Dachshunds do it Better!

©kraaloogje.wordpress.combetter1We met a cute puppy in the park today. A happy little critter, the Swiffer type. The owner informed me tensely that she already had the little creature fairly well under control. She had an almost tangible aura of calm, assertive energy hanging around her. Ready to immediately repress any form of rank order and dominance. Violently if necessary. Personally, I’m not at all concerned about rank order and dominance. My Dachsies never do what I want anyway. For myself I’ve decided that I am the leader, but actually that is one big joke. For form’s sake I do have some commands such as “move along”, “come here”, “hurry up”, “don’t do that”, but I might as well call out “banana” or “sofa bed”. While the brand new dog owner continued with sharing her doggy guidance wisdom, I watched with growing concern how the little puppy received a crash course in extreme digging techniques from my Dachsies. Worrisome, because just recently the ladies managed to drag an unsuspecting mole out from his hole. Since then we follow the course “Why it’s not funny to play games of Tug-o-War with freshly caught rodents”. Unfortunately the students are not really catching on. Meanwhile, the owner of the puppy had landed on the technical subjects. You know, the correct proportions between age, amount of exercise, and puppy kibble. Sigh. Time for me to pull out, if only to spare her the trauma of her puppy eating a freshly caught mole. But all of a sudden she was alert. “Say! Look at those adorable little feathers hanging from that brown Dachsie’s ears! She looks just like a cute little Indian!!” I smiled modestly. I thought it best not to tell her that just a few minutes ago those adorable little feathers were still attached to a pigeon. Until Jarah killed it. “Tell me, is a Dachshund really such a typical hunter? Because she looks so sweet, with those adorable little feathers…” I mumbled something inaudible, and my thoughts  strayed off to the numerous  little corpses I’ve concealed underneath the bushes over the past years. Moles, mice, birds.. It made me think of a documentary I once saw, in which they showed how Aboriginals were trying to catch a deer. Whenever they lost track of the animal, the hunter mentally placed himself into the spirit of the deer in order to see which way it had fled. I’d swear my Dachsies were watching their bungling with amusement. ”They’ll never catch anything like that mom, they’re doing it all wrong!” You see, the problem lies in the visualization part. Where the Aboriginal merely places himself into the animal to see which way it’s fleeing, the Dachshund only looks at the desired end goal: the animal stone dead, on his back, legs up. So make no mistake when you see a Dachshund relaxing lying flat on his back, because believe me they are not asleep, they are at one with their pray. “Are they really that disobedient?” Displeased I got snatched from my contemplations. Disobedient?!! “Noooo, not at all, it’s really not that bad”, I said hypocritically. “I use a special technique. A bit too complicated to explain” I added vaguely, and the woman looked a bit disillusioned. From the corner of my eye I oversaw the damage the dogs had done in the meantime. Penny had dug a huge hole, Jarah looked like a pig, and the puppy was ripping out clumps of grass from the ground like a lunatic. Great. That one has a new hobby, great for when he comes home. Time to scram before she realizes her puppy has learned a new trick. “Well, that was fun” I said cheerfully, while skittishly rounding up my Dachsies “but we have to go!” And I started to quickly move away from the crime scene. “Mine still has a lot to learn, you know!” I could still hear the women calling after me tensely, “But we’ve only been working on it for a couple of weeks..” A couple of weeks?! Pffff, amateur. Little does she know her puppy has just acquired a whole new set of skills. Only a Dachshund can turn a Swiffer into a nimble mole hunter within seconds. They simply do it better😉

©kraaloogje.wordpress.com better.1Vandaag kwamen we in het bos een leuk pupje tegen. Een vrolijk beestje, model Swiffer. De eigenaresse vertelde me gespannen dat ze het diertje al behoorlijk goed onder controle had. Ze had een bijna tastbaar aura van kalme, assertieve energie om zich heen hangen. Klaar om elke vorm van rangorde en dominantie direct de kop in te drukken. Desnoods met geweld. Persoonlijk maak ik me totaal geen zorgen over rangorde en dominantie. Mijn Teckels doen toch nooit wat ik wil. Voor mezelf heb ik besloten dat ik de leider ben, maar eigenlijk is dat één grote grap. Voor de vorm heb ik wel wat commando’s zoals “doorlopen”, “kom hier”, “opschieten”, “niet doen”, maar eigenlijk kan ik net zo goed “banaan” roepen, of “hemelbed”.  Terwijl de kersverse hondeneigenaresse nog even doorging met het delen van opvoedkundige wijsheden, keek ik bezorgd toe hoe het pupje van mijn Teckels een spoedcursus in extreme graaftechnieken kreeg. Zorgelijk, want kortgeleden wisten de dames nog een nietsvermoedende mol uit zijn hol te sleuren. Sindsdien doen we de cursus “Waarom het niet grappig is om trekspelletjes met versgevangen knaagdieren te doen”. Hij slaat nog niet echt lekker aan bij de deelnemers. Inmiddels was de eigenaresse van de pup aangeland bij het technische gedeelte. Je weet wel, de juiste verhoudingen tussen leeftijd, mate van beweging, en puppybrok. Zucht. Tijd om af te haken, al was het alleen maar om haar het trauma te besparen van haar puppy die een versgevangen mol opeet. Maar opeens was ze alert. “Zeg! Wat heeft die bruine Teckel een beeldige veertjes in haar oren hangen! Het is net een snoezig klein Indiaantje!” Ik glimlachte bescheiden. Het leek me beter om maar niet te zeggen dat die beeldige veertjes net nog vastzaten aan een duif. Totdat Jarah hem vermoordde. “Zeg, zijn het nu echt van die jachthondjes die Teckels? Want ze ziet er zo schattig uit, met die beeldige veertjes…” Ik mompelde iets onverstaanbaars, en mijn gedachten dwaalden af naar de talloze lijkjes die ik in de afgelopen jaren heb weggemoffeld onder de struiken. Mollen, muizen, vogels…  Ik moest eraan denken dat ik laatst in een documentaire zag hoe Aboriginals probeerden een hert te vangen. Als ze het spoor kwijt waren verplaatste de jager zich mentaal in de geest van het hert, om zo te bepalen welke kant het dier was opgevlucht. Ik zou zweren dat de Teckels geamuseerd meekeken met hun gestuntel. “Zo vang je toch nooit iets mam, ze doen het helemaal verkeerd!” Het probleem zit hem namelijk in de visualisatie. Daar waar de Aboriginal zich slechts in het dier verplaatst om te kijken waar het naartoe vlucht, kijkt de Teckel alleen naar het beoogde einddoel: het diertje morsdood, op zijn rug, pootjes omhoog. Vergis je daarom niet als je een Teckel ontspannen op zijn rug ziet liggen, want geloof me, ze slapen niet, ze zijn één met hun prooi. ”Zijn ze echt zo ongehoorzaam?” Verstoord werd ik weggerukt uit mijn overpeinzingen. Ongehoorzaam?!! “Neeeee helemaal niet, dat valt best mee hoor”, zei ik schijnheilig. “Ik heb er een speciale techniek voor. Een beetje te ingewikkeld om zo uit te leggen” voegde ik er vaag aan toe, en de vrouw keek een beetje beteuterd. Vanuit mijn ooghoek overzag ik de ravage die de honden inmiddels hadden aangericht. Penny had een enorm gat gegraven, Jarah zag eruit als een varken, en de pup rukte als een bezetene de pollen gras uit de grond. Fijn. Die heeft een nieuwe hobby, leuk voor thuis. Tijd om op te krassen voordat ze doorkrijgt dat haar puppy een nieuw kunstje heeft geleerd. “Nou, het was gezellig” zei ik monter terwijl ik schichtig mijn Teckels bij elkaar dreef “maar we moeten door!” en ik begon snel het plaats delict achter me te laten. “Die van mij moet nog veel leren hoor!” hoorde ik de vrouw me nog gespannen achterna roepen, “Maar we  zijn nog maar een paar weken bezig…” Een paar weken?! Pffff,  amateur. Wat ze nog niet weet is dat haar puppy zojuist een complete set nieuwe vaardigheden heeft opgedaan. Alleen een Teckel kan in een paar seconden van een Swiffer een flitsende mollenjager maken. Ze doen het gewoon beter😉

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dachshunds do it Better!

  1. Awww, aren’t they adorable, they look so harmless😉 And of course, brand new puppy owners are also adorable, what with their tomes of knowledge about the kibble and the wolves and the things the wolf mother would do to suppress a puppy. And so on.
    We met a guy today who had rescued two beautiful dachsies from a “breeder” in Romania, lucky for them he has a gift, as he readily confessed, although he fears that one of the dogs is a bit dominant because she’s not into giving up her bone.
    I like the “being one with their prey” theory, it does make a lot of sense🙂

  2. Yes, they look like two innocent little angels🙂 To be honest, I don’t condone the hunting they do, I really don’t like it. So now that Penny is more mature, I am a bit more strict about it, but sometimes they are just so darn fast. I actually never saw the pigeon, it was on the ground in high grass. Which is probably also why it could not get away.

    Anyway, some day they will teach Sir Dende the tricks of the trade😉

Leave a Comment

