Dachshund on Ice …

Teckelbeeldjerteckelbeeldjer1While on the hunt for a Dachshund-themed pressie I ended up on Etsy, an online marketplace where people from around the world can sell and buy unique goods. On Etsy I found this Russian glassblower named Pavel who makes the most adorable little animal  figurines. It immediately sparked my “must have” modus, or as I later clearly explained to my husband: there’s really no point of ordering a pressie all the way from St. Petersburg if you don’t also get something totally adorable for yourself. Not even when you later need to re-order that one figurine that got slightly damaged because you dropped it. By now I have quite the hand blown Dachshund collection, it’s totally awesome. I fact, I’m already starting to feel obliged to adopt every Dachshund figurine that’s out there. Anyway, because I’ve ordered several Dachshund items, the Etsy no-reply-mail now keeps sending me newsletters filled with the most adorable Dachshund stuff. Also, I just happened to know that the Etsy search engine delivers over 16.000 results when you type in “Dachshund”.  Of course my need for Dachshund items has been rather discouraged saturated by now, but there’s no harm in looking, right? Which is how I landed on Miss Mary’s online shop. She sells patterns for those high-tech sewing machines. The kind that can embroider patterns, or names, and can probably speak on command. Like Kitt from the Knight Rider. Her Dachshund item was a picture of an embroidered Dachshund, but not just any old Dachshund. No.. It was a Dachshund on ice skates. ICE SKATES!!  Why on earth did I not think of this myself?! My little grey cells were immediately intrigued..

..How adorable would my Dachshunds look on tiny ice skates…

..I wonder how expensive it would be to have some Dachshund ice skates custom-made…

..Is there actually such a thing as a Dachshund ice skate factory, because if not it’s a gap in the market…

..I wonder if the Russian Pavel would blow me some ice skating Dachshund figurines…  etc.

For short: the idea is simply quite brilliant!! Luckily I still have 10 months till Christmas to figure out how to get my Dachsies on skates, but not to worry! We’ll get there in time for my famous annual Christmas card!! Oh yes we can..!!! Meanwhile, for all you high-tech sewing bees, here’s the little gem for ya! Click on the pic to visit the shop.  Good luck!!

image1(1) - kopie

TeckelbeeldjebrTeckelbeeldjebr1Terwijl ik op jacht was naar een Teckelcadeautje kwam ik op Etsy terecht, een online marktplaats waar mensen van over de hele wereld hun unieke spullen kunnen kopen en verkopen. Op Etsy vond ik een Russische glasblazer genaamd Pavel die de meest schattige kleine dierenbeeldjes maakt. Het prikkelde onmiddellijk mijn “must have”modus, of zoals ik later duidelijk aan mijn echtgenoot heb uitgelegd: het heeft werkelijk geen zin om een cadeautje helemaal uit St Petersburg te bestellen als je niet ook iets beeldigs voor jezelf neemt. Zelfs niet als je later dat ene beeldje opnieuw moet bestellen omdat het licht beschadigd is doordat je het uit je handen hebt laten vallen. Ik heb inmiddels al een behoorlijke handgeblazen Teckelcollectie, het is echt super. Ik begin me zelfs al verplicht te voelen om elk Teckelfiguurtje dat ik tegenkom te adopteren. Anyway, omdat ik al een behoorlijk aantal Teckel gerelateerde items heb besteld stuurt de Etsy no-reply mail me nu steeds nieuwsbrieven vol met de meest beeldige Teckelspullen. Bovendien weet ik toevallig dat de Etsy zoekmachine meer dan 16.000 resultaten oplevert als je “Dachshund” intikt. Natuurlijk is mijn behoefte aan Teckelspullen inmiddels behoorlijk ontmoedigd verzadigd, maar het kan nooit kwaad om gewoon even te kijken nietwaar? Zodoende kwam ik terecht in de shop van Miss Mary. Ze verkoopt patronen voor van die high-tech naaimachines. Het soort dat patroontjes kan borduren, of namen, en waarschijnlijk spreekt op commando. Zoals Kitt van de Knight Rider. Haar Teckel item was een afbeelding van een geborduurde Teckel, maar niet zomaar een Teckel. Nee.. Het was een Teckel op schaatsjes. SCHAATSJES!! Waarom heb ik daar in hemelsnaam nooit zelf aan gedacht?! Mijn kleine grijze cellen waren direct geïntrigeerd..

..Hoe beeldig zouden mijn Teckels zijn op piepkleine schaatsjes…

..Hoe duur zou het zijn om Teckelschaatsjes speciaal te laten maken…

..Bestaat er eigenlijk wel zoiets als een Teckelschaatsjesfabriek want anders is het een gat in de markt…

..Ik vraag me af of de Russische Pavel wat schaatsende Teckelfiguurtjes voor me zou willen blazen…  etc.

Kortom, het idee is gewoonweg briljant!! Gelukkig heb ik nog 10 maanden tot Kerstmis om uit te vogelen hoe ik mijn Teckels op schaatsjes kan krijgen, maar geen zorgen! Het gaat ons op tijd lukken voor mijn beroemde jaarlijkse Kerstkaart!! Oh yes we can…!!! Ondertussen, voor alle technische naaitalenten onder jullie is hier het kleine juweeltje! Klik op de foto om de shop te bezoeken. Succes!!

image1(1) - kopie

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

