Stop Calling me Pen!

The Stabilo Worker is one of my favorite pens of all times. It writes smooth and quick and it’s perfect for writing illegible notes at warp speed. Of course I’m not the only one who loves my Little Orange Stabilo: Miss Penny had had her eye on it for quite some time. Today she finally succeeded. She had somehow gotten hold of my beloved pen while I was placing an order on the internet, and gnawed it to bits on Laika’s doggy bed. Result: A Dachshund with a mouth full of black ink and matching inky paws, a puddle of ink on Laika’s doggy bed, and traces of black ink on my floor and doors.  First thing on my mind: “O, my god, my beloved pen!” See how the mind immediately prioritizes? It’s fascinating. “Pen! My pen! Pen you broke my pen!”, I yelled at Penny. Penny looked at me as if I had gone totally insane: “What Pen, Pen, Pen, Pen ?!  I’m here aren’t I?!” Damn, I really should stop calling Penny Pen. No wonder she has an affinity with pens, it’s all my fault. I’ve caused an identity crisis and now I can’t freak out about my pen. Shit. Ok, staying Zen (not) I quickly checked out Penny’s mouth. It was still rather inky but it now fabulously matched the color of her coat. Not much we can do about that. Could the ink be poisonous? I looked at my ruined floor, doors, and doggy bed, and decided at that point that I really didn’t care. The little Pennymonster looked chipper enough, and had meanwhile started digging out some plants in my garden. Chances are she would survive. So with pain in my heart I threw out my pen. Yet another victim of the Dachshund terrorists in my house. It still wrote you know.. that’s how good they are, the Stabilo’s. And in the end the ink came off my floors and doors fairly easy. You know, with a bit of fierce scrubbing and all.. And the ink left no stains on Laika’s doggy bed after I washed it twice.. So all in all, I’m super happy. O, and last but not least, be it with mixed feelings, I can report: it did not kill the Dachshund😉

 

De Stabilo Worker is één van mijn favoriete pennen aller tijden. Hij schrijft soepel en snel, en is perfect voor het snel schrijven van onleesbare briefjes. Uiteraard ben ik niet de enige die dol is op mijn Kleine Oranje Stabilo: Miss Penny heeft er al een tijdje een oogje op. Vandaag had ze eindelijk succes. Op één of andere manier had ze mijn geliefde pen te pakken gekregen terwijl ik op het internet iets aan het bestellen was, en knaagde hem stuk op Laika’s hondenbed. Resultaat: Een Teckel met een mond vol met zwarte inkt en bijpassende inky voetjes, een plas inkt op Laika’s hondenbed, en sporen van zwarte inkt op mijn vloer en deuren. Eerste gedachte: “O mijn god, mijn geliefde pen!” Zie je hoe het brein onmiddellijk prioriteiten stelt? Het is fascinerend. ”Pen! Mijn pen! Pen je hebt mijn pen stukgemaakt!”, schreeuwde ik naar Penny. Penny keek me aan alsof ik totaal geschift was geworden: “Wat Pen, Pen, Pen, Pen?  Ik ben er toch?!” Verdomme, ik moet echt ophouden met Penny Pen te noemen. Geen wonder dat ze zo’n affiniteit met pennen heeft, het is allemaal mijn schuld. Ik heb een identiteitscrisis veroorzaakt en nu kan ik niet eens lekker flippen over mijn pen. Shit. Ok, volledig Zen (niet) heb ik vlug Penny’s mond nagekeken. Het was nog steeds vrij inky maar het paste nu wel fantastisch bij de kleur van haar vacht. Kunnen we weinig aan doen. Zou de inkt giftig zijn? Ik keek naar mijn verwoeste vloer, deur, en hondenbed, en besloot op dat moment dat me dat eigenlijk weinig interesseerde. Het kleine Pennymonster zag er kwiek genoeg uit, en was inmiddels begonnen met het uitgraven van wat planten in de tuin. Kans was groot dat ze het wel zou redden. Dus met pijn in mijn hart heb ik mijn geliefde pen weggegooid. Het zoveelste slachtoffer van de Teckelterroristen in mijn huis. Hij schreef nog weet je.. zo goed zijn ze dus, die Stabilo’s. En uiteindelijk kreeg ik de inkt nog best makkelijk van mijn vloer en deuren af. Je weet wel, met een beetje woest boenen en zo..  En de inkt liet geen vlekken achter op Laika’s hondenbed nadat ik het twee keer had gewassen.. Dus al met al ben ik echt super tevreden. O, en last but not least, zij het met gemengde gevoelens, kan ik vermelden: de Teckel heeft het overleefd😉

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

