde zeggen:”Vergeet je mij niet?!” Tuurlijk. Alsof we de hond ooit zouden vergeten *kuch*.  Maar over het algemeen zag het er deze keer echt naar uit dat we met een volledige uitrusting konden vertrekken. Achteraf bleek nog wel dat we de kussens en de onderlakens waren vergeten, maar na zoveel jaar raak je van zo’n klein detail al niet eens meer van streek. Je glimlacht gewoon diepzinnig, koopt een nieuwe set, en doet alsof er niets gebeurd is. Ik denk zelfs dat we over een paar jaar helemaal niet meer in hoeven te pakken. Dan heb ik gewoon van alles wat we nodig hebben een extra set op zolder staan, klaar om zo mee te nemen. Maar goed, tijdens onze zoektocht naar kussens en onderlakens vond ik ook de meest zalige hondentas. Niet dat ik die nodig had uiteraard, zoals mijn echtgenoot Ebenezer Scrooge zo behulpzaam opmerkte, maar de tas was zo heerlijk schattig dat ik hem niet kon weerstaan. Ik denk eigenlijk dat het gewoon zo moest zijn. Zodra we thuis kwamen heb ik samen met Jarah enthousiast de ontelbare mogelijkheden van onze geweldige nieuwe tas verkend.  Ik denk dat we rustig kunnen concluderen dat we er met de tas extreem elegant uitzien. Klaar om de wereld te verkennen. Places to go, people to see.. Het wordt fantastisch. Tot die tijd staat de tas netjes op zolder. Vlak naast de collectie hondenjasjes en onze andere twee hondentassen. Mijn echtgenoot zegt dat ik langzaam in Paris Hilton aan het veranderen ben. Het verbaasd me dat ie dat nu pas in de gaten krijgt. Ik noem Jarah al maanden Tinkerbell😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

