There’s a Rat in the Pasture, what am I gonna do?

Because Laika is so terribly furry I prefer to comb her outside. Sometimes in my garden, sometimes on a field somewhere. “The birds will use the hairs to build their nests”, said the nice lady with the three dogs, and she’s absolutely right about that. We provide all brooding birds of this area with nesting material, and that’s why all young birds smell like cheese. Just like Laika. Today I had brought a bag filled with combs on our evening walk. The Dachsies went along of course, and the husband was there for supervision. The lovely lady with the three dogs was babbling on about how I should be using a wool rake to comb Laika, and while we were chatting I noticed a tiny spotted monster hopping into a horse pasture from the corner of my eye. So much for supervision. “Shit”, I yell stressed out at my husband, “Penny got inside that horse pasture!” (Penny has a disturbing love affair with horse manure.) With an astonishingly sharp mind I assess the situation swiftly. The horse pasture was impossible to enter with his huge fence of gauze and electric wire, so on to plan B. “The fence is too high and has electric wire”, I yell at my husband, “You climb over it!!” My husband moves reluctantly towards the fence. “Penny, Penny, Penny”, he shouts. Jesus, that will get us nowhere. Annoyed I decide I need to throw something, and I look at the expensive doggy comb in my hand. Luckily I am just about able to restrain myself. The alternative is my bag filled with combs… Also not a good idea, although I’m sure the farmer will be pleasantly surprised in the morning. Powerless we watch Penny snuggle up to a fresh pile of horse manure and gobble up some dung. Calling her is futile of course, and the only entrance  to the pasture was across the farmyard a couple of hundred meters further ahead. Luckily my sharp mind is still racing at the speed of light, and I decide to just randomly throw some stones into the pasture. Even if it’s just to unload my frustration. Eventually I manage to almost hit Penny with a stone and that seems to do the trick. “Funny game mom, chasing stones!” Great. Like a proficient shot putter I throw some more stones into the pasture, and manage to lure Penny close enough to the fence. Then Penny realizes we cannot grab her and starts to cleverly avoid my hands like a tiny flea. ”Funny mom, can’t you get me?!” For a moment there I thought I would go insane. “It’s just a puppy” is grating through my mind. “Pesky little rat”, I mutter while I playfully try to lure Penny with a grass halm. Then Jarah decides to meddle and curiously sticks her head through the fence. “Funny mom, what a cute little field! Hi Penny!” On these moments you need to be mentally dynamic or you just won’t cut it. In the end I managed to grab hold of Penny, and were we able to pull her back through the fence. Extremely careful and restrained of course, you would not want to strangle the little angel or anything. I think it’s truly amazing how flexible the mind becomes when you have a Dachshund. It’s like Yoga, only far more advanced. Anyway, I’ve decided that for the time being I’m going to comb Laika in the garden. The idea just spontaneously came to me you know. Totally Zen.

Omdat Laika nogal harig is kam ik haar het liefste buiten. Soms in de tuin, soms ergens op een veldje. “Daar bouwen de vogels wel weer een nestje van” zei de aardige mevrouw met de 3 honden, en zo is het maar net. Wij voorzien alle broedende vogels van de streek van nestmateriaal, en daardoor ruiken alle jonge vogeltjes naar kaas. Net zoals Laika. Vandaag had ik een tasje kammetjes meegenomen op onze avondwandeling. Takkies ook mee uiteraard, en de echtgenoot was mee voor de supervisie. De aardige mevrouw met de 3 honden stond nog wat te kletsen over dat ik een wolharkje moest gebruiken om Laika te kammen, en terwijl ik met haar praat zie ik vanuit mijn ooghoek een klein gevlekt monstertje een paardenwei induiken. Tot zover dus de supervisie.“Shit”, roep ik gestrest tegen mijn echtgenoot, “Penny zit in de paardenwei!!” (Penny heeft een verontrustende  liefdesverhouding met paardenmest.) Met verbijsterend scherpe geest analyseer ik de situatie razendsnel. De paardenwei was met zijn enorme omheining van schapengaas en schrikdraad onmogelijk te betreden, dus hop naar plan B. “Het hek is te hoog en er staat stroom op!”, roep ik naar mijn echtgenoot, “Klim jij er even overheen!!” Aarzelend begeeft mijn echtgenoot zich richting het hek. “Penny, Penny,Penny!” roept hij. Jezus, dat schiet niet op. Geïrriteerd besluit ik dat ik iets moet gooien en ik kijk naar de dure hondenkam in mijn hand. Gelukkig kan ik mezelf nog net beheersen. Alternatief is mijn tas met kammen.. Ook geen goed plan, al zal de boer morgenochtend wellicht aangenaam verrast zijn. Machteloos kijken we toe hoe Penny verlekkerd aanschuift bij een verse hoop stront en vol goede moed begint te eten. Roepen heeft uiteraard geen zin, en de enige ingang naar de wei is via het erf van de boerderij een paar honderd meter verderop. Gelukkig draait mijn scherpe geest nog steeds op volle kracht, en ik besluit om gewoon in het wilde weg een paar stenen de wei in te smijten. Al is het alleen maar om mijn frustratie te uiten. Uiteindelijk lukt het me om Penny bijna te raken met een steen en dat lijkt te helpen. “Leuk spel mam, stenen jagen..” Mooi. Als een volleerd kogelstoter werp ik nog wat stenen de wei in en weet Penny dicht genoeg bij het hek te lokken. Dan krijgt Penny in de gaten dat we haar niet kunnen pakken, en begint als een kleine vlo behendig mijn handen te ontwijken. “Leuk mam, kan je er niet bij?!” Ik dacht even dat ik krankzinnig zou worden. “Het is maar een pup” knarst het door mijn hoofd. “Klotebeest”, mompel ik terwijl ik Penny speels met een grassprietje probeer te lokken. Dan komt Jarah zich ermee bemoeien en steekt geïnteresseerd haar hoofd door het gaas. “Leuk mam, wat een lollig veldje! Hoi Penny!”  Op zulke momenten moet je dynamisch van geest zijn want anders ga je het gewoon niet redden. Uiteindelijk heb ik Penny te pakken gekregen en konden we haar door het gaas heen terughalen. Uiterst voorzichtig en beheerst uiteraard, je wilt de kleine engel tenslotte niet wurgen of zoiets. Het is echt wonderlijk hoe flexibel van geest je wordt als je een Teckel hebt. Het is net Yoga, maar dan voor gevorderden. Maar goed, ik heb besloten dat ik Laika de komende tijd gewoon weer in de tuin kam. Het kwam gewoon heel spontaan bij me op weet je wel… Heel Zen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

