Surprise! We’re getting 48 Dachsies…

DSCN2220A couple of weeks ago we were on vacation in the Belgian Ardennes and for the very first time Penny was feeling a bit homesick. Nothing too serious, on walks she was all happy and chipper, but she became picky with her food and would only eat the Markus Mühle dog food I normally only use as a tiny snack (German brand, I can only order it online). Because I always feed my dogs raw foods like meat and veggies, it never even crossed my mind that I would suddenly need a couple of kilos of dog food. In fact, I had only brought a tiny plastic container of the stuff, just enough to last us throughout the vacation. I was incredibly proud of myself for packing so economically and felt so minimalistic I could cry. Especially when it turned out I was a couple of kilos short. Of course Markus Mühle is also a brand that is not as well-known as the more commercial brands, so that made things extra difficult. It wasn’t sold locally and ordering online from a foreign country was too complicated. So what to do, what to do.. First we decided to see if there were any retailers nearby that sold Markus Mühle. If that proved to be unsuccessful we could always go back home to get a few kilos. Altogether that would mean a drive of about seven hours, but hey, anything for our little gloomy angel. Besides, I wouldn’t have to take drive myself anyway. When we went online we couldn’t believe our luck. The food was sold at a pet store in Luxemburg which was only like a ten minutes’ drive from where we were staying! We couldn’t believe it! We had even been to that pet store over a zillion times in the past, in fact, I had bought Jarah’s very first ridiculously expensive doggy coat there! Immediately I was incredibly impressed with the mysterious way the universe works. This clearly was all meant to be and I was completely confident that all our problems would be solved. The guy at the pet store even immediately understood what I was looking for. “Yes, Markus Mühle, in a green bag.” he said radiantly, “It’s been taken out of our assortment last month and has been replaced by a different brand. It’s also completely natural and stuff….” and he gracefully grabbed a gold colored bag of dog food from the shelf where apparently the Markus Mühle once stood. Seriously?! I think I looked at him as if I could dry him to a powder and press some kibble out of his remains myself. Sure, by all means let’s introduce some random new dog food just because it’s the one that’s replacing the Markus Mühle in a pet store in Luxemburg. What a great idea! I’m sure miss Picky Nose won’t notice the difference.  Or better yet; if she likes it we would from now on have a brand that’s only available in Luxembourg instead of only in Germany. I’m sure that’s going to work out great in the future. Sigh..Anyway, new plan; we’ll look for retail addresses in Germany. I figured, we’re not too far from Germany, it’s a German brand, surely there are lots of retailers over there that sell the stuff. Fortunately I remembered the zip code of the German Eifel region, because that was where the holiday home was where I once ruined the radiators with a sponge scourer when I tried to remove the stains of two burned-in doggy coats. From where we were staying in Belgium it would probably be a little over an hours’ drive. Still better than going all the way back home. To be on the safe side I decided to call first, because I was really beginning to think I would probably have better luck with trying to find a Dodo than I would with trying to find that bloody dog food. The delightful German lady I spoke to on the phone informed me that yes indeed they sold Markus Mühle (yay!) and yes they indeed had it in stock (yay!).Only the fifteen kilo bags of course, but hey, at least the critter wouldn’t get hungry. So off the hubby went to Germany. The one hour drive turned into three because of traffic jams and detours, the German pet store turned out to be an unfindable dog pension in the middle of nowhere, but the most important thing was that he returned with fifteen kilos of dog food. Hallelujah! Penny of course remained determined in her hunger strike throughout the whole vacation so things even weren’t all for nothing. However, I do now have over 20 kilos of Markus Mühle stashed in my closet the Dachsies have to gnaw their way through. Preferably before the expiration date of December 2015. I’ve calculated that it would only work if we were to add another 48 Dachshunds, but I’m not sure how to get the husband on board with that plan. “Say, wouldn’t it be fun to take another puppy” suddenly feels so hypocritically. Perhaps it’s just one of those things that works better as a surprise.  After all, it’s nearly Christmas…

 

DSCN2218Een paar weken geleden waren we op vakantie in de Belgische Ardennen en voor het eerst had Penny een beetje last van heimwee. Niks ernstigs, tijdens wandelingen was ze gewoon blij en vrolijk, maar ze werd kieskeurig met eten en wilde niks anders dan het Markus Mühle hondenvoer dat ik normaalgesproken alleen als een klein snackje gebruik (Duits merk, ik kan het alleen online bestellen). Omdat ik mijn honden altijd vers voer zoals vlees en groentes, had ik er echt nooit op gerekend dat ik opeens een paar kilo hondenvoer nodig zou hebben. Ik had er zelfs maar een piepklein bakje van meegenomen, precies genoeg voor de hele vakantie. Ik was ongelooflijk trots op mezelf omdat ik zo economisch had ingepakt en voelde me zo minimalistisch dat ik wel kon janken. Vooral toen bleek dat ik een paar kilo tekort kwam. Natuurlijk is Markus Mühle ook nog eens een merk dat niet zo bekend is als de meer commerciële merken, dus dat maakte het allemaal nog eens extra lastig. Het werd in de buurt niet verkocht en online bestellen vanuit het buitenland was te ingewikkeld. Dus what to do, what to do.. Allereerst besloten we te zoeken naar Markus Mühle verkoopadressen in de buurt. Als dat niet zou lukken zouden we altijd nog naar huis kunnen rijden om een paar kilo te gaan halen. Alles bij elkaar zou dat een ritje van een uurtje of zeven betekenen, maar ja niets is teveel voor onze kleine sombere engel. Bovendien hoefde ik toch zelf niet te rijden. Toen we online keken konden we ons geluk niet op. Het voer werd verkocht in een dierenwinkel in Luxemburg en dat was slechts een minuutje of tien rijden bij ons vandaan! We konden het niet geloven! We waren in het verleden al tientallen keren in die dierenwinkel geweest, ik had er zelfs Jarah’s allereerste belachelijk dure hondenjasje gekocht! Ik was meteen diep onder de indruk van de mysterieuze werking van het universum. Het moest gewoon allemaal zo zijn en ik was er van overtuigd dat het helemaal goed zou komen. De jongen van de dierenwinkel begreep zelfs meteen wat ik zocht. “Ja, Markus Mühle, in een groene zak.” zei hij stralend, “Het is vorige maand uit ons assortiment gehaald en is vervangen door een ander merk. Het is ook volledig natuurlijk en zo.. ” en hij pakte zwierig een goudkleurige zak hondenvoer uit de stelling waar blijkbaar ooit de Markus Mühle had gestaan. Werkelijk?! Ik denk dat ik hem heb aangekeken alsof ik hem hoogstpersoonlijk tot een poeder kon drogen om daar wat brok van te persen. Welja, laten we gewoon een willekeurige nieuwe hondenbrok introduceren omdat het toevallig de Markus Mühle vervangt in een dierenwinkel in Luxemburg. Wat een geweldig idee! Ik weet zeker dat madame Kieskeurig het verschil niet zal merken. Of nog beter; als het bevalt hebben we voortaan een merk dat alleen maar te krijgen is in Luxemburg in plaats van alleen maar in Duitsland. Dat gaat vast helemaal goed komen in de toekomst. Zucht.. Anyway, nieuw plan; we zoeken een verkoopadres in Duitsland. Ik dacht, we zitten niet te ver van Duitsland af, het is een Duits merk, er moeten daar winkels zijn die dat spul verkopen. Gelukkig wist ik de postcode nog van de Duitse Eifel, want dat was waar het vakantiehuis was waar ik ooit de radiatoren had verwoest met een schuursponsje toen ik de vlekken van twee ingebrande hondenjasjes probeerde te verwijderen. Vanuit ons adres in België was de Eifel waarschijnlijk iets meer dan een uurtje rijden, altijd nog beter dan helemaal naar huis. Voor de zekerheid besloot ik eerst maar even bellen,want I begon werkelijk te denken dat het me waarschijnlijk nog eerder zou lukken om een Dodo te vinden dan dat stomme hondenvoer.  De alleraardigste Duitse dame die ik sprak  aan de telefoon vertelde me dat ja, ze verkochten inderdaad Markus Mühle (yay!) en ja, ze hadden het inderdaad op voorraad (yay!). Alleen nog maar zakken van vijftien kilo natuurlijk, maar ja zo zou het schaap in ieder geval geen honger krijgen. En dus vertrok de echtgenoot naar Duitsland. Het uurtje rijden werden er drie vanwege files en omleidingen, de Duitse dierenwinkel  bleek een onvindbaar hondenpension in the middle of nowhere te zijn, maar het belangrijkste was dat hij terugkwam met vijftien kilo hondenvoer. Halleluja!Penny bleef uiteraard de hele vakantie vastberaden in hongerstaking dus het is niet eens allemaal voor niets geweest. Alleen heb ik nu wel ruim 20 kilo Markus Mühle in de kast staan waar de Teckels zich even doorheen moeten knagen. Bij voorkeur voor de houdbaarheidsdatum van december 2015. Ik heb berekend dat dat alleen gaat lukken als we er 48 Teckels bij zouden nemen, maar ik weet niet goed hoe ik de echtgenoot daarvan moet overtuigen. “Zeg, zou het niet leuk zijn om er nog een hondje bij te nemen” voelt opeens zo schijnheilig. Misschien is het gewoon iets dat beter werkt als verrassing. Het is tenslotte bijna Kerst…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

