Wanted Down Under?

bollenveld 1The other day I heard on the radio that somebody in Australia had unsuccessfully attempted to suck a cockroach out of his ear by using a vacuum cleaner. It just goes to show how incredibly small the world is nowadays. The idea that I, here in Holland, can simply sit in my car and receive the news that someone in Australia used a vacuum cleaner to try and suck a cockroach out of his ear, I find truly astonishing. So does it also work the other way around I wonder? Because my mother once tried using a vacuum cleaner to suck a cutip out of her ear. That also didn’t work. Something like that could of course easily have been a huge Australian news item back then, who knows. So because it never hurts to push your boundaries, I’m now seriously considering contacting an Australian news network. Just to see how newsworthy we really are. Surely my Dachsies are able to deliver the people Down Under some astonishing adventures, right? For instance, Penny had been rolling around on a dead bird today and managed to decorate herself with bird intestines. They were entangled in her long hair and stretched tightly across her head from ear to ear. Like a little crown. Proud as a peacock she was.. Now, as you can imagine, something like that can of course produce some priceless footage. If I add that I eventually had to rip the intestines apart, causing the content to slowly trickle down her head, you really get a fantastic story. One that would truly exceed the level of the cockroach and the cutip. The only thing I still need to work on is a typical Dutch setting. A snazzy Tulip field or a trendy windmill.. a cheese market… Perhaps I need to wear some wooden shoes.. But once we’ve got all that covered I’m sure we’ll be a huge success!  Australia, here we come!

bollenveld 2Van de week hoorde ik op de radio dat het iemand in Australië niet is gelukt om met een stofzuiger een kakkerlak uit zijn oor te zuigen. Zo zie je maar weer hoe klein de wereld eigenlijk is tegenwoordig. Het idee dat ik, hier in Nederland, gewoon in mijn auto kan zitten en dan het nieuws kan ontvangen dat iemand in Australië heeft geprobeerd om met een stofzuiger een kakkerlak uit zijn oor te zuigen vind ik echt verbijsterend. En dan vraag ik me af, kan het ook andersom? Want mijn moeder heeft ooit eens geprobeerd om met een stofzuiger een wattip uit haar oor te zuigen. Dat lukte ook niet. Zoiets kan natuurlijk makkelijk een gigantisch Australisch nieuwsitem geweest zijn destijds, je weet het niet. Omdat het sowieso nooit kwaad kan om je grenzen te verleggen overweeg ik dus nu om eens contact op te nemen met een Australische nieuwszender. Gewoon om eens te kijken hoe nieuwswaardig we nu eigenlijk zijn. Ik weet namelijk zeker dat mijn Teckels in staat zijn om de mensen Down Under te verblijden met hun verbijsterende avonturen. Penny had bijvoorbeeld vandaag in een dooie vogel liggen rollen en had daarbij kans gezien om zichzelf te behangen met ingewanden. Ze waren verstrikt geraakt in haar lange haren en zaten strak over haar hoofd van oor naar oor over haar hoofd gespannen. Als een kroontje. En blij dat ze er mee was..  Zoiets kan natuurlijk kostelijk beeldmateriaal opleveren dat begrijp je. Als ik er dan nog bij vertel dat ik de ingewanden uiteindelijk aan stukken heb moeten scheuren om ze los te krijgen, waardoor de inhoud langzaam over Penny’s hoofd sijpelde, heb je echt een te gek verhaal. Ik denk echt dat we daarmee het niveau van de kakkerlak en de wattip ver overstijgen. Ik moet alleen nog zorgen voor een typisch Hollandse setting. Een kittig bollenveld of een stoere molen.. een kaasmarkt.. Misschien moet ik een paar klompen aan.. Maar als we alles voor elkaar hebben worden we vast een enorm succes! Australia here we come! 

kaasmarkt

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

