The Puppy Protocol…

When you go out in public with a puppy you sort of cease to exist. People throw themselves cooing on top of the little ball of fur, and as the owner you’ll get completely ignored: “Oooh! Puppy!! Hello, hello, hello! You are so cute! I’m going to take you home with me! How old are you then? You must be very young! Oooh! You are so adorable!” I carefully try squeezing in a polite ‘hello’, but I might as well have said ‘peanut butter’. Or ‘apple tree’. They really wouldn’t have noticed. The illusion that the puppy only belongs to you is also quickly taken away. The puppy belongs to everybody, and it is selfish to deny complete strangers the opportunity to pick up the puppy and cuddle it. An old lady taught me that. For convenience sake I’ll call her ‘Old Bat’, she’s earned it. The Old Bat thought it was her right to pick up my puppy, despite my furious protests. One has to do that, she said resolute. Besides, she meant it lovingly. In the end I literally had to pull my puppy out of her arms. Totally ridiculous of course, I should have stuck to the Puppy Protocol. Ultimately the puppy belongs to everybody, and everybody is allowed to meddle with it. The other day I met a girl who told me my puppy was only allowed to walk for 12 minutes. She had assessed my personal situation with only one blink of an eye, and then just puked out some info, all for free. I hadn’t even asked for it! I think it’s amazing how people intuitively know what topics you wrestle with. My initial irritation quickly melted away when I suddenly realized that it was of course the puppy that had made me look somewhat dense. Everybody knows you must always tell puppy owners what to do because they don’t have a brain of their own. That’s also why you can just say anything you like: they don’t have any feelings. Just the other day I had a man telling me that he actually liked the traditional Dachshund color better. And then preferably in a rough-hair. He meant it in the sweetest way of course, he even said it with a warm smile. You must of course always keep in mind that people mean well. Meaning well is easily to be confused with rude behavior, but the difference is that you’re not allowed to respond to it in an annoyed manner. People find that insulting.  So you just let people waffle on, and remain completely Zen. Except with the Old Bat. I really let her have it. Because all nonsense aside, I can be very clear about one thing: You don’t pick up my puppy, that will make this kitty bite! To process all these well meant advices we often go to places where virtually no one is. Like to a deserted beach on a boring Tuesday morning.  You won’t find any smartasses there. They conflict with nature…

Als je je met een pup in het openbaar begeeft besta je eigenlijk niet meer. Mensen storten zich kirrend bovenop het vrolijke hoopje fluff, en als eigenaar wordt je volledig genegeerd: “Oooh! Puppy!! Hallo, hallo, hallo! Wat ben jij leuk! Jou neem ik neem naar huis hoor! Hoe oud ben jij? Ja, jij bent nog jong zeker? Wat ben jij een schatje!” Voorzichtig probeer ik er dan nog een beleefd ‘hallo’ tussen te persen, maar eigenlijk kan ik net zo goed ‘pindakaas’ zeggen. Of ‘appelboom’. Dat merken ze toch niet. Ook de illusie dat de pup van jou alleen is wordt je al snel ontnomen. De pup is van ons allemaal, en het is egoïstisch om wildvreemde mensen de kans te ontnemen om de pup even op te tillen en te knuffelen. Dat heb ik geleerd van een oude dame. Ik noem haar voor het gemak even “Ouwe Kraai”, dat heeft ze verdiend. De Ouwe Kraai vond dat het ondanks mijn woeste protesten haar recht was om mijn pupje op te tillen. Dat moest, zei ze resoluut. Bovendien bedoelde ze het liefdevol. Uiteindelijk moest ik mijn pupje letterlijk uit haar armen trekken. Totaal belachelijk natuurlijk, ik had me aan het Puppy Protocol moeten houden. De pup is tenslotte van ons allemaal en iedereen mag zich ermee bemoeien. Van de week kwam ik  een meisje tegen die tegen me zei dat mijn Teckelpup maar 12 minuten mag lopen. Ze had mijn persoonlijke situatie in één oogopslag geanalyseerd en kotste er gewoon wat info uit, helemaal gratis en voor niets. Ik had er niet eens om gevraagd! Het is gewoon verbazend hoe mensen intuïtief weten met welke vraagstukken je worstelt. Mijn aanvankelijke irritatie verdween direct als sneeuw voor de zon toen ik me opeens realiseerde dat ik er gewoon een ietwat dommig uitgezien moet hebben vanwege mijn pup. Iedereen weet dat je mensen met puppy’s altijd de les moet lezen omdat ze zelf geen hersens hebben. Daardoor kun je ook gewoon alles tegen ze zeggen, dat voelen ze toch niet. Zo zei een man van de week tegen me dat hij de traditionele Teckel kleur eigenlijk mooier vond. En dan het liefst in een ruwhaar.  Allerliefst bedoeld natuurlijk, hij zei het zelfs met een warme glimlach. Je moet natuurlijk altijd in gedachten houden dat mensen het goed bedoelen. Goed bedoeld is makkelijk te verwarren met onbeleefd gedrag, maar het verschil is dat je er niet geïrriteerd op mag reageren. Dat vinden mensen beledigend. En dus laat je iedereen maar een beetje aanleuteren en blijft volledig Zen. Behalve bij die Ouwe kraai. Die kreeg de volle laag. Want alle nonsens daargelaten, over één ding kan ik heel duidelijk zijn: Mijn puppy pak je niet op, want dan gaat dit katje bijten! Om alle goedbedoelde adviezen te kunnen verwerken zijn we dus regelmatig te vinden op plaatsen waar vrijwel niemand is. Zoals op een verlaten strand op een saaie dinsdagmorgen. Daar heb je geen wijsneuzen. Die kunnen niet tegen natuur…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Puppy Protocol…

  1. Katja Andriessen says:

    Je verhaal is heeeel herkenbaar! Zo’n pup zou bijna bang worden van al dat gegraai… Leuk filmpje aan het strand, die van ons moeten nog 2 weken wachten.

  2. handvolldackel says:

    I remember all the free advice I used to get when Dende was a puppy. Dear God.
    You could also use “yes, please, do pick her up, I think she just rolled in something, not sure what, dead rat or so, was pretty well decayed, but rubbed well into the fur”. It’s always so nice how well meaning people are. Fortunately, the dispensing of good intentioned advice stops after a year or so.
    I’ll keep the video on repeat today🙂 Soooo soothing.

Leave a Comment

