The Annual Christmas Card Ludicrousy…

Cristmas card Ludicrousy©kraaloogje.wordpress.comFor my Christmas card 2012 I’ve brought the whole Christmas card concept to a whole new level. No more amateuristic pictures of the animals wearing a funny Santa hat. No. This year’s Christmas card is going  to be stylish and mature. I’ve decided to go with a Christmas classic: the dogs sitting in front of a decorated mantelpiece with a roaring open fire in the background. Now, as proud as I am of this original idea, I also realize that I might be missing an accessory or two to bring my plans to life. Like for instance a mantelpiece and a roaring open fire. No biggie, all I had to do is bring up the idea of having a cool wood burner installed, and it all went smoothly from there. There’s nothing wrong with false pretences, it’s the secret to a good marriage. So we bought the most adorable wood burner and had some workmen come over to drill some holes through my house. That may seem drastic, but we must keep in mind that it’s all for the greater good.  So after the waterfall in my living room dried up and all the dust had settled, it was only a matter of cleaning up and adding some finishing touches. Today we had the plasterer. Lovely man, brought his own radio, and because he’s returning tomorrow he left his whole outfit behind. T-shirt, shoes, and trousers. Luckily by now I’ve managed to block out the image of a half naked plasterer in my living room. Anyway, I think things are really coming along nicely. This weekend we’ll be doing some wallpapering, tiling, and all that kind of stuff. Which is also great for your relationship I might add. Nothing like some DIY to test the irritation boundaries.  So all in all I think I’m creating the perfect setting for the annual Christmas bliss. My card will be totally awesome!

VCristmas card Ludicrousy©kraaloogje.wordpress.com1oor mijn Kerstkaart 2012 heb ik het hele Kerstkaarten concept naar een heel nieuw niveau gebracht. Geen amateuristische foto’s meer van de dieren met een lollig Kerstmutsje op. Nee, de Kerstkaart van dit jaar wordt stijlvol en volwassen. Ik heb besloten om te gaan voor een Kerstklassieker: de honden zittend voor een gedecoreerde schouw met een brullend haardvuur op de achtergrond. Welnu, trots als ik ben op dit originele idee, realiseer ik me ook dat ik wellicht een accessoire of twee mis om dit plan tot leven te brengen. Zoals bijvoorbeeld een schouw en een brullend haardvuur. Geen probleem, ik hoefde alleen maar het idee te opperen om een coole houtkachel te installeren, en daarna ging de rest vanzelf. Er is niks mis met valse voorwendselen, dat is het geheim van een goed huwelijk. We hebben dus de meest snoezige houtkachel gekocht en er zijn wat werklui over de vloer geweest om gaten door het huis te boren. Het lijkt misschien wat drastisch, maar we moeten in gedachten houden dat het allemaal voor een hoger doel is. Nadat de waterval in mijn woonkamer was opgedroogd en alle stof was neergedaald, was het slechts een kwestie van opruimen en wat laatste afwerkingen. Vandaag hadden we de stukadoor.  Sympathieke man, nam zijn eigen radio mee, en omdat hij morgen nog terugkomt heeft hij zijn hele outfit achtergelaten.  T-shirt, schoenen, en broek. Gelukkig ben ik er inmiddels in geslaagd om het beeld van een halfnaakte stukadoor in mijn huiskamer uit mijn hoofd te krijgen. Anyway, ik denk dat we lekker opschieten. Dit weekend gaan we behangen, tegelen, en al dat soort dingen. Ook dat is trouwens goed voor je huwelijk. Er gaat niets boven wat kluswerk om de irritatiegrenzen te testen. Dus al met al denk ik dat ik de perfecte setting creëer voor de jaarlijkse Kerstzaligheid. Mijn kaart zal echt te gek worden!  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Annual Christmas Card Ludicrousy…

  1. handvolldackel says:

    Okay. What? He what?! And why is your washing machine in the living room? And it’s pink! Bright pink!
    Something completely different: My, did Penny turn out pretty🙂 Not that there was ever a moment when she wasn’t, but she’s all grown up pretty now. So adorable!

    • The waterfall came from the drill. They cool it with water and the hose had burst off the drilling machine. The water flooded the top floor (they drill from above) and made a lovely miniature Niagra Falls into my living room. It was awesome! (not)

      And yes. “He what?!”😉

  2. O, and thank you for the comment on Miss Penny🙂 She is simply delightful. So incredibly sweet. And pretty indeed😉

Leave a Comment

