It’s Textbook Dog Whispering…

DSCN1705This year it’s been a long, warm, summer, and right at the beginning of the season I decided it was time for a change. I’m fairly sure that any normal person is able to sit in the garden without having to pull out two extra garden chairs for his/her Dachshunds, so why not me. Normal. That’s what we’re going for. Ignore the sit-stare is my mantra, obduracy is my radiance, and in the end victory would be mine. It’s textbook dog whispering. Of course we can only introduce such a major change with the help of some new accessories, so off we went to the garden centre to look for some doggy beds that were suitable to use in the garden. The hubby quickly discovered there were some pretty ones on sale, which immediately triggered his inner Scrooge:

He:“Look how cheap they are!”

Me:“Great, we need two…”

He:“TWO?!! But these beds are HUGE”

Me:“Perhaps four would be better you think..?? Two for inside, two for outside…Or perhaps two extra as a backup, I mean they are really incredibly cheap..”

He:“FOUR??!!! You do know how tiny these dogs are yes…? They can easily squeeze together and fit onto one bed!”

And then a tirade followed about how we’re not going to fill up the whole house with doggy beds, and how could two small dogs possibly need so much crap, and how we now have even more junk in the house than when we had four cats and Laika, and so on. Really, men have no vision whatsoever. In the end of course we compromised. We bought only one doggy bed. Then the dogs fought about who could sleep on it, so the next day I had to buy a second doggy bed. Then a couple of weeks later I mentioned how lovely the pink ones would look in my living room, so we decided to buy two more. I’ve mentioned it before, manipulation is the secret of a good marriage. Besides, it turned out that the adorable IKEA children’s canopy we bought to use as a doggy parasol did not provide enough shade and had to be returned. Converted it saved us more than half a doggy bed and that made Mr. Scrooge very happy. Really, I would do great as a Greek accountant. Anyway, the dogs were extremely happy with their new doggy beds and the plan was that I would finally be able to relax and drink my morning tea in the garden without it looking like I had two imaginary friends visiting. The next morning I enthusiastically placed the new doggy beds in the garden. “Oooooh Look?!” I cooed happily “Such goooooorgeous doggy beds!!” and in the meantime I proudly installed my own solo chair and trotted inside to get my tea. When I stepped back into the garden my chair was taken. And it “sleeps”. The other one is looking at me in a panic because there aren’t enough chairs. Shit. “Well, I’m sure as hell am not going to sit on those damned doggy beds”, I mumbled annoyed while I placed two astonished Dachshunds onto the doggy beds. “See? Comfy doggy beds! Yippee! How gorgeous!!” Ignoring the sit stare… Ignoring the squeals… Go away.. Happy thoughts.. Happy thoughts.. Remaining completely Zen.. In these situations it’s of course incredibly important not to give in to the pressure or you’ll lose all credibility. Dachshunds learn that at a very young age, probably at birth. So it did not take long until I pulled out two extra garden chairs. Just to be able to relax for a bit. Luckily I was so extremely determined, or else I wouldn’t have been able to keep up this pattern for all these months. By now we’re nearing the end of the summer, and I can proudly report that I managed to bring the amount of chairs down from three to merely two. The Daily Mail reports that putting your legs up is an excellent way to keep your legs in good condition, so that’s what I’ll gladly comply with. I’m not quite sure how that health benefit is affected when the legs get squashed by two Dachshunds, but as soon as I can’t feel my feet anymore I’m taking them off the chair. The legs of course, not the Dachshunds. We wouldn’t want to traumatize the little angels by disturbing their REM sleep. On the ground next to my chairs lie two abandoned doggy beds. I must say, they are looking more and more appealing. Especially when the ladies decide they both want to sit where I sit and squeeze themselves between me and my chair. It’s really quite uncomfortable. Of course there’s really no point in forcing a breakthrough in this whole chair-doggy bed matter. After all, the summer is practically over. We’ll use the whole fall/winter season for a thorough evaluation and then resume with fresh enthusiasm in the summer of 2016. This will be.. as they say…..continued…

DSCN1706Het was dit jaar een lange, warme, zomer, en helemaal aan het begin van het seizoen besloot ik dat het tijd was voor een verandering. Ik weet vrijwel zeker dat ieder normaal persoon in staat is om in de tuin te zitten zonder twee extra tuinstoelen voor zijn/haar Teckels neer te zetten, dus waarom ik niet. Normaal. Daar gaan we voor. Negeer de zit-staar is mijn mantra, vastberadenheid is mijn uitstraling, en uiteindelijk zou ik de overwinnaar zijn. Het is tekstboek hondenfluisteren. Uiteraard kunnen we zo’n enorme verandering alleen doorvoeren met behulp van wat nieuwe accessoires, en dus gingen we naar het tuincentrum voor hondenkussens die geschikt waren voor in de tuin. De echtgenoot ontdekte al snel dat er wat leuke in de aanbieding waren en dat triggerde onmiddellijk zijn inner Scrooge:

Hij:”Kijk eens hoe goedkoop ze zijn!”

Ik:”Perfect, we moeten er twee..”

Hij:”TWEE?!!”

Ik:”Zou vier anders beter zijn denk je..?? Twee voor binnen, twee voor buiten… Of misschien twee extra als reserve, ze zijn tenslotte zo onwijs goedkoop..”

Hij:”VIER??!!! Weet je wel hoe klein die hondjes zijn..? Ze kunnen makkelijk samen op één kussen liggen!”

En daarna volgde een hele tirade over hoe we niet het hele huis gaan vullen met hondenkussens, en hoe kunnen twee van die kleine hondjes nou in vredesnaam zoveel troep nodig hebben, en hoe we nu zelfs meer zooi in huis hebben dan toen we nog vier katten hadden en Laika, enzovoort. Werkelijk, mannen hebben gewoon geen visie. Uiteindelijk hebben we natuurlijk een compromis gesloten. We hebben maar één hondenkussen gekocht. Toen kregen de honden ruzie over wie er op mocht slapen, dus moest ik de volgende dag nog een tweede hondenkussen kopen. Toen heb ik een paar weken later laten vallen hoe beeldig ze in de woonkamer zouden staan in het roze, dus besloten we om er nog twee te kopen. Ik heb het al eerder gezegd; manipulatie is het geheim van een goed huwelijk. Trouwens, het bleek dat de snoezige IKEA kinderhemel die we gekocht hadden om als hondenparasol te gebruiken niet voldoende schaduw bood en geretourneerd moest worden. Omgerekend bespaarde het ons meer dan de helft van een hondenkussen en dat maakte Mr. Scrooge erg gelukkig. Echt, ik zou zo een Griekse accountant kunnen zijn. Maar goed, de honden waren erg gelukkig met hun nieuwe hondenkussen en het plan was dat ik eindelijk ’s ochtends rustig mijn thee kon drinken in de tuin zonder dat het leek alsof ik twee denkbeeldige vriendjes op visite had. Enthousiast legde ik de volgende ochtend de nieuwe hondenkussens in de tuin. “Ooooooh kijk eens?!” kirde ik blij “Wat een zaaaaalige kussens!!” en ondertussen installeerde ik trots mijn eigen solo stoel waarna ik naar binnen draafde om mijn thee te halen. Toen ik terug kwam was mijn stoel bezet. En het “slaapt”. De ander zit me in paniek aan te kijken want er staan te weinig stoelen. Shit. “Als jullie maar niet denken dat ik op die verdomde hondenkussens ga zitten” mompelde ik geïrriteerd terwijl ik twee verbijsterde Teckels op de hondenkussens zette. “Zie je? Comfy hondenkussens! Joepie! Wat zalig!!” Negeer de zit staar… Negeer het gepiep… Ga weg… Blije gedachten… Blije gedachten… Ik blijf volledig Zen.. In deze situaties is het natuurlijk ontzettend belangrijk dat je niet toegeeft aan de druk want anders verlies je al je geloofwaardigheid. Teckels leren dat al als ze heel jong zijn, waarschijnlijk bij geboorte. Al vrij snel had ik dus twee extra tuinstoelen neergezet. Gewoon om even te kunnen ontspannen. Gelukkig was ik zo enorm vastberaden want anders had ik dit patroon nooit al die maanden vol kunnen houden. Inmiddels naderen we nu het eind van de zomer en met trots kan ik mededelen dat het me is gelukt om de drie stoelen terug te brengen naar slechts twee. Volgens de Daily Mail is het heel goed voor je benen als je ze hoog legt, dus daar geef ik graag gehoor aan. Hoe dat effect wordt beïnvloed als de benen worden afgekneld door twee Teckels weet ik eigenlijk niet, maar zodra ik mijn voeten niet meer voel haal ik ze van de stoel. De benen natuurlijk, niet de Teckels. We willen de engeltjes natuurlijk niet traumatiseren door ze te storen in hun REM slaap. Op de grond liggen twee verlaten hondenkussens. Ik moet zeggen, ze beginnen er steeds aanlokkelijker uit te zien. Vooral als de dames besluiten dat ze allebei in de stoel willen waar ik zit en zichzelf tussen mij en m’n stoel persen. Echt dat is best oncomfortabel. Natuurlijk heeft het weinig zin om dit jaar nog een doorbraak te forceren in het hele stoel-hondenkussen gebeuren, de zomer is tenslotte zo goed als voorbij. We gaan het hele herfst/winter seizoen gebruiken om de hele boel eens goed te evalueren en dan beginnen we weer met frisse moed aan de zomer van 2016. Dit zal.. zoals ze zeggen.. worden vervolgd..

DSCN1714

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

