Welcome to Fun with Fleas !!!

Fleas4Hurray it’s summer! Which means ’tis the season to be itchy, falalalala, lala, la-la! Last year’s flea season was just terrible. Due to the warm weather there were fleas -and ticks- just everywhere, it was incredibly annoying. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t get rid of the little buggers. On the other hand, I did get to freshen up my knowledge of various natural flea repelling methods, or as I now like to call it “Fun with Fleas”. And oh, what fun we had! Extensive housecleaning routines, daily flea-combing sessions, yay! The dogs swam in salty water, bathed with herbs, were rinsed with lemon juices, sprayed with essential oils, you name it! We may have had fleas, but at least they were clean and smelled divine! Of course my flea project also had its slightly less divine moments, especially when I took it upon myself to combine a couple of tips and then add my own twist to it. These things always seem to backfire, as some of you may remember from my Project Eggshell days. So when the husband came home one day and found me chopping a pile of peeled garlic cloves, he looked somewhat concerned.

“No worries!” I said reassuringly, “I’ve watched a tutorial about how to make garlic powder and I’m now sort of doing my own version of it. Instead of drying the garlic in the oven for two hours -which is simply ridiculous-  I am going to roast them in the frying pan. Much faster!”

Really, I don’t know why he looked so unconvinced. So anyway, I elegantly tossed the tiny flakes in my frying pan, where they could sizzle to a nice crisp. Well, dear friends, all I can say is, don’t try this at home, because the smell of a scorched pile of garlic is truly revolting. Even the husband looked somewhat disturbed and he can’t smell a thing.

“So now I’m going to grind these roasted flakes into a fine powder” I explained cheerfully, whilst trying to pulverize the beige, rubbery, sticky garlic flakes with all my might with my traditional Indonesian wooden pestle. “I’m sure it will get easier after a few seconds…”

After a while -I sounded somewhat tense-: “In the tutorial they used a coffee grinder, perhaps we should buy one… I wonder if the IKEA has any… You could also grind your own coffee beans…”

Husband: “Yeah… and this is for…?”

*Impatient sigh* “It’s for the dogs! Fresh garlic is against fleas, ticks and worms, and it’s good for them. So instead of fresh I thought I’d do powder. Nice and easy”

-Husband: “They have to eat it… right…?”

Shit! Somewhat disappointed I looked at the brownish gravel I had just created. Tasted disgusting of course, no way the dogs would ever eat it. I have since then optimistically kept it in a jar on top of my cupboard. As if I could actually find some good use for it some day. Or in case we’d get difficulties with vampires. The husband sometimes looks a bit puzzled when he happens to see it, and then asks me what the stuff is. I then vaguely reply that it’s something for the dogs, and he forgets all about it again. It’s totally funny. By now I have completely ditched the powder plan and have switched over to fresh garlic. The only down side was that my fingers started to smell a bit funky, but for that I’ve found a great solution. Really you must try it even if it’s just for fun, it’s like magic. Here it comes:

Tip to remove the smell of garlic off your fingers: You keep your hands under running water and rub the smelly bits with a stainless steel spoon.

So not at al deterred by my Project Garlic -I mean, really, I’ve had worse- I decided to try out another very interesting tip; The use of boiled apple vinegar. Now, as effective as it may seem to poor a boiling liquid over your pet in order to kill the fleas, I’m pretty sure it has some nasty side affects, like severe second degree burns. So should anyone want to try this: The vinegar needs to be boiled and then cooled before using it. Furthermore it is for external use only, stings on wounds, and should be kept away from eyes. The recipe itself was actually not very Mastercheffy, you simply had to poor some apple vinegar in a pan and boil it for a couple of minutes. Which is what I did, only with flair. Luckily, again, the smell was quite revolting, which is from now on a requirement for any recipe I try. So far so good. It also turned out to be rather time consuming, which is also great because I have nothing better to do.

So after the vinegar was cooled down I rubbed the matter thoroughly into the coats of The Unwilling Dachshunds. Result: Two miffed, drenched dogs, that smelled incredibly pungent. Suddenly I realized that the vinegar needed to stay on for a couple of hours, and that my two smelly little angels would happily use that time to rub the smell of revenge all over my furniture. Shit. A snowball effect. Did not see that one coming. So after a very, very, very long walk, a couple of very long hours, ànd a good wash, it was time for a final inspection. All in all not a bad result: Jarah’s coat looked as dry as a toilet brush, but I have to be honest, not a flea to be found. It even lasted  for a week or two, with hardly finding any fleas.

Of course -and this is the encouraging bit- the effect of natural remedies and methods against fleas are only temporary. They are mainly intended to either control the flea problem or to discourage fleas. Once your dogs go outside the fleas will simply pop back on, and then the fun starts all over again. Yay. But still, as far as I’m concerned, a bit of extra work is still better than turning my dogs into flea poison. I just cannot imagine that being very healthy and all… We’ll simply stick to our Fun with Fleas. Yay! Happy hunting everybody, have a lovely summer!

Fleas2Hoera het is zomer! En dat betekent ’tis the season to be itchy, falalalala, lala, la-la! Vorig jaar was het vlooienseizoen gewoon vreselijk. Door het warme weer waren de vlooien -en teken- gewoon echt overal, het was super irritant. Hoe ik ook m’n best deed, ik kwam maar niet af van die kleine rakkers. Daarentegen kreeg ik wel weer eens de kans om m’n kennis te van verschillende natuurlijke vlooienmiddelen op te frissen, of zoals ik het tegenwoordig graag noem, “Feest met Vlooien”. En oh wat hebben we een lol gehad! Uitgebreide schoonmaak routines, dagelijkse vlooienkam sessies, yay! De honden hebben gezwommen in zout water, gebadderd met kruiden, zijn gespoeld met citroensappen, gesprayd met etherische oliën, noem maar op! We mogen dan wel vlooien gehad hebben, maar ze waren in ieder geval schoon en roken goddelijk! Natuurlijk had mijn vlooien project ook zijn minder goddelijke momenten, vooral toen ik besloot om een aantal tips te combineren en er vervolgens mijn eigen draai aan te geven. Die dingen lijken altijd wel mis te gaan, zoals sommigen zich wellicht nog zullen herinneren uit mijn Project Eggshell dagen. Dus toen de echtgenoot op een dag thuiskwam en mij een berg gepelde knoflooktenen zag hakken, keek hij een ietwat bezorgd.

“Geen zorgen” zei ik geruststellend, “Ik heb een tutorial gekeken over hoe je knoflookpoeder moet maken en ik doe nu een soortement van mijn eigen versie daarvan. Inplaats van de knoflook twee uur te laten drogen in de oven -wat gewoon belachelijk is- ga ik ze roosteren in de koekenpan. Veel sneller!”

Werkelijk, ik begrijp niet waarom hij zo niet-overtuigd keek. Maar goed, ik zwierde de kleine vlokjes elegant in mijn koekenpan, zodat ze daar konden roosteren tot ze lekker krokant waren. Wel lieve vrienden, ik kan alleen maar zeggen, don’t try this at home, want de stank van verschroeide knoflook is echt walgelijk. Zelfs de echtgenoot keek een ietwat verstoord en die ruikt echt nooit wat.

“Dus nu ga ik de geroosterde vlokken tot een fijn poeder malen” legde ik vrolijk uit, terwijl ik uit alle macht de beige, rubberige, plakkerige knoflookvlokken probeerde te verpulveren met mijn traditionele Indonesische houten vijzel. “Ik weet zeker dat het met een paar seconden makkelijker wordt..”

Na een tijdje -ik klonk een ietwat gespannen-: “In de tutorial gebruikten ze hiervoor een koffiemolen, misschien moeten we er één kopen… Ik vraag me af of de IKEA ze heeft…Kun je ook zelf koffieboontjes malen…”

Echtgenoot: “Jaaa… en dit is voor…?”

*Ongeduldige zucht* “Het is voor de honden! Verse knoflook is tegen vlooien, teken en wormen, en het is goed voor ze. Dus inplaats van vers dacht ik, ik doe poeder. Lekker makkelijk.”

Echtgenoot: “Ze moeten het opeten… toch…?”

Shit! Ietwat teleurgesteld keek ik naar het bruin-achtige gruis dat ik zojuist had gecreëerd. Smaakte walgelijk uiteraard, no way dat de honden het ooit zouden eten. Ik heb het sinds die tijd heel optimistisch in een potje op de plank bewaard. Alsof ik het echt ooit nog eens ergens voor zou kunnen gebruiken. Of voor als we last krijgen van vampieren. De echtgenoot kijkt soms wat verbaast als hij het toevallig ziet staan, en dan vraagt ie wat voor spul het is. Iets voor de honden zeg ik dan vaag, en dan vergeet ie het weer. Ik vind het dolkomisch. Inmiddels heb ik het poeder plan volledig losgelaten en ben ik overgestapt op verse knoflook. Het enige nadeel was dat m’n vingers een beetje funky begonnen te ruiken, maar daar heb ik een geweldige oplossing voor gevonden. Echt je moet het proberen al is het maar voor de lol, het is gewoon een wonder. Komt ie:

Tip om de geur van knoflook van je vingers te verwijderen: Je houdt je handen onder stromend water en dan wrijf je met een roestvrijstalen lepel over de stinkende gedeeltes.

Maar goed, totaal niet afgeschrikt door mijn Project Knoflook -echt, ik heb wel erger meegemaakt- besloot ik om nog een andere interessante tip uit te proberen; Het gebruik van gekookte appelazijn. Welnu, hoe effectief het ook mag lijken om een kokende vloeistof over je huisdier te gieten om vlooien te doden, weet ik zo goed als zeker dat het wat vervelende bijwerkingen heeft, zoals bijvoorbeeld ernstige tweedegraads brandwonden. Dus mocht iemand dit willen proberen: De appelazijn moet worden gekookt en daarna worden afgekoeld voordat je het kunt gebruiken. Verder is het alleen geschikt voor uitwendig gebruik, prikt in wonden, en mag niet in de ogen komen. Het recept zelf was eigenlijk niet erg Mastercheffy, je hoefde alleen maar wat appelazijn in een pan doen en het een paar minuten te laten koken. Dus dat deed ik, maar dan met flair. Gelukkig was de lucht wederom vrij walgelijk, iets dat vanaf nu een voorwaarde is voor elk recept dat ik uitprobeer. Dus, so far so good. Gelukkig bleek het ook behoorlijk tijdrovend te zijn, en ook dat is geweldig want ik heb toch niks beters te doen.

Anyway. Nadat de azijn was afgekoeld wreef ik het goedje in de vacht van De Onwillige Teckels. Resultaat: Twee nijdige, zeiknatte honden, die stonken als een bunzing. Opeens bedacht ik dat de azijn een paar uur zou moeten intrekken, en dat mijn twee kleine stinkende engeltjes die tijd maar wat graag zouden gebruiken om de geur van wraak over al mijn meubels te wrijven. Shit. Een sneeuwbaleffect. Die zag ik even niet aankomen. Dus na een hele, hele, hele, lange wandeling, een paar hele lange uurtjes, èn een flinke wasbeurt, was het tijd voor de eindinspectie. Al met al geen slecht resultaat: Jarah d’r vacht zag zo droog als een toiletborstel, maar eerlijk is eerli geen vlo meer te bekennen. Ik heb hierdoor zelfs een week of twee nog nauwelijks een vlo gevonden.

Uiteraard -en dit is het bemoedigende gedeelte- is het effect van alle natuurlijke middelen en methodes tegen vlooien altijd slechts tijdelijk. Ze zijn voornamelijk bedoeld om het vlooienprobleem onder controle te houden of vlooien te ontmoedigen. Zodra je honden weer naar buiten gaan springen de vlooien er gewoon weer op, en dan begint het feest weer opnieuw. Yay. Maar ja, wat mij betreft is een beetje extra werk nog altijd beter dan mijn honden te veranderen in vlooiengif. Zoiets kan toch ook niet echt gezond zijn denk ik dan maar… Dan maar Feest met Vlooien. Yay! Happy hunting allemaal, fijne zomer!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Another Cool Dachshund Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

