It’s all Optional…

©kraaloogje.wordpress.com (2)I had been walking my Dachsies in the park the other day and when I returned to my car there were some people and their dogs walking across the parking lot. In theory nothing out of the ordinary, until I heard a woman in the group say “…so when you see one of those dogs that keeps jumping in-and-out of the car that is a good thing. The dog is allowed to get into the car but it’s not a must. It is optional.” O my god it’s a genuine dogwhisperer!! Totally authentic, accompanied by two baffled dog owners and matching confused four-legged friends! The whisperer herself had a calm and assertive energy, Dubarry boots, and one of those colorless vests with lots of pockets. That’s how you recognize the real expert. The more pockets, the more they know. Serene and confident the whisperer walked up-and-down the parking lot while instructing her followers. “So, it is extremely important that we allow the dog to decide for himself. Nothing is a must it’s a may. We are there to offer the possibilities, but in the end it’s important to give the dog the freedom to decide for himself. Thereto we give him as many options as we can. Therefore everything is OPTIONAL.” My goodness… That sounded so illogical and intellectual! I could not make sense of any of that at all, how cool! Because I did not want to miss the rest of this lesson I quickly pretended I needed to dry off my dogs before putting them in the car. For that I first had to go get them out of the bushes, because if I give my dogs the “option” whether or not to get into the car the choice will quickly fall on “well no, you can just wait ‘till we’re done”. In the meantime the whisperer had arrived at her car, and while chattering on about options and possibilities she hoisted a dog ramp out of the trunk of her car. The Dachsies and I watched breathlessly how the two dogs were led towards the doggy ramp. (With extreme caution of course, you don’t want to force anything.) You could hear a pin drop, it was super exciting.. One of the dogs attentively sniffed the doggy ramp. “YESSSSS! Look, THAT’s what we’re going for!” rejoiced the whisperer. “The dog is showing that he is open to the option of stepping onto the ramp, this is awesome!” The dog looked a bit startled and looked up to his owner for help. Unfortunately he was rather dumbstruck. “Look, this is exactly what I mean,” the whisperer continued enthusiastically, “the dog is allowed to step onto the ramp, but it’s not a must! We want him to think about his options while we give the him the liberty to decide for himself.” It was like watching Yoda. Even my Dachsies were fascinated. “Neat mom, options. Can we get them as well?” Unfortunately by then I had ran out of reasons to hang around and listen a bit longer, but I did leave with a couple of question marks. What about the options of the dog owner I wondered. Suppose you really want to get home that same day. Do you then leave your dog behind in the parking lot? Do you give him the option to chase the car home? What?? I almost felt the same bewilderment as those dog owners appeared to be. Perhaps it’s one of those highly advanced methods that nobody understands. That’s possible of course. So on my way home I gave it some thought, and on itself the whole concept would go perfectly with my balanced Zen-like personality. All I need to do is stay calm, offer options and simply let the little angels frolic around happily. Simple. It actually would not require that many adjustments at all. So if anyone should miss me over the next couple of days, it’s most likely that I am standing in some remote field somewhere, all calm, assertive, and in a state of enlightenment, waiting for my Dachsies to decide for themselves when it’s time to go home. It will be the ultimate Zen training. Awesome. I’ll let you know how that goes.

©kraaloogje.wordpress.comVan de week was ik met de Teckels in het bos geweest en toen ik bij mijn auto terugkwam liepen er wat mensen met hun honden over de parkeerplaats. Op zich niks bijzonders, totdat ik opeens een vrouw in het gezelschap hoorde zeggen “…dus als je wel eens van die honden ziet die steeds in-en-uit de auto springen is dat juist heel goed. De hond mag de auto in maar het moet niet. Het is optioneel.” O mijn god, het is een echte hondenfluisteraar!! Helemaal authentiek, vergezeld door twee verbijsterde hondeneigenaren met bijbehorende verwarde viervoeters! De fluisteraar zelf had een kalme en assertieve uitstraling, Dubarry laarzen en zo’n kleurloos vestje met heel veel zakjes. Daar herken je de kenner aan. Hoe meer zakjes, hoe meer ze weten. Sereen en zelfverzekerd liep ze heen en weer over de parkeerplaats terwijl ze haar volgelingen doceerde. “Kijk, het is uiterst belangrijk dat we de hond zelf laten beslissen. Niets moet, het mag. Wij zijn er om de hond de mogelijkheid te bieden, maar uiteindelijk is het belangrijk om de hond zelf de vrijheid te geven voor zijn beslissing. Daarbij geven we hem zoveel mogelijk opties. Alles is dus OPTIONEEL.” Mijn hemel.. Dat klonk zo onlogisch en intellectueel! Ik begreep er helemaal niets van, wat gaaf! Omdat ik niks van de les wilde missen deed ik snel alsof ik mijn hondjes moest afdrogen voordat ik ze in de auto deed. Daarvoor moest ik ze wel eerst uit de bosjes gaan halen, want als ik mijn honden de “optie” geef of ze wel of niet in de auto gaan zal de keuze al snel vallen op “nou nee, je wacht maar even tot we klaar zijn”. Inmiddels was de fluisteraar aangekomen bij haar eigen auto, en al kakelend over opties en beslissingen takelde ze een hondenloopplank uit haar achterbak. Ademloos keek ik samen met de Teckels toe hoe de twee honden naar de loopplank geleid werden. (Uiterst voorzichtig uiteraard, je wil tenslotte niets forceren.) Je kon een speld horen vallen, het was superspannend. Eén van de honden snuffelde geïnteresseerd aan de loopplank. “JAAA! Kijk dat is nou waar we naartoe willen!” jubelde de fluisteraar. “De hond laat zien dat hij open staat voor de optie om de plank te betreden, dit is geweldig!” De hond keek geschrokken op naar zijn baas. Helaas was die met stomheid geslagen. “Kijk, dit is nou precies wat ik bedoel,” vervolgde de fluisteraar enthousiast, “de hond mag de loopplank betreden, maar het moet niet! We willen dat ie nadenkt over zijn opties terwijl wij hem de vrijheid geven om zelf te beslissen.” Het was net Yoda. Zelfs mijn Teckels waren gefascineerd. “Leuk mam, opties. Krijgen wij dat ook?” Helaas had ik inmiddels geen reden meer om nog langer te blijven luisteren, maar ik ben wel met wat vraagtekens weggegaan. Hoe zou het zitten met de opties van de eigenaar vroeg ik me af. Stel je wil graag diezelfde dag nog naar huis. Laat je je hond dan achter op de parkeerplaats? Geef je hem de optie om achter de auto aan te rennen naar huis? Wat?? Ik voelde me bijna net zo verbijsterd als de eigenaren eruit zagen. Misschien is het zo’n geavanceerde methode die niemand begrijpt. Dat kan natuurlijk. Onderweg naar huis heb ik dus even nagedacht, en op zich past het hele concept wel perfect bij mijn uitgebalanceerde Zen-achtige persoonlijkheid. Ik hoef alleen maar kalm te blijven, opties aan te bieden en de kleine engeltjes gewoon lekker aan laten darren. Simpel. Daarvoor hoef ik eigenlijk niet eens zo veel aan te passen. Als jullie me dus een paar dagen kwijt zijn zou het zomaar kunnen dat ik ergens in een verlaten weiland kalm, assertief, doch in verlichte staat sta te wachten totdat de Teckels uit zichzelf hebben besloten dat het tijd is om naar huis te gaan. Het zal de ultieme Zen training worden. Gaaf. Ik laat je weten hoe het gegaan is..

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

