The Case of the Dead Sparrow…

©Kraaloogje.jasI almost bought a new coat the other day. You know how it goes, you do a bit of shopping here and there and then suddenly you see the most adorable coat. It looked like it was specially made for me said the girl from the shop, and I was radiant. If I were to buy the coat I would even get a twenty percent discount! Or well, not quite.. the small print said I would get that discount on my next purchase of the same brand. Hmm too bad about that dead sparrow*, but hey, it was still an adorable coat. The comfortable outdoor type, warm, long, fake fur on the hood, great color.. Perfect for my Dachshund adventures! When I arrived at the cash register I asked the same girl for how long I would be able to make use of that twenty percent discount on my next purchase. The girl grabbed a card from under the counter and started to read all the discount conditions out loud. There were actually quite a lot. Did I ask for the conditions I asked myself? But I calmly waited until my question was answered. As it turned out, the twenty percent discount was only valid for a month. Hmm, dead sparrow* number two. Too bad, but we remain positive. We want the adorable coat. The girl spread the coat out on the counter: “Look,” she said, “you have to cut this flap out of the lining of the coat if you want to start wearing it, or else alarms will go off everywhere.” How very criminal friendly I thought. All you need are tiny scissors. But ok, it feels a bit weird, but I’ll cut up my new coat before I’ll start wearing it. But then the girl anxiously looked at the label that was next to the alarm flap thingy. “Would you also like to be able to wash the coat?” she asked, while looking earnestly difficult. Now what kind of question is that?! Of course I want to be able to wash my coat! How dirty do you think my coats get with those two loonies that rub themselves in with cadaver every day?! So I said yes. “Well,” she said, “you won’t be able to wash this coat because then it won’t be waterproof anymore.. Have you ever purchased a coat from our brand before?” she asked suspiciously, as if I was trying to take a puppy from the shelter for culinary purposes. “Well, no…” I replied annoyed. Since when is experience a requirement for buying a coat I wondered. “ Just wait!” said the girl resolutely, and trotted off. A couple of seconds later she returned and triumphantly waved a small bottle of expensive detergent in front of my face. “This is a Very Special Detergent. It is Alkali free so it will not affect the waterproof layer of the coat. With this you can safely wash your coat so it will remain waterproof.” she said happily. “Yes, well I’m not going to be doing that.” I said annoyed, while I actually wanted to say “How stupid do you think I am?!” “Well,” the girl jabbered on, “if you don’t want to wash with an alkali free detergent, the coat will no longer be waterproof. Of course what you could also do is not wash the coat at all, or you could never wear it when it’s raining. Then it won’t matter if it’s waterproof or not..”

‘Really??!!’, it screamed in my head. ‘Are you actually saying I shouldn’t wear the coat when it rains?! Do you know how much it rains over here??!! What else would I need a coat for?! I already have two Dachshunds that become hysterical when it rains, so now I also have a coat to take into account?! You should make coats for Dachshunds, philosophy wise you’d match perfectly; No washing, no rain, brilliant!

(It could perhaps be that the whole rain issue is starting to take its toll on me… )

Meanwhile the husband remained suspiciously quiet and was enjoying this delightful piece of theatre immensely.

‘Please keep talking, girl behind the counter. You’re saving uncle Scrooge over a hundred euro’s.’

And yes, how right he was. Really, there’s only so much nonsense my tiny yellow brain can handle, and the suggestion that I then shouldn’t wear the coat when it rains was the final stroke. Tiny trauma on the subject of rain or not, my irritation level had reached its limit. Somewhat curtly I said to the girl she could just keep that coat with all its rules and regulations as far as I was concerned and I walked away from the counter. “Uhm, yes but, yes but, ehm”, the girl stammered behind me… But no, I decisively walked out of the store. With grinning husband. The desired scenario was of course that I would have bought the coat along with the Very Special Detergent. I even think that we hadn’t even completely gone over the full coat-care protocol yet. I’m sure that there would have been an anti-static comb for the fake fur, or a cleansing lotion for the lining, a nourishing emulsion for the zippers…. All Alkali free of course. The Alkali is the new carbohydrate and should be banned from our lives.  A few days later I went to an outlet store. The kind with the loud music, a staff that’s all under the age of eighteen, and a matching indifferent attitude. Wonderful! Bought myself a delicious coat for only half price and nobody adviced me not to wear it. I was so relieved! Each time I wear it I feel such a happy revenge-like sensation, it’s totally awesome! I’ve never had that with a coat before… And that’s really all thanks to that girl in the shop. I really should go thank her someday…

 

*Dutch expression: “To make someone happy with a dead sparrow”, which means to get someone’s hopes up, or all excited about something that turns out to be worthless.

(The scent of a dead sparrow is also quite revolting on a Dachshund)

 

©Kraaloogje.jas1Ik had van de week bijna een nieuwe jas gekocht. Je weet hoe dat gaat, een beetje shoppen hier en daar en opeens zie je daar een beeldige jas. Het leek alsof hij speciaal voor mij gemaakt was zei het meisje van de winkel, en ik straalde. Als ik de jas zou kopen kreeg ik zelfs twintig procent korting! Nou ja, niet helemaal.. in de kleine lettertjes stond dat ik die korting zou krijgen op mijn volgende aankoop van hetzelfde merk. Hmm beetje jammer van die dooie mus, maar vooruit, het bleef een beeldige jas. Lekker type outdoor, warm, lang, capuchon met nepbont, te gekke kleur.. Ideaal voor mijn Teckel avonturen. Bij de kassa aangekomen vroeg ik aan hetzelfde meisje hoe lang ik gebruik kon maken van die twintig procent korting op mijn volgende aankoop. Het meisje pakte een kaartje vanonder de toonbank en begon alle kortingsvoorwaarden voor te lezen. Dat waren er best veel. Vroeg ik om de voorwaarden dacht ik bij mezelf? Maar ik wachtte rustig af tot ik antwoord kreeg op mijn vraag. De twintig procent korting bleek maar een maand geldig. Hmm, dooie mus nummer twee. Jammer, maar we blijven positief. We willen de beeldige jas. Het meisje vouwde de jas open op de toonbank: “Kijk,” zei ze, “deze flap moet u even uit de voering van de jas knippen als u hem wilt gaan dragen, want anders gaat overal het alarm af.” Hoe crimineelvriendelijk dacht ik. Het enige wat je nodig hebt is een schaartje. Maar ok, het voelt wat raar, maar ik knip m’n jas wel even stuk voordat ik hem ga dragen. Maar toen keek het meisje bezorgd naar het label dat naast het alarmdingetje zat. “Wilt u de jas ook kunnen wassen?” vroeg ze, terwijl ze ernstig moeilijk keek. Wat is dat nou voor vraag?! Natuurlijk wil ik mijn jas kunnen wassen! Hoe smerig denk je dat mijn jassen worden met die twee loonies die zichzelf dagelijks insmeren met kadaver?! Dus ik zei ja. “Nou, u kunt deze jas niet wassen want dan is ie niet meer waterdicht.” zei het meisje. “Heeft u wel eens eerder een jas van ons merk gekocht?” vroeg ze achterdochtig, alsof ik een puppy voor culinaire doeleinden uit het asiel kwam halen. “Nou nee..” antwoordde ik geïrriteerd. Sinds wanneer is ervaring een vereiste bij het kopen van een jas vroeg ik me af. “Wacht maar!” zei het meisje kordaat, en ze draafde weg. Even later kwam ze terug en wuifde triomfantelijk een flesje kostbaar wasmiddel voor mijn gezicht. “Dit is een Heel Speciaal Wasmiddel, het is alkalivrij en daardoor tast het de waterdichte laag van de jas niet aan. Hiermee kunt u uw jas veilig wassen en dan blijft hij waterdicht.” zei ze blij. “Ja, dat ga ik dus niet doen.” zei ik geïrriteerd, terwijl ik eigenlijk wilde zeggen “Hoe stom denk je dat ik ben?!” “Nou,” ratelde het meisje verder, “als u niet wilt wassen met een alkalivrij wasmiddel dan is de jas niet meer waterdicht. Wat u natuurlijk ook kunt doen is de jas helemaal niet wassen of hem nooit aandoen als het regent. Dan maakt het niet uit of ie waterdicht is of niet…”

‘Werkelijk??!!’, gilde het in mijn hoofd. ‘Beweer je nou werkelijk dat ik een jas maar niet moet dragen als het regent?! Weet je wel hoe vaak het hier regent??!! Waar heb ik anders een jas voor nodig?! Ik heb al twee Teckels die hysterisch worden als het regent, moet ik dan ook nog rekening gaan houden met een jas?! Jassen voor Teckels moeten jullie maken, qua filosofie zouden jullie perfect zijn voor elkaar; Niet wassen, geen regen, super!

(Het zou misschien kunnen dat de hele regen issue inmiddels zijn tol begint te eisen op me.)

Ondertussen bleef de echtgenoot verdacht stil en genoot intens van dit prachtige stukje theater.

‘Blijf vooral praten, meisje achter de toonbank. Je bespaart ome Scrooge weer ruim honderd euro.. ‘

En jawel, hij kreeg gelijk. Werkelijk, mijn kleine gele hersentjes kunnen maar een beperkte hoeveelheid onzinnigheid aan, en de suggestie dat ik de jas dan maar niet moet dragen als het regent was echt de druppel. Klein trauma op het gebied van regen of niet, mijn irritatieniveau had zijn limiet bereikt. Ietwat kortaf zei ik tegen het meisje dat ze die jas met al z’n regeltjes wat mij betreft lekker kon houden en ik liep weg van de toonbank. “Uh.. Ja maar, ja maar ehm… ” stamelde ze achter me. Maar nee, ik liep vastbesloten de winkel uit. Met grijnzende echtgenoot. Het gewenste scenario was natuurlijk dat ik zowel de jas als het Hele Speciale Wasmiddel zou kopen. Ik denk zelfs dat we het hele verzorgingsprotocol van de jas nog niet eens volledig hadden doorgenomen. Er was vast nog wel een antistatisch kammetje voor het nepbont, of een reinigingslotion voor de voering, een voedende emulsie voor de ritsen… Allemaal alkalivrij natuurlijk. De alkali is de nieuwe koolhydraat en moet verbannen worden uit ons leven. Een paar dagen later ben ik naar een outlet store gegaan. Het soort met de harde muziek, personeel van onder de achttien, en een bijpassende ongeïnteresseerde mentaliteit. Heerlijk! Ik heb er een zalige jas gekocht voor de helft van de prijs en niemand heeft me geadviseerd om hem niet te dragen. Ik was zo opgelucht! Elke keer dat ik ‘m draag heb ik zo’n blij, wraak-achtig gevoel, het is gewoon fantastisch! Ik heb dat nog nooit eerder bij een jas gehad… En dat eigenlijk allemaal dankzij dat meisje in de winkel. Ik moet haar echt een keer gaan bedanken…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

