The Bully Protocol…

“O, don’t worry, he doesn’t do anything”, shouted the woman adept, while her 60 kilo Bullmastiff charged towards Penny at infernal speed. “See? We have a small dog as well”, she added, while proudly pointing out the living proof that was taking shelter underneath a park bench. While Penny tried her very hardest to stay brave and watched the giant come closer and closer, I explained to the woman that it can be rather scary for such a tiny dog to have a colossus  racing towards you. “Yes, but nothing will happen.”, the woman replied cheerfully, “Look, if he’s right in front of them he stops and misses them by a millimeter.” And sure enough, my little Penny is missed by a hair and quickly escapes underneath the park bench where she’s being attacked by the sheltering Pug. “That’s because they protect each other”, the woman explained proudly, “The little one is always very feisty and protective of the big one.” ?? Strangely enough it seemed like the provided subtitles didn’t quite match the picture, but then again I also could never have imagined that my tiny Dachshund puppy would pose any threat to a Bullmastiff, so it just goes to show how very wrong you can be as a dog owner. My request to please hold both dogs for a moment so my dogs and I could more easily walk away, delivered me a look filled with disbelief. She was obviously disappointed that I wasn’t completely convinced by her story. “Clearly a person who doesn’t know anything about dogs,”, you could hear her think, “and she even has a Shepherd…” Yes, unfortunately the owner of a small dog has very little credibility in doggy land. We are ignorant, overprotective, and downright annoying if we have the audacity to speak our mind. In fact, I have been told recently that we should be banned from the parks all together. We were passing a group of dogs, when suddenly a Labradoodle broke away from the group and started to chase Penny. Penny ran away in a total panic, screeching and screaming, and overturned a couple of times. Of course by now we know that as an owner of a small dog you really aren’t allowed to be too sensitive about these things, but this time I really felt the need to speak up. Stupid of course, because the owner was  terribly insulted when I screamed at her that things were going too rough for my little dog and that she should retain her dog. Everybody knows that you can never address a dog owner about their dog’s antisocial behavior, because that’s just not nice. The Bully Protocol states that as long as the other dog is having fun, you’re obliged to sacrifice your own dog’s mental stability. “He’s only playing you know”, the woman yelled back insulted, while undertaking a vague attempt to capture her raging dog. “He means well, he doesn’t do anything..”, and to illustrate her words her well meaning darling chased my frantically screaming puppy into some reeds. After I finally managed to save Penny from her pursuer I had an interesting exchange of words with miss Labradoodle. About the definition of “playing”. In the end I got the advice to from now on take my dogs for a walk elsewhere. At first I thought I was dealing with an imbecile, but on the other hand it must be really challenging to keep having to come up with good explanations for your dog’s misbehavior. Of course I have no intention whatsoever to “take my dogs for a walk elsewhere”. In fact, at that moment my usual state of Zen was exchainged for my inner Xena, ready to defend my Dachsies at all times. I can imagine that that’s going to annoy the hell out of some people these upcoming days…

“Hij doet niks hoor” riep de vrouw deskundig, terwijl haar 60 kilo Bullmastiff met een noodvaart op Penny afdaverde. “Kijk maar, wij hebben ook nog een kleintje erbij” voegde ze toe, terwijl ze trots naar het levende bewijs wees dat onder een bankje schuilde. Terwijl Penny uit alle macht probeerde dapper te blijven en de reus met lichtsnelheid steeds dichterbij zag komen, legde ik de vrouw uit dat het voor zo’n klein hondje best eng kan zijn als er zo’n colos keihard op je af komt daveren. “Ja, maar er gebeurd niks hoor.”, antwoordde ze opgewekt, “Kijk maar, als ie vlakbij ze is stopt ie zodat ie ze net niet raakt.” En inderdaad, mijn kleine Penny wordt op een haar na gemist en vlucht snel onder een bankje waar ze wordt gegrepen door de schuilende Mopshond. “Dat komt omdat ze elkaar in bescherming nemen.”, legde de vrouw trots uit, “Die kleine is altijd heel fel en probeert dan die grote te beschermen.” ?? Gek genoeg was het net alsof de geleverde ondertiteling niet helemaal klopte met het beeld, maar aan de andere kant had ik me ook nooit kunnen  voorstellen dat mijn kleine Teckelpup enige bedreiging zou vormen voor een Bullmastiff, dus maar zo zie je maar weer hoe je er soms volledig naast kunt zitten als hondeneigenaar. Mijn verzoek om de honden even vast te houden zodat mijn honden rustig door konden lopen leverde me een blik op vol ongeloof. Ze vond het duidelijk jammer dat ik niet geheel overtuigd was van haar verhaal. “Weer zo iemand die geen verstand heeft van honden,”, zag je haar denken, “en ze heeft nog wel een Herder…”  Ja, helaas wordt je als eigenaar van een kleine hond niet geheel voor vol aangezien in hondenland. We zijn onwetend, overbeschermend, en ronduit irritant als we de gore moed hebben om onze mening te geven. Mij is kortgeleden zelfs verteld dat we helemaal maar uit de parken verbannen zouden moeten worden. We passeerden een groepje honden, en een Labradoodle maakte zich van de groep los en begon achter Penny aan te jagen. Penny vluchtte in paniek al gillend en krijsend alle kanten op, en sloeg een paar keer over de kop. Natuurlijk weten we inmiddels weten we dat je als eigenaar van een klein hondje niet al te gevoelig mag zijn voor dat soort dingen, maar nu voelde ik me toch genoodzaakt om er iets van te zeggen. Stom natuurlijk, want de eigenaresse was vreselijk beledigd toen ik schreeuwde dat het te hard ging voor mijn kleine hondje en dat ze haar hond vast moest houden. Iedereen weet dat je een hondeneigenaar nooit mag aanspreken over het asociale gedrag van zijn hond, want dat is niet aardig. Volgens het Treiter Protocol ben je verplicht om de geestelijke stabiliteit van je hond op te offeren zolang de andere hond maar plezier heeft. “Het is maar spelen hoor”, riep de vrouw beledigd terug, terwijl ze een vage poging deed om  haar losgeslagen hond te vangen, “Hij bedoelt het goed, hij doet niks..”, en ter illustratie jaagde haar goedbedoelende lieveling mijn gillende hondje nog even het riet in. Nadat ik Penny eindelijk had gered van haar achtervolger had ik nog een interessante woordenwisseling met mevrouw Labradoodle. Over de definitie van “spelen”. Uiteindelijk kreeg ik het advies om voortaan maar ergens anders te gaan lopen met mijn honden. Ik dacht even dat ik hier met een imbeciel te maken had, maar aan de andere kant valt ook vast niet mee om steeds weer goede verklaringen te moeten verzinnen voor het wangedrag van je hond. Uiteraard ben ik absoluut niet van plan om “ergens anders te gaan lopen”. Sterker nog, op dat moment heb ik mijn gebruikelijke staat van Zen verruild voor mijn inner Xena, klaar om te allen tijde mijn Tekels te beschermen. Ik kan me voorstellen dat dat voor sommige mensen verdomd irritant gaat zijn de komende tijd…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bully Protocol…

  1. handvolldackel says:

    You forgot that as the owner of a small dog, you’re also always hysteric. It’s also amazing how many things happen when a dog “does nothing”. A brown Labrador around here always snarls and threatens Dende, but according to his owner (a dog trainer, go figure) he “does nothing” or “nothing happened, eh”. Strangely enough, Dende now shrieks and yells whenever we encounter brown Labradors.
    So I say: Go for you inner Xena! And get some discus throwing thingie! And maybe imaginary fleas!

Leave a Comment

