The Fascinating Sita

Our cat Sita has the most interesting personality. When she comes and sit with me, she will first behave all adorable and loving, and then suddenly and for no apparent reason she lashes out at me. Other times she just suddenly jumps away, while digging her nails deeply into my legs for a speedy take-off. That’s why she is not allowed to sit on my lap anymore. She is now only allowed to lie next to me on the sofa, so that when I get up to get something, she just lashes out at my legs. That is much more comfortable. My husband said that it’s my fault because he has never had any problems with Sita. He claimed that’s because he’s all wonderful and calm with her. (Yes, I have a genuine cat whisperer living with me…) He stuck to his opinion, until one day I saw Sita speeding through the room with a wild look on her face while my husband was clutching his legs in pain. Since then I’ve never heard his preach again. How typical. Jarah is also very well acquainted with Sita’s nails. She meets them almost daily, (not that it teaches her anything) and more than often I hear some tortured squeaks coming from the IKEA hedgehog, where Sita likes to sleep because it’s Jarah’s favorite place. It’s really quite a psychological game they play and Sita’s nails are always winning. The other day I was watching some telly with Jarah next to me on the sofa, when Sita decided to join us. She was all lovey-dovey of course, but in my mind I could already see either Jarah or me shredded to bits. So I carefully moved away so that she would get Jarah first. I’m not stupid you know. I quickly picked up my camera to get some real life bloody footage,  but all I got were some adorable shots of Sita  being all smoochy towards Jarah. Of course this makes my story totally unbelievable, and I know you’re thinking “Where is that dangerous monster?” Well, that is the beauty of having animals. Just when you think you’ve got them all figured out, they make you look like an idiot and prove you wrong. Never heard those famous words? “He’s NEVER done THAT before!”

Onze kat Sita heeft een interessante persoonlijkheid. Als ze bij me komt zitten gedraagt ze zich eerst heel lief en schattig, en dan slaat ze zomaar opeens haar nagels uit naar me. Soms springt opeens in paniek van mijn schoot waarbij ze haar nagels diep in mijn benen begraaft om af te zetten. Daarom mag ze niet meer bij me op schoot zitten. Ze mag nu alleen nog naast me op de bank liggen, en als ik dan op sta om iets te pakken slaat ze me alleen maar tegen mijn benen. Dat is toch een stuk comfortabeler. Mijn echtgenoot beweerde dat het aan mij ligt want hij heeft nooit problemen met Sita. Hij beweerde dat het komt omdat hij zo geweldig is en kalm. (Ja, ik heb een heuse kattenfluisteraar bij me wonen.) Hij bleef zijn mening stug volhouden, totdat ik Sita met een verwilderde blik door de kamer heen zag vliegen terwijl mijn man met een pijnlijk gezicht naar zijn benen greep. Daarna heb ik zijn preek niet meer gehoord. Heel typisch. Jarah is ook goed bekend met Sita’s nagels. Ze ontmoet ze bijna dagelijks, (niet dat ze er ook maar iets van leert) en ik hoor regelmatig wat gekwelde kreten van de IKEA egel af komen, waar Sita graag wil slapen omdat het Jara’s lievelingsplek is. Het is echt een psychologisch spelletje, en Sita’s nagels winnen altijd. Ik zat van de week wat T.V. te kijken met Jarah naast me op de bank, toen Sita besloot dat ze erbij wilde liggen. Ze gedroeg zich heel lief en slijmerig natuurlijk, maar ik zag het al helemaal voor me hoe ofwel Jarah of ik versnipperd zouden worden. Ik ben dus heel voorzichtig opzij gegaan zodat ze Jarah eerst zou pakken. Ik ben natuurlijk niet gek, weet je. Ik heb snel mijn camera gepakt om wat levensechte bloederige plaatjes te schieten, maar het enige dat ik kreeg waren wat schattige foto’s van Sita die helemaal knuffelig deed tegen Jarah. Natuurlijk maakt dat mijn verhaal er niet echt geloofwaardiger op, en ik hoor je al denken “Waar is dat gevaarlijke monster?” Nou, dat is nu het mooie van dieren. Net als je denkt dat je ze helemaal kent, zetten ze je voor paal en bewijzen het tegendeel. Nooit die beroemde woorden gehoord? “DAT doet ‘ie anders NOOIT!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.